Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Issues with Ryzen 7 1800X temps on Crossfire Hero VI using Thermaltake 280mm AIO Cool

    Hi all,

    First time poster here, but long time computer enthusiast and reader of the Asus forums. I'm 28 but I built my first computer when I was 16. I've been out of the self-building phase for a while but I just built a brand new setup this past weekend and my specs are:

    ASUS CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC) AM4 AMD X370 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard
    Ryzen 7 1800X
    G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400 RAM
    SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V6P512BW
    CORSAIR RMi Series RM850i
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 HYBRID GAMING Graphics Card
    Thermaltake Water 3.0 280 Riing Red Edition PWM AIO Tt LCS Certified Liquid Cooling System CL-W138-PL14RE-A
    NZXT H440 STEEL Mid Tower Case

    Upon initial build and OS install, I noticed that my CPU temps were hovering around 60C. My BIOS was out of date (v.1201) so I updated using Asus' FlashBIOS utility and updated to the latest 1501 version.

    I re-checked my temperatures and the CPU went down a bit, but still hovers around 42C at idle. Is this normal for Ryzen 7? I know they potentially run a little hotter than other CPUs, but idling in the low-to-mid 40s doesn't seem to make much sense given the AIO liquid cooler (http://www.thermaltake.com/products-...?id=C_00003008).

    I've checked the fan connections on my motherboard and they are all seated correctly. Here's an image of where I've placed the AIO (pump and fan) connections.

    https://i.imgur.com/HuIV7JS.png

    I connected both 140mm fans on the cooler to the left two fan headers (CPU_FAN and CPU_OPT) and the pump to the AIO_Pump header on the right.

    Is this the correct configuration for my Thermaltake cooler? I would assume that, if my pump wasn't working correctly, that the CPU temps would be much higher than even 60C at idle. However, assuming that my pump is correctly working, I figured I would get idle temps hovering around the high 20s to low 30s. Am I correct in my thinking? Or is there something potentially off with my computer and I need to adjust fan and/or other settings?

    Also, as an FYI, my ambient temperature in Boston, MA is around 68F or 20C right now.

    Cheers (and thanks in advance for any help),
    James

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,686

    Temperature Readings on CVIH

    Hi jac006 and Welcome to ROG.

    Temperature readings on the AM4 platform can vary between temperature packages and some read core temps from a Tctl sensor.
    With my setup I use HWInfo64 and use the Tdie readout for a more accurate assessment of core temp.

    AMD says the primary temperature reporting from a sensor called “T Control,” or Tctl for short is 20C above what it should read and this rings true according to my Temperature probe.
    The Tctl sensor is derived from the junction (Tj) temperature—the interface point between the die and heatspreader—but it may be offset on certain CPU models so that all models on the AM4 Platform have the same maximum Tctl value to ensure they have a consistent fan policy.
    The Tdie temperature is what you should be looking at so I recommend downloading HWinfo64 to address this issue.

    AMD also said they are confident software packages will soon adjust automatically for this offset and report the true temperature when required.

    Hope this was of some help
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array andyliu PC Specs
    andyliu PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)(32GB) 2*F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 FTW
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCooler Master H500M
    Power SupplyThermaltake TOUGHPOWER 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3100 + PCE-AC88

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    169

    make sure you have the am4 retention kit from thermaltake. Since it's not mentioned, I assume you dont have it. You should be able to get it for free.
    as I posted in different thread
    if the pump is running and moving water, well gotta make sure the cooler is making proper contact with CPU.
    I will quote from the article http://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd...lem,33771.html
    We’ve discovered that the backplates provided with some major motherboard brands could come with a screw that is too long. The screws reach their safety stop too soon, leaving the spring with too much headroom, and then the pressure of the sink on the CPU is inadequate.
    it's just to make sure the AIO you have does have proper contact on your CPU to remove the heat.

    and 42C, is that stock or after OC?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    hi, im using a h100i 240mm aio, and have similar readings. 40-50C idle (taken offset in).. read the right temps from hwinfo. everything installed fine. even contacted AMD regarding this, and they said it's normal to idle at these. to me it's not, its too high for my liking, and someone who had an older bios ver had lower temps, but after updating to 1501 his idle went up by 20+/- C...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    My 1800X with Kraken X62 AIO has a CPU (Tctl) temperature of 46.8-50.9 Celsius while just surfing the web - BIOS 1501. People say Tctl is not an accurate measure, but I use it anyways. Temperature changes between BIOSes are likely just tweaking the readings of the sensors and not changing the actual temperature. I believe there are settings in the BIOS which will allow you to change the offset.
    Last edited by PeZzy; 09-19-2017 at 06:29 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array gtracer2 PC Specs
    gtracer2 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero X370
    ProcessorRyzen 7 - 1800x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZR (3200Mhz CL 14-14-14-14-34)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX
    CPU CoolerThermaltake RGB Water 3.0
    CaseCoolermaster Stryker
    Headset Astro A50
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 Computer Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit
    gtracer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    The AGESA bios 1.0.0.6 is probably the best bios to sit on right now. I have bios 1501 but, my temperatures did jump from a 25C idle to a 35C idle and fluxuates from 40-50C while playing black desert. I do believe the bios affects your temperatures or how it reads the temperatures. I also have an 1800x. The initial bios that launched didn't take into consideration the -20C offset the 1800x and 1700x. So your temperatures should be lower. Update your bios.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    I had this one thrown at me the other day.

    Quote Originally Posted by heymattman View Post
    Do you have a X chip like 1700x or 1800x? Then your temps will be reading at a +20 degree than what it is. AMD thought it would be best for the fans to ramp up if you are over-clocking. Its normal if this is the case.
    You can adjust this by setting MI SKEW to 272 value.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •