Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Asus Maximus VIII Hero Q-Code 18 Error

    Hello Guys

    I recently built my new pc with the following parts :

    CPU : i7 6700
    RAM : 16GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws F4-2400C15D-16GVR
    Power supply : be quiet! Pure Power 10 CM ATX 400W PC BN276
    Motherboard : Asus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    Graphics card : NVIDIA GTX 650 (yes, I still use my old card because new ones are really expensive)

    I was happy with it until I powered it on. Every time I start my machine the Q-Led displays different codes and then gets frozen on 18.
    I have already removed the CMOS battery and reseted the BIOS. I also put just one RAM module inside but I still get the same error.
    According to the manual code 18 means : "Pre-Memory System Agent initialization"

    What should I do now? Is something broken? Can I fix it?
    I hope that you guys can help me out

    Picture :
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	img_20170914_2020226ese8.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	33.7 KB 
ID:	67431
    Last edited by PSPlover; 09-16-2017 at 06:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,800

    Hi PSPlover

    I would upgrade your psu.

    How does it go if you remove the gtx 650 and try with the onboard graphics ?

    Have you tried clearing the cmos and updating the bios ?

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Cool Problem solved :)))))

    Hello Nate152

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I would upgrade your psu.
    Why?

    Anyway, here's what I have found out : If you have only normal parts in your computer then read this : http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answer...9977/code.html
    Try clearing your CMOS and check for bad RAM or bent pins on the motherboard.

    I however had a different CPU! It was an i7 6400t QHQG (Engineering sample) and I read on an russian forum that the CPU isn't supported in the newer bios versions. I just had to downgrade my bios version with the asus flashback feature on bios version 2202. Now everything works fine
    If you want to overclock the chip then you just have to download the modified bios for this CPU on the russian forum : https://forums.overclockers.ru/viewt...8504#p14378504 (Use google chrome for translation)

    Here is a general discussion about the chip : http://www.overclock.net/t/1599531/s...verclock-on-es
    Even a YT video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ak-Z7T1kOoI

    I am happy now and I hope that my post will help others in the future.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,800

    Why wouldn't you have told us the correct cpu at the beginning ?

    Anyway, good to see your problem is solved.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •