Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 45
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by Sigtran View Post
    I don't think it is a motherboard hardware issue, but it is a software - a BIOS issue.

    BIOS is responsible for POST and AGESA is a part of a BIOS provided by AMD. Since, as I know, cold-boot issues are not exclusive to Asus and CH6, but also others (Gigabyte, MSI, Asrock, ... ) are affected as well, it makes me think the root cause of the cold-boot issue is in AGESA.

    IMO, way that AGESA is initializing memory with its sub-timings is probably still not written "bulletproof" due to immaturity of the platform and huge diversity of the memory modules on the market. Except on default 2133MHz, where timings are JEDEC standardized and relaxed and all DDR4 should work without problem, going anything higher can still be problematic with Ryzen and current AGESA, depending on memory modules used - some could have trouble already on 2400, some will work ok without cold-boot issue on 3200MHz and experiance it on 3333 or 3466MHz.
    As much as people keep saying the issue isn't exclusive to Asus, which is correct, but it also doesn't affect all X370 motherboards and doesn't affect most B350 motherboards. Because of that, I believe it is a design flaw at the hardware level, just like the sensor issue is because Asus chose to use a cheap chip that even the best software can't make up for.
    Syaoran

  2. #32
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Hello all
    I'm sorry but we can only guarantee behaviors within the SPEC set by RAM manufacturers
    We can not offer support on any over SPEC behaviors, thank you

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    So if you buy DDR4-2666 then you're on your own, eh?
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello all
    I'm sorry but we can only guarantee behaviors within the SPEC set by RAM manufacturers
    We can not offer support on any over SPEC behaviors, thank you
    Excuses over answers! I'm sure that is going to help a lot of people.
    Syaoran

  5. #35
    ROG Enthusiast Array Big_Gray PC Specs
    Big_Gray PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenpad Z580CA
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C320016R
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX RX VEGA56 O8G
    MonitorAcer XF270HU 144Hz IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset N/A
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Monitors
    OS Windows10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link VR2800
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift VR
    Accessory #2 Synology DS216+II
    Accessory #3 Synology DS116

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    So if you buy DDR4-2666 then you're on your own, eh?
    No, certified 2666 is within the specs so thats ok, or at least it should be! If you OC your ram above it's rated speed then your on your own!

    If I try changing the settings for my 3200 rated Samsung B die above 2133, I get double boot anyway. Not good!

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sigtran PC Specs
    Sigtran PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GVK @ 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX1080ti Gaming OC
    Monitor27" Lenovo Legion Y27q-20, WQHD 165Hz IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    CaseCoolerMaster 690
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Dell SK-8115
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-540
    OS Win10 X64 Home
    Network RouterAC2600
    Accessory #1 Logitech C930e webcam
    Sigtran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by Big_Gray View Post
    If I try changing the settings for my 3200 rated Samsung B die above 2133, I get double boot anyway. Not good!
    Try playing around with CLDO VDDP... read about it on forum and internet first...

  7. #37
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Big_Gray View Post
    No, certified 2666 is within the specs so thats ok, or at least it should be! If you OC your ram above it's rated speed then your on your own!

    If I try changing the settings for my 3200 rated Samsung B die above 2133, I get double boot anyway. Not good!
    Double boot is required for dram boot to work. It's one of the limitations of the agesa that we have to work around.

  8. #38
    ROG Enthusiast Array Big_Gray PC Specs
    Big_Gray PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenpad Z580CA
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C320016R
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX RX VEGA56 O8G
    MonitorAcer XF270HU 144Hz IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset N/A
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Monitors
    OS Windows10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link VR2800
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift VR
    Accessory #2 Synology DS216+II
    Accessory #3 Synology DS116

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Double boot is required for dram boot to work. It's one of the limitations of the agesa that we have to work around.
    Thanks for you input Raja but this dram training every time you start up from cold is a PITA. It makes a mockery of using fast drives to boot up the system!

    I really hope a work around can be found for this requirement very soon.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by Big_Gray View Post
    Thanks for you input Raja but this dram training every time you start up from cold is a PITA. It makes a mockery of using fast drives to boot up the system!

    I really hope a work around can be found for this requirement very soon.
    BIOS 9920 has a 'supposed' fix. I didn't notice any change when I flashed it. 'Apparently' it is 'broken' for the current AGESA. 'Apparently' it will be included in the BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.7. However that has been optimized for raven ridge (ryzen + APU) so also might not be any good.

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by unknownmiscreant View Post
    BIOS 9920 has a 'supposed' fix. I didn't notice any change when I flashed it. 'Apparently' it is 'broken' for the current AGESA. 'Apparently' it will be included in the BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.7. However that has been optimized for raven ridge (ryzen + APU) so also might not be any good.
    It's not broken for the current AGESA version on 9920.
    Syaoran

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •