Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Rampage IV Black Edition with Corsair CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (Ver4.21)(XMP)

    Hi guy,

    I'm trying to set into XMP mode with CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (Ver4.21)(XMP) & Intel Core i 7 4960x. But unable to boot pc and keep on restart until i turn off the main power. Anyone face this problem before?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    Hi, hooi89

    That repeated reboot happens when the BIOS can't quite make the RAM work -- happens to me a lot when I push RAM timing a little too hard. That is what the MEMOK button on the motherboard is for. Press that button while a boot is in progress. The board will reboot, maybe a few more times, while BIOS tries to read SPD data from the RAMs and find a set of timing settings that does work. When that succeeds, the boot should end up in BIOS where you can apply or change the XMP settings for the DDR3-2400.

    Check out the MEMOK button in the R4BE manual for more insight.

    Jeff

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by hooi89 View Post
    Hi guy,

    I'm trying to set into XMP mode with CMD16GX3M2A2400C10 (Ver4.21)(XMP) & Intel Core i 7 4960x. But unable to boot pc and keep on restart until i turn off the main power. Anyone face this problem before?
    Single kit or two kits together?

    Which UEFI version?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi Guy,

    I had used the Memok button. But after i successfully set Dram to 2400Mhz, but my processor ( 4960X ) can only OC up to 4.1Ghz. If i go further, system will be unstable.

    Please advice.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Check OC guides on the forum for Ivy-E.

    Might need to increase VCore or VCCSA.

    -Raja

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array nut PC Specs
    nut PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardRAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-4930K Processor
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX HX324C11T3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS PB287Q
    Storage #1240 GB INTEL SSDSC2BW240A4
    CPU CoolerKraken X60 NZXT
    CaseMICROCOOL Banchetto 101
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Optical MOBA-MMO Gaming Mouse — Black
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS 64-bit Windows 10
    nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    I've noticed when I have a no boot the bios is always trying to set my command rate for my memory to 1T instead of 2T.
    System Specs
    Desktop PC
    Motherboard: RAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K Processor
    Memory (part number): Kingston Hyper X HX324C11T3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1: R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2: R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Monitor: ASUS PB287Q
    Storage #1: 240 GB INTEL SSDSC2BW240A4
    CPU Cooler: Kraken X60 NZXT
    Case: MICROCOOL Banchetto101
    Power Supply: Antec HCP-1300 Platinum
    OS: 64-bit Windows 10

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    That's because the board POSTed with defaults at JEDEC timings. It is perfectly normal for that to happen and that's spec.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array nut PC Specs
    nut PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardRAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-4930K Processor
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX HX324C11T3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS PB287Q
    Storage #1240 GB INTEL SSDSC2BW240A4
    CPU CoolerKraken X60 NZXT
    CaseMICROCOOL Banchetto 101
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Optical MOBA-MMO Gaming Mouse — Black
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS 64-bit Windows 10
    nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Question for Raja@ASUS. Is 1T a default timming for my board. When the bios defaults on a hit F1 on a boot failure the only memory timing it changes is 2t to 1t all the other manual timings stay the same 9-11-10-27@ 2133. My quess is that the reason for a no boot is because the bios is changing my 2t to 1t.
    Last edited by nut; 05-24-2014 at 06:24 PM.
    System Specs
    Desktop PC
    Motherboard: RAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K Processor
    Memory (part number): Kingston Hyper X HX324C11T3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1: R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2: R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Monitor: ASUS PB287Q
    Storage #1: 240 GB INTEL SSDSC2BW240A4
    CPU Cooler: Kraken X60 NZXT
    Case: MICROCOOL Banchetto101
    Power Supply: Antec HCP-1300 Platinum
    OS: 64-bit Windows 10

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by nut View Post
    Question for Raja@ASUS. Is 1T a default timming for my board. When the bios defaults on a hit F1 on a boot failure the only memory timing it changes is 2t to 1t all the other manual timings stay the same 9-11-10-27@ 2133. My quess is that the reason for a no boot is because the bios is changing my 2t to 1t.
    Let me try and say this so it's more conclusive for you and we don't go round in circles:

    No, even though UEFI is showing you the primary timings that have been set by XMP, when you have a failed POST the board will come back at JEDEC timings and allow you to save the original timings again.


    Your system is not unstable due to the board trying to apply 1T on its own. It is happening because the DRAM is likely unstable. You then get a failed POST, which leads to a safe POST where you see 1T and mistakenly think that's what caused the issue - when it is not it.

    You need to dial that DRAM in for stability. If after reading what I have written above you are still in disbelief, then you can even set 2T manually, to put your mind at rest from the board having "poltergeist effect" on 1T on its own.

    -Raja

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array nut PC Specs
    nut PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardRAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-4930K Processor
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX HX324C11T3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS PB287Q
    Storage #1240 GB INTEL SSDSC2BW240A4
    CPU CoolerKraken X60 NZXT
    CaseMICROCOOL Banchetto 101
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Optical MOBA-MMO Gaming Mouse — Black
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS 64-bit Windows 10
    nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Thank you for reply Raja@ASUS
    System Specs
    Desktop PC
    Motherboard: RAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K Processor
    Memory (part number): Kingston Hyper X HX324C11T3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1: R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2: R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5
    Monitor: ASUS PB287Q
    Storage #1: 240 GB INTEL SSDSC2BW240A4
    CPU Cooler: Kraken X60 NZXT
    Case: MICROCOOL Banchetto101
    Power Supply: Antec HCP-1300 Platinum
    OS: 64-bit Windows 10

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •