Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I can confirm that changing the RAM to 100 instead the 101.8 default from XMP profile, the network works better.

    I have try my new machine, with XMP at 101.8 and no more 40 MB at downloading before reinstalling the Intel network driver. I shut down the PC, change the value of the RAM to 100, entering in Windows, try a speed benchmark and downloading 250 MB and uploading the same.

    I don't understand nothing!!

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Yesterday I received the reply from ASUS to my question, incredible!! Thank you for advise, they will consider this question in new products. No comments for a posible new BIOS correcting the issue, no drivers updating, no comments for INTEL, simply reglettable...

    Original message:

    [Información de producto]
    Tipo de producto : Motherboard
    Modelo de producto : ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
    Sistema operativo / Firmware o versión del BIOS : Windows 10 Pro x64

    [Vendedor de la tarjeta gráfica/modelo/circuito integrado auxiliar/controlador]
    Nvidia Quadro P2000

    [Vendedor del CPU/número del procesador]
    Intel i7 7820x

    [Vendedor de la memoria/modelo/especificación]
    G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR

    [Descripción del problema]
    Tengo un router Mikrotik y fibra instalada simétrica 300/300 Mbps que funciona correctamente en todos mis equipos hasta ahora de forma cableada, alcanzando los 280/290 Mbps sin problemas. Reciéntemente he montado un equipo con la placa Rampage VI APEX, un 7820x y la RAM indicada configurada con su único perfil XMP disponible (RAM compatible con el equipor porque aparece en vuestros listados de compatibilidad que por eso la compré). En esas condiciones, haciendo pruebas de velocidad con el adaptador Intel cableado no paso de 40/50 Mbps en bajada y 200 Mbps en subida. Ese perfil XMP configura el BLOCK de la RAM en 101.8. Tras leer el post https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...nterface-issue comprobé si al bajar ese valor en la BIOS a 100 (variando el perfil por defecto XMP) había cambios y efectivamente la velocidad de descarga alcanza velocidades próximas a los 250/250 Mbps. Sé que puede parecer una locura que cambiando un valor de la BIOS de la RAM afecte al rendimiento del adaptador de red pero os aseguro que es real. He puesto en conocimiento a INTEL pero dicen que es ASUS quien tiene que tenerlo en cuenta al ser el integrador de placa, RAM y adaptador así que os hago conocedores del asunto. Os ruego resolvais el asunto cuanto antes porque desde luego algo raro hay y son equipos muy caro como para que salgan al mercado con fallos de este tipo. He probado otro equipo con ASUS X299 Prime y un 7900x y alcanzo los 250/250 Mbps también sin problemas por lo que es evidente que colocar la RAM con el valor de BLOCK en 101.8 por algún motivo genera consecuencias en la velocidad del adaptador de red intel cableado. Gracias.

    ASUS reply:

    Ante todo queremos agradecer su contacto con el Soporte Técnico de ASUS Ibérica.
    Le agradecemos su colaboración y pasaremos la información al departamento correspondiente para que se tenga en consideración a la hora de desarrollar nuevos productos .
    Gracias por el aviso.
    Esperemos que nuestra respuesta le haya servido de ayuda para solucionar el problema indicado. En caso de que necesite soporte técnico para esta o cualquier otra consulta, no dude en ponerse en contacto con nosotros, respondiendo a este mismo email o bien a través de cualquiera de los medios disponibles que encontrará en nuestra página http://www.asus.com/es/support/
    Gracias por su contacto con ASUS Ibérica.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Asus Customer Service
    Asus Technical Support Site: http://support.asus.com

    My latest reply:

    Evidentemente sigo necesitando asistencia porque no habéis resuelto mi problema en absoluto. Hacéis referencia a nuevos productos, bien, y a los actuales, ¿no pensais sacar una BIOS nueva corrigiendo el problema? ¿Poneros en contacto con INTEL para ver lo que sucede y de quien es la culpa de esta cuestión? Vuestra respuesta me parece totalmente fuera de lugar y un despropósito.


    Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk Pro

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array mikepellegrini PC Specs
    mikepellegrini PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Apex
    Processor7820X - delidded with the Rockit 99 tool, now using Conductonaut for the TIM
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M4C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked
    MonitorASUS PB328Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB NvMe M2
    Storage #2Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken 62
    CasePhantek Enthoo Evolv
    Power SupplySiverstone 1000 W Power Supply (PS-ST1000-PT
    Keyboard Logitech MK 700
    Mouse Logitech M510
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo TX-SR 705 /MK S-125 Speakers with B&W ASW 1000 Sub
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have a somewhat similar problem that I just resolved after screwing with it all day.

    I just built a Rampage VI Apex and everything was great till yesterday I noticed my music player (JRiver) was skipping and buffering all the time. I first thought my NAS was going south but after a lot of screwing around, found that it was my LAN speed - file transfers from the Apex to my NAS or other computers were topping out at about 1-2 MB/s. That's on a Gigabit Ethernet LAN.

    The weirdest thing that my internet connection functioned normally - at about 20 MB/s (which is what I pay for). The other computers on the LAN had normal transfer speeds - - a Blu-Ray file would run at around 100+ MB/s.

    I switched Ethernet connections on the Apex, and same thing. Internal LAN speeds were 1-2 MB/s.

    Thinking the NIC drivers might be corrupt or whatever, I uninstalled them and reinstalled them, then installed new chipset and SATA drivers - no change.

    Finally, as one last gasp before starting an RMA, I updated to the 1102 BIOS - and now everything works properly.

    I did have a good overclock going that was wiped out when I updated the BIOS, and as others have said, I was using the XMP profile with the Bclk set to 101. I'm thinking that must have been it. I'll experiment with it tomorrow when I redo my overclock.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Just out of curiosity I tested this today again to see if it is still a problem since the ME Firmware and recent BIOS updates since last time I did this. Currently on 1301 BIOS the issue still is there. I loaded XMP for my RAM which is DDR4 3866. This set 18-19-19-39 1.35V, BLCK to 101.8 and RAM speed to 3866Mhz. With this setting my download speed is around 10 Mbps and very inconsistent. Upload speeds seem ok in the 900Mpbs range which my connection according to my ISP is 940Mbps down and 880Mbps Up.

    I switch this back to where I had it, 17-17-17-37 1.35V, BLCK 100.0000 and RAM speed to 3800Mhz. After that downloads again are as expected on my connection in the 700-900Mbps range uploads remained good as well of course in either setting.

    This is repeatable every time its like an on and off switch. I wonder if Asus or Intel engineers even know this is there. Seems like some kind of weird frequency interference or power issue maybe?
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by SGMRock View Post
    Just out of curiosity I tested this today again to see if it is still a problem since the ME Firmware and recent BIOS updates since last time I did this. Currently on 1301 BIOS the issue still is there. I loaded XMP for my RAM which is DDR4 3866. This set 18-19-19-39 1.35V, BLCK to 101.8 and RAM speed to 3866Mhz. With this setting my download speed is around 10 Mbps and very inconsistent. Upload speeds seem ok in the 900Mpbs range which my connection according to my ISP is 940Mbps down and 880Mbps Up.

    I switch this back to where I had it, 17-17-17-37 1.35V, BLCK 100.0000 and RAM speed to 3800Mhz. After that downloads again are as expected on my connection in the 700-900Mbps range uploads remained good as well of course in either setting.

    This is repeatable every time its like an on and off switch. I wonder if Asus or Intel engineers even know this is there. Seems like some kind of weird frequency interference or power issue maybe?
    I had a lot of problem in W10 even with the block at 100 with aleatory flashes and hang outs. It was impossible to work with a system like this so I return the RAM and bought the similar RAM with 3600 MHz speed. With this RAM no flashes no hang out, RAM Cache II works well, always the system OC at 4,7 GHz and the XMP seems ok (by default 100 MHz). I can’t try the LAN speed downloading because this machine is in my work and there I only have 40 MBps, not 300 like in my home but it seems it works as is expected. Thanks!

  6. #16
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    If the issue only occurs when the BCLK is increased there is no issue, it's because the BCLK is increasing the bus speed and causing issues with the ethernet adapter. The answer is simply to stop overclocking the BCLK.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    If the issue only occurs when the BCLK is increased there is no issue, it's because the BCLK is increasing the bus speed and causing issues with the ethernet adapter. The answer is simply to stop overclocking the BCLK.
    I have kept the block at 100.00 since I found this issue. I just stick to overclocking the multiplier and running my ram at the 3800 speed which is fine since I can get better timings than the XMP ones that way.

    I made this thread for the people that just use stock XMP overclock and don't realize its causing them an issue. Depending on the RAM you buy that stock XMP might use 100.00 BLCK so they may have never seen this. When I bought my RAM the 3866 was the most available, best bang for the buck at the best price point. It works perfect as long as you set the stuff manually like I have listed above.
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    If the issue only occurs when the BCLK is increased there is no issue, it's because the BCLK is increasing the bus speed and causing issues with the ethernet adapter. The answer is simply to stop overclocking the BCLK.
    I tried to explain that in my case, with the stock XMP I had problemes with the adapter as the psot says. But, if I config the block to 100 the network adapter works fine but in my case, I had a lot of random hang ups in different situations (with default config, with OC, without OC, etc.) Some days I hadn't any hang up and some days one or two without sense. Since I have return this RAM and bought the 3.600 MHz I haven't had any hang up and the system is OC at 4,7 GHz always so for me, I solve the problem simply changing the ram.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by SGMRock View Post
    I have kept the block at 100.00 since I found this issue. I just stick to overclocking the multiplier and running my ram at the 3800 speed which is fine since I can get better timings than the XMP ones that way.

    I made this thread for the people that just use stock XMP overclock and don't realize its causing them an issue. Depending on the RAM you buy that stock XMP might use 100.00 BLCK so they may have never seen this. When I bought my RAM the 3866 was the most available, best bang for the buck at the best price point. It works perfect as long as you set the stuff manually like I have listed above.
    In the case of the 3600 MHz RAM I have bought, the bloxk XMP default value is 100, not 101,8 like in the 3866 MHz. Thanks for the post!

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Sounds like the RAM you had before may have had other issues or was not overclocking well.
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •