Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 149
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array clindsay616@gmail.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Rampage VI Extreme and Samsung 960 Pro in Raid

    So I just got my Rampage VI Extreme and 7900X up and running however I was not able to figure out how to get my two drives to create a bootable raid drive.

    I have 2 Samsung 960Pro 1TB and I currently have them both in the dimm.2 slot. Everytime I try to set up the raid array it says they are unsupported. Do I need to not have them both on the Dimm.2? Is there something else I am missing that I need to do before I set up the array?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by clindsay616@gmail.com View Post
    So I just got my Rampage VI Extreme and 7900X up and running however I was not able to figure out how to get my two drives to create a bootable raid drive.

    I have 2 Samsung 960Pro 1TB and I currently have them both in the dimm.2 slot. Everytime I try to set up the raid array it says they are unsupported. Do I need to not have them both on the Dimm.2? Is there something else I am missing that I need to do before I set up the array?

    Thanks!
    Pretty sure you have to do it via chipset and will boot into Linex but not windows. For Windows boot you need VROC and Intel drives. There is the ASUS card however as an option and it will take 4 960 pros.

    https://www.slideshare.net/pertonas/...6-x-intel-vroc

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Moloch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by clindsay616@gmail.com View Post
    So I just got my Rampage VI Extreme and 7900X up and running however I was not able to figure out how to get my two drives to create a bootable raid drive.

    I have 2 Samsung 960Pro 1TB and I currently have them both in the dimm.2 slot. Everytime I try to set up the raid array it says they are unsupported. Do I need to not have them both on the Dimm.2? Is there something else I am missing that I need to do before I set up the array?

    Thanks!
    I was able to set up raid 0 with 2x Samsung 960 on a Dimm.2 with R6A. Unfortunately it appeared that the DIMM.2 slot is connected via a single 4x bus, rather than a 4x bus for each slot. So I still had a max speed of ~3500GB/s.

    After setting up raid between the 2 different DIMM.2 cards on the Apex, I got speeds of nearly double. So I would recommend setting up raid between the single chipset slot and one of the DIMM.2 slots on the R6E, so they each get their own dedicated 4x lane (or get a PCIe card for VROC that supports non-Intel M.2, I think ASUS makes one)

    Keep in mind, there are 2 different types of raid now:
    IRST = VROC raid (must use VROC/cpu lanes... might require Intel brand M.2 drives... should be bootable) (I'm guessing this is the type you tried?)
    RSTe = Chipset raid (I use this type, allows any drive, but not bootable)
    Last edited by Moloch; 09-24-2017 at 03:31 PM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array rzotti PC Specs
    rzotti PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I9 7900x @ 4.6GHZ (dellided/binned)
    Memory (part number)2 x16GB G.Skill DDR4 TridentZ RGB 4266Mhz PC4-34100 CL19 1.4V Dual Channel Kit (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    MonitorSAMSUNG 29" ULTRAWIDE MONITOR S29E790C
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO x3 (2 in raid 0, 1 for boot)
    Storage #2WD BLACK 6TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CUSTOM COOLING
    CasePHANTEKS ELITE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600W
    Keyboard CORSAIR GAMING K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse LOGITECH G903 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Going over a similar question myself .... Can we have two 960's on the dimm 2, configured to cpu, in raid-0, non-bootable, and a third 960 , on the single chipset slot, for boot only?

    On the asus hyper card - using it with 960's wouldn't have the same limitation as the board itself? Meaning , Intel is locking non-intel drives out of vroc , you could add 4 960,s on that card but vroc should still not work, right?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Mavtop PC Specs
    Mavtop PC Specs
    MotherboardIncoming R6Extreme
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 64gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #11080ti w EKWB
    Graphics Card #21080ti w EKWB
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZXR
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 2tb x 2 in RAID 0 (hopefully bootable)
    Storage #2HGST He10, 10 TB HDD
    CPU CoolerEK Custom water cooling Loop w XSPC rads
    CaseDigital Storm Aventum III
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Corsair M45/Glaive
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1/Corsair Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Corsair RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS AC5300
    Accessory #1 EVODESK 72inch standing desk
    Accessory #2 Oculus Rift, Vive, Pimax 8K X incoming

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Hey Rzotti,

    I'm planning on doing the same thing with 2 Samsung 960 2tb m.2 drives.

    Was originally going to raid 0 them, but I guess nvme is locked out, not only on the VROC add in card, but also on the DIMM.2s?

    Disappointing, but waiting for intel 900p drives to VROC them all together. The Sammies are fast enough just the way they are, but I might raid 0 them once I move my OS to the 900P drives.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array clindsay616@gmail.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Moloch View Post
    I was able to set up raid 0 with 2x Samsung 960 on a Dimm.2 with R6A. Unfortunately it appeared that the DIMM.2 slot is connected via a single 4x bus, rather than a 4x bus for each slot. So I still had a max speed of ~3500GB/s.

    After setting up raid between the 2 different DIMM.2 cards on the Apex, I got speeds of nearly double. So I would recommend setting up raid between the single chipset slot and one of the DIMM.2 slots on the R6E, so they each get their own dedicated 4x lane (or get a PCIe card for VROC that supports non-Intel M.2, I think ASUS makes one)

    Keep in mind, there are 2 different types of raid now:
    IRST = VROC raid (must use VROC/cpu lanes... might require Intel brand M.2 drives... should be bootable) (I'm guessing this is the type you tried?)
    RSTe = Chipset raid (I use this type, allows any drive, but not bootable)
    So I am resolved to not worrying about Raiding these drives. The 1tb 960pro is already blazing fast. My question would be is the Dimm.2 Faster Directly to the CPU or the PCIEx4? I am planning on splitting them up so that I only have one drive in the Dimm.2 slot and one in the PCIEx4 but was curious which was better for the OS.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Asus say Dimm.2 from CPU is the best for speed.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,318

    Asus does have a Hyper x16 PCI-e Card that holds up to 4 M.2s. From what I under stand is it will use 16 lanes so full speed should not be an issue. I also believe you can use non-Intel NVMe drives on it but if you do, you won't be able to use VROC.

    I am interested in this question answered from Raja. If we put two M.2s on a DIMM.2 and use the cpu lanes, will each drive run at x4 or will they have to share x4 lanes? If they share only x4 lanes, then having two on one card really seems basakwards and useless, even if you are using one for a boot drive and one for an app drive. :/
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Mavtop PC Specs
    Mavtop PC Specs
    MotherboardIncoming R6Extreme
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 64gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #11080ti w EKWB
    Graphics Card #21080ti w EKWB
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZXR
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 2tb x 2 in RAID 0 (hopefully bootable)
    Storage #2HGST He10, 10 TB HDD
    CPU CoolerEK Custom water cooling Loop w XSPC rads
    CaseDigital Storm Aventum III
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Corsair M45/Glaive
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1/Corsair Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Corsair RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS AC5300
    Accessory #1 EVODESK 72inch standing desk
    Accessory #2 Oculus Rift, Vive, Pimax 8K X incoming

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    Asus does have a Hyper x16 PCI-e Card that holds up to 4 M.2s. From what I under stand is it will use 16 lanes so full speed should not be an issue. I also believe you can use non-Intel NVMe drives on it but if you do, you won't be able to use VROC.

    I am interested in this question answered from Raja. If we put two M.2s on a DIMM.2 and use the cpu lanes, will each drive run at x4 or will they have to share x4 lanes? If they share only x4 lanes, then having two on one card really seems basakwards and useless, even if you are using one for a boot drive and one for an app drive. :/
    This is still the million dollar question..... I will have to wait for my board to arrive, then I will confirm yes or no.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    Asus does have a Hyper x16 PCI-e Card that holds up to 4 M.2s. From what I under stand is it will use 16 lanes so full speed should not be an issue. I also believe you can use non-Intel NVMe drives on it but if you do, you won't be able to use VROC.

    I am interested in this question answered from Raja. If we put two M.2s on a DIMM.2 and use the cpu lanes, will each drive run at x4 or will they have to share x4 lanes? If they share only x4 lanes, then having two on one card really seems basakwards and useless, even if you are using one for a boot drive and one for an app drive. :/
    https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Storag...s-Quad-960-PRO

    https://www.pcper.com/news/Storage/I...thout-VROC-Key


    Its all here from Allyn and very interesting. Listen to the podcast as well.
    Last edited by smithkid; 10-08-2017 at 07:29 AM.

Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •