Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Pc sometimes won't boot! Asus Maximus VI HERO.

    Intel Core i5-4670K ( no OC )
    Asus maximus VI Hero latest bios ( 1603 ) [2014 latest update ]
    Evga gtx 770 sc /w acx cooler
    XFX Pro Black Edition 750W
    SSD Samsung 256GB Pro
    Kingston HyperX Beast 8GB (2x4GB) 1600MHz DDR3 KHX16C9T3K2/8X
    CoolerMaster Hyper 412 Slim
    Dell UltraSharp U2312HM
    NZXT PHANTOM 410

    Windows 10 pro 64bit


    I have this system since summer 2013. 2 years ago i start noticing that sometimes pc wont boot. I thought maybe there was a problem on the start button on pc case and i didnt pay more attention.. The problem ratio was like 1 on 20 boots..

    12-6 months ago the problem was bigger. 1 on 10 boots..

    But now the problem is huge. The last days the ratio is like 1 on 2 boots! Also i used to close/open the psu 2-10 times till the pc finally boot, but now it takes more!! So i unplug pc for 20+ minutes and the i try again!! Now i am afraid to close it!!

    The problem is not only when i cold boot, but when i warm boot also.. Today i closed the computer, i tried to boot it intermediately after, no success.

    I tried the PSU paper clip test and i works ( when its on normal mode, not on hybrid ). Also i should note here that i had hybrid mode all these 4 years enabled for lower consumption and maybe less PSU wearing down . Today i switched back to normal mode!

    I did a clear cmos from jumper today ( first time i failed cause i didnt read the mobo manual, glad i didnt break the mobo!! ) The only change i did after on bios is that i put <AI OVERCLOCK TUNER> from auto to XMP. I had it on AUTO all these 4 years..

    I dont know if the problem still exists, but i wont close pc!!

    Also sometimes the screen goes black ( like it switches off ) for a second.. Dont know if this info can help.. This started 2,3 months ago.

    Maybe there is a short in the system? I am asking this cause sometimes when i press the power on button and i kick the case ( :P ) the system is booting.. Dont understand..

    I Rechecked all the cables..

    Some other notes : I have pc connected with tv through hdmi, my psu has a coil whine, i have also 2 HDDs, today i removed from mobo the +/- p led and Hdd led ( i connected them 40 days ago.. maybe this worsen the situation? ), i have also connected the following : mouse, keyboard, speakers, headphones, 1 HDD, A HP scanner fax machine. The light on START and RESET buttons on motherboard is on.

    This is a video showing my problem. Its not me. I also read a lot boot problems with this motherboard..



    Maybe this problem is connecting somehow?


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Clear your CMOS and test your system on stock defaults. Omit XMP for now.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I used to have defaults all these years..

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I guess this is a hard situation so no any advises? Today i was brave enough to turn of the comptuer! When i tried to power on, i press once nothing, two nothing and after 5 seconds it turned on by itself/.. Dont know if this can help..

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    You already got good advice from Chino, lol.

    Even if it doesn't correct the fault, it's the first step in methodically isolating the real cause.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have the default settings on bios and the problem still exist.

    One more info. When i try multiply times to open the computer ( close/open psu many times ) and finally boots up, then a warning message comes that cpu fan is low ( under 600rpm ) and that i should go to bios to check it.. After some minutes it goes over 600rpm again..

    Also i think that this motherboard overclocks the cpu automatically. Cause my cpu is 3,4Ghz and it goes on 3,8Ghz.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos speecy.jpg  


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •