Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Rampage VI Apex Intel Network interface issue

    Just got my new RVI Apex yesterday and I9-7900, everything is all put together and even managed to get my Windows 10 reactivated though I had to reload the OS to do that.

    I was downloading stuff to reload my system and noticed a huge issue with my download speeds. I have a 1Gig Verizon FIOS into my house and normally fly on downloads. But for some reason I was only getting in the 10-20Mpbs range instead of where I should be in the 900s. This was only affecting downloads, nothing was wrong with upload speeds when testing on speedtest.net. I spent a lot of time messing with drivers to no avail. Then I thought maybe its something in BIOS though that seemed odd if it was. All I had done with in setup was load XMP settings and a few other things in BIOS before I loaded my OS, disabled a few external devices I didn't play to use like WiFi, Bluetooth for now, the ASmedia front C controller since I don't have one in my case, the ASmedia SATA controller as I have enough Intel ports for the drives I have and lastly the Sound card as I'm using a Soundblaster AE-5.

    I loaded default settings and turned off all the stuff I wasn't using again, this time I didn't change anything else. Test speeds, all back to normal. So I went back into BIOS and loaded XMP settings again, went back into Windows and download speeds are in the dirt again 10-20Mbps range. So I'm stumped, what in XMP profile could possibly lower my download speed on my NIC?? This was all with 0702 version. Am I drawing too much power somewhere? I have both 8 pin CPU jacks plugged in and the EZ-Plug as well is plugged in. I have a P2 1200 EVGA PS, granted I'm running 2 Fury X cards but this same PS did that before in my RE5 with the 5960X overlocked to 4.2 most of the time.

    Going to try the new BIOS I see posted but if anyone has any thoughts let me know.
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Tried the new BIOS 0802 same result. If I set XMP my download speed goes down to around 20Mbps. Go back to Auto and back to normal. Was able to do it several times now to make sure I wasn't nuts. No idea what would be causing that. Anyone have one of these boards they could test if they get same result?
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    So I figured this out. Thought I would share for anyone who cares. With the RAM I have the G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR the XMP setting sets the BCLK to 101.8. It seems that messes with the Intel onboard NIC. I causes the download throughput of the NIC to drop to about 1-5% of the a Gbit throughput. So basically you end up with downloads of around 10-40MB max out of a Gig. When you set the BCLK back to 100.00 the NIC works normally and you get the full speeds. So basically right now I loaded XMP settings but then changed the BCLK from 101.8 back to 100.00 to get the Intel onboard NIC to work right. I'm not sure if there are other settings it will work fine yet as I have not tested. I plan to try mess around some more and see whats up.
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by SGMRock View Post
    So I figured this out. Thought I would share for anyone who cares. With the RAM I have the G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR the XMP setting sets the BCLK to 101.8. It seems that messes with the Intel onboard NIC. I causes the download throughput of the NIC to drop to about 1-5% of the a Gbit throughput. So basically you end up with downloads of around 10-40MB max out of a Gig. When you set the BCLK back to 100.00 the NIC works normally and you get the full speeds. So basically right now I loaded XMP settings but then changed the BCLK from 101.8 back to 100.00 to get the Intel onboard NIC to work right. I'm not sure if there are other settings it will work fine yet as I have not tested. I plan to try mess around some more and see whats up.
    I had same issue and then updated the network drivers. *All good now. *Overclocked and download speed. *

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,331

    Don't suppose any of you have gamefirst loaded. I have had issues of that effecting internet speeds for 6 years. NEVER FIXED. uninstall it and try again.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    I'm a little confused by your wording above. You ran Speedtest (while all other network traffic was halted/suspended, of course), what upload and download speeds did it report?

    I'm assuming you're using wired LAN, not wireless. I'm assuming you've disabled anything like GameFirst you might have running. I'm assuming you've monitored network performances in Task Monitor. I'm assuming your system is clean (no malware/spyware/etc running in background which could hog network resources). I'm assuming your gateway/router doesn't share this bandwidth with other people/devices.

    Verizon Fios Gigabit Internet advertises "up to 940 Mbps download and 880 Mbps upload". But a quick google results in many pages of customer complaints. It seems quite a lot of people are very unhappy with their (slow) download speeds.
    Solution: contact Verizon and complain about poor service.

    Another common complaint is that Verizon is one of those evil ISPs which actively dislikes (and punitively degrades/disrupts) P2P traffic congestion across their network. They impose bandwidth caps and lower priorities (greater latencies) and slowdowns and other limits on offenders. If you torrent then you may have had your service "downgraded".
    Solution (if you run torrents): stop all P2P for a while (hours, days, weeks), subscribe to a VPN service (preferably one with encryption which defeats Deep Packet Inspection) before resuming.

    Your network adapter or gateway/router may be suboptimally configured.
    Solutions:
    - reset your FiOS Quantum Gateway Router
    - "get the Fastest FiOS speed"
    - tweak your Advanced network adapter settings (force gigabit mode, increase Rx buffers/caches, increase packet frame sizes, etc)
    - completely uninstall the network driver, restart, reinstall, restart again; you may need to restart-restart for changes to persist in Windows, you should be prepared with a downloaded copy of the driver saved locally (because while it's uninstalled you can't get online to download it, lol).

    None of these things is really affected by XMP settings. Which is to say that a memory (mis)configuration would impact the system in far more unambiguous and immediately noticeable ways than the performance metrics of one specific (and secondary) hardware component. Probably best to just put your memory settings back where they started, fix problems before causing other problems.

    If you can, take your computer to a friend's place or work place, try measuring performance of speedtest or downloads across their ISP instead of your own.
    Last edited by Korth; 09-26-2017 at 05:12 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeat2 wireless
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 17692
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    712

    I showing a network controller issue in mine on other devices. can't for the life up me find with the conflict is. I shows up in device manager but everything seems to be working.


    Update: Figured it out. is I was using the beta WiFi drivers on the download page. you have to install the non beta one first.

    All good at 4.5ghz at 1.20v
    Last edited by FireRx; 10-07-2017 at 01:32 PM. Reason: update
    Intel Core i9 7900X @4.7ghz @1.219v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 1902]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 2080ti
    Windows 10 Pro

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    @Korth I didn't see you had responded to this a while back, thanks for the response, let me answer your questions. I actually work in IT and work on network and server equipment. I spend a lot of my work day troubleshooting network issues in a complex MPLS WAN environment for a large company. I appreciate all of the above information but I can assure you it wasn't my ISP, or router. Not even using Verizon's router, I use an Asus RT-AC3100 its connected to my FIOS device via CAT6 Ethernet. I was testing speeds on my laptop sitting next to me, both connected via Gbit Ethernet CAT 6 rated cables.

    I was seeing normal everyday tested speeds on my laptop that I always see with my 1Gig FIOS connection and the Apex board was having the download issue. I replicated this several times by changing the BLCK to the XMP BLCK speed of 101.8 and then back to 100.00. Every time this would kill my download speeds both seen in task manager performance tab and with speedtest.net over internet traffic. While seeing normal 800-900Mbps downloads doing the same test on my laptop and my older Rampage V Extreme system on same network, on the Apex board I was getting 20-30Mbps when my BLCK was set to 101.8. If I changed the Apex boards BLCK to 100.00 I would get normal 800-900Mpbs over same test on speedtest.net. To rule out any ISP issues I also transferred large files over internal LAN from the laptop to the Apex machine and saw the same issue there. I went through a lot of driver reloads and so on to rule that out as well the only thing I could find causing the problem was the BLCK frequency. Unfortunately I don't have any PCIe network cards laying around or I would have tried one of those as well to see if it was just the Intel NIC. I could test WiFi I suppose but at that point I was tired of messing with it and found a perfectly good work around just manually OC everything and setting my RAM to 3800 and 100 BLCK, I could also lower the timings on this RAM I have from 18-19-19-39 to 17-17-17-37 by running it at 3800 instead of 3866 so it was actually fine.

    All of the above testing was being done while network was not being used by anyone else in the house, network load on the router was almost zero. I never use the Gamefirst software and never even installed it, I only install Intel's driver package which I was using the latest Intel Pro set drivers 22.6.6.0. Maybe next BIOS update I will mess with it again and also test the Apex boards WiFi. Normally I just disable WiFi as I always hard wire my desktops and only use WiFi for laptops and handheld devices.
    Last edited by SGMRock; 10-08-2017 at 12:22 PM.
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Interesting results, I've never seen BCLK and RAM timings have any direct impact on network performance.
    Then again, I'm not a "hard" overclocker, I push performances a little but only as far as possible without diminishing stability/reliability.

    The onboard NICs are controlled by PCH. The RAM is controlled by CPU (and PCH, indirectly).
    I'm not sure how a CPU overclock can affect PCH-controlled hardware. Maybe try bumping Uncore or SA voltages? Seems like bad architecture (design flaw/tradeoff) or bad implementation (motherboard engineering oversight) ... or a bad motherboard. Then again, it's overclocking and overspec is categorically outside of rated spec so no guarantees, lol. Still a weird and quirky problem, though.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by SGMRock View Post
    So I figured this out. Thought I would share for anyone who cares. With the RAM I have the G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR the XMP setting sets the BCLK to 101.8. It seems that messes with the Intel onboard NIC. I causes the download throughput of the NIC to drop to about 1-5% of the a Gbit throughput. So basically you end up with downloads of around 10-40MB max out of a Gig. When you set the BCLK back to 100.00 the NIC works normally and you get the full speeds. So basically right now I loaded XMP settings but then changed the BCLK from 101.8 back to 100.00 to get the Intel onboard NIC to work right. I'm not sure if there are other settings it will work fine yet as I have not tested. I plan to try mess around some more and see whats up.
    Hello, sorry because this topic is a bit old but it's very interesting. Recently I have buy a new machine with Rampage VI Apex, 7820x and G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR (like you). Where I live, I have 300/300 MB with Movistar, wired conexion and a Mikrotik router. I'm not doing benchmarks all days, I configured the Mikrotik in the past, I get nearly 300 MB and till today.

    This weekend, I have lost hours and hours of my time reconfiguring Mikrotik becaus I can't get more than 40/50 MB in download and 200 in upload. I assumed that the problem was on hardware (recently Mikrotik has updated some features of his routers and I assume that was the problem wiht my RB493G).

    Today, because I'm migrating data and software from "old" machine to new machine I'm using "old" machine (ASUS Prime X299-A with 7900X and old 16 Gb RAM) i tried by casuality the newtork benchmark and I get 290/290 Mb without changing nothing on Mikrotik so, obviously the problem is in the Intel network adapter of the R6A.

    Reading your comments, I also realised that the XMP change the block to 101.6 instead the 100 normal but I didn't change this value at all. Now I don't have connected the new machine to the monitor and devices, but I will try what you say next days.

    Did you find any solution without changing the 101,6 value? I have latest drivers installed and I really don't understand how a RAM can affect to a network adapter, it's incredible!!

    Thanks for your post and ideas!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •