Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ZONITIUM Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Cool Updating Bios, how to protect Raid 1?

    Hello guys!

    I wanted to update the BIOS on my ASUS Maximus V Extreme and wanted to protect the Raid 1 I have on my system currently.
    So the concerns I have right now are
    1) How to keep the Raid 1 after I update bios. Is this automatic or do I need to do something beforehand.
    2) I also want to update to Windows 10 from Windows 7 and have the same concern about Raid 1 that I have going. Any tips here?

    All assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    When you update the BIOS it should be done from optimized settings with raid disabled.
    No worries of losing the array. Simply write down your BIOS settings for the array then when the update is complete just reenter them and the array will pick right up where it left off.

    Upgrading to windows 10 can be done in place but I dont recommend it as you will have orphaned win 7 drivers and spend more time getting to to work right than just doing a clean install. The only thing with the clean install is during the install you will have to have the raid drivers on the install media to load before it sees the array.

  3. #3
    ZONITIUM Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Hey Justin,

    Thanks for the quick reply. I actually meant to do a clean install of windows. Thanks for the tip, I was wondering if there was anything else as it took me a while back in the day to set up this stable array.

    For the Bios, would it be possible for you to load a screenshot of which settings I need to write down. It would be much appreciated.

    Thanks for all your insight.

  4. #4
    ZONITIUM Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Can anyone please give me the link to download the Raid Drivers to load the raid drives in Windows 10 Pro installation.

    I want to install Win 10 Pro but need the Raid Drivers to put in my boot USB so I can load them when windows install starts.

    Much appreciated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •