Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 149
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array Mavtop PC Specs
    Mavtop PC Specs
    MotherboardIncoming R6Extreme
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 64gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #11080ti w EKWB
    Graphics Card #21080ti w EKWB
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZXR
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 2tb x 2 in RAID 0 (hopefully bootable)
    Storage #2HGST He10, 10 TB HDD
    CPU CoolerEK Custom water cooling Loop w XSPC rads
    CaseDigital Storm Aventum III
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Corsair M45/Glaive
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1/Corsair Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Corsair RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS AC5300
    Accessory #1 EVODESK 72inch standing desk
    Accessory #2 Oculus Rift, Vive, Pimax 8K X incoming

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Same here with Samsung 960 PRO 2TB x 2

    I've determined that either I raid 0 them for application drives on PCIE. Then fill out the rest of my Hyper x16 card with 2tb pros.

    and run Windows either off of the new Optane 900P or a combination Optane 32gb and Samsung PRO 2tb or EVO 4tb on SATA.

    This way the responsiveness of the system is preserved either way, no matter how large my application raid 0 array gets.

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array rzotti PC Specs
    rzotti PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I9 7900x @ 4.6GHZ (dellided/binned)
    Memory (part number)2 x16GB G.Skill DDR4 TridentZ RGB 4266Mhz PC4-34100 CL19 1.4V Dual Channel Kit (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GEFORCE STRIX 1080 TI OC
    MonitorSAMSUNG 29" ULTRAWIDE MONITOR S29E790C
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO x3 (2 in raid 0, 1 for boot)
    Storage #2WD BLACK 6TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CUSTOM COOLING
    CasePHANTEKS ELITE
    Power SupplyEVGA 1600W
    Keyboard CORSAIR GAMING K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse LOGITECH G903 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    I'm not sure you can through conventional means. If you turn your DIMM.2 to PCH, the m.2s should show up in BIOS as non-VROC drives. IRST may let you create the bootable RAID from BIOS, but since you are going through the PCH, you are going to hit your bandwidth very quickly with just one 960Pro. You would double your write, so you'd get something like 3500 read and 3000 ish write.
    Agree 100%. What may work however to overcome the bandwidth limitation is to have a raid 0 array with one M2 on the DIMM2 card (on chipset) and another on the slot under the cover. I read about something similar working for the Apex (one M2 on each dimm2 slot) with very acceptable results.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,321

    Quote Originally Posted by rzotti View Post
    Agree 100%. What may work however to overcome the bandwidth limitation is to have a raid 0 array with one M2 on the DIMM2 card (on chipset) and another on the slot under the cover. I read about something similar working for the Apex (one M2 on each dimm2 slot) with very acceptable results.
    Ah yes I remember this. It was a very interesting situation. He only had a 28 lane chip so he used one M.2 off the CPU DImm.2 and one off the chipset Dimm.2 and was able to put them into a RAID 0. He didn't get perfect x2 scaling but instead of 7000 Seq read he was getting 5800 and pretty much double writes. I don't remember if he was able to make it bootable.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    79

    Thanks my friends...

    The only way to get Raid0 bootable and acceptable is to have the VROC dongle?
    Not even buying Asus Hyper Card and puting 2 Samsung960Pro?

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,321

    Quote Originally Posted by Beto556 View Post
    Thanks my friends...

    The only way to get Raid0 bootable and acceptable is to have the VROC dongle?
    Not even buying Asus Hyper Card and puting 2 Samsung960Pro?
    This is not correct. If you have intel drives you can use VROC without the dongle to get them into RAID 0. The dongle is supposed to be for RAID 1, 5, 10.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    This is not correct. If you have intel drives you can use VROC without the dongle to get them into RAID 0. The dongle is supposed to be for RAID 1, 5, 10.
    Hi Bro !! Greetings from Cariocas

    Yes....you're 100% correct !

    But what happens if I install my 2 Samsung 960Pro on an Asus Hyper Card?
    Will I be able to enable RAID0?
    I'll be able to make it bootable?

    I already regret not having bought an AMD 1950X

    The question is: How can I have a bootable RAID0 with 2 Samsungs 960Pro?

    Best Regards and nice week

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,321

    Quote Originally Posted by Beto556 View Post
    Hi Bro !! Greetings from Cariocas

    Yes....you're 100% correct !

    But what happens if I install my 2 Samsung 960Pro on an Asus Hyper Card?
    Will I be able to enable RAID0?
    I'll be able to make it bootable?

    I already regret not having bought an AMD 1950X

    The question is: How can I have a bootable RAID0 with 2 Samsungs 960Pro?

    Best Regards and nice week
    If you check back into this thread there has been some links to a person who has tried all of this. The Asus hyper is nothing more than a PCI-e card which allows you to put four m.2s and run them off one PCI-e x16 lane. Yes you can put any m.2s on it and yes you can do any in a RAID 0 array, whether it is bootable is a different story.

    From what I saw, he was able to load windows on to a disc then download the RST drivers and create a RAID 0 array with both the intel and the Samsung drives. Both SAID they were bootable, but when he went into BIOS, the BIOS didn't recognize the Samsung boot Array so Windows couldn't be installed. He was able to load the drivers on and install Windows, but the problem is the BIOS doesn't have those drivers auto load each time you would start your computer. He made mention that he felt it was still possible but I didn't see a sure fire way to do it. The intel RAID 0 booted up fine and he was able to use VROC with it.

    What I found very interesting tho, was on a normal windows installation, he was able to create a non-bootable VROC RAID 0 array using the Samsung m.2s. This to me is what I would want and will test it when I get everything all together. From what I understood VROC doesn't work well if you have two m.2 drives using separate slots, like an m.2 and a DIMM.2 slot. I'm going to have to play with this and see if the DIMM.2 would allow VROC. If it only works with a Hyper type card directly in a PCI-e slot, I might have to get one. We'll see.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    79

    Dear Brighttail,

    As usual you are expert! Thank you for your attention and prompt reply. I am waiting for my R6E in order to test.
    I hope Intel amend this limitation.
    Long life for AMD

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,321

    Quote Originally Posted by Beto556 View Post
    Dear Brighttail,

    As usual you are expert! Thank you for your attention and prompt reply. I am waiting for my R6E in order to test.
    I hope Intel amend this limitation.
    Long life for AMD
    I'm not sure I'm an expert just a lot of trial and error on my own. I still have to put my M.2s onto my board and do some testing on my own still.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,321

    I've been thinking about this for a few days now and I think I may put my board back on the test bench before I build my system. I have four m.2. 3 of them are the Samsung 960/961 and one 950. The 961 and 960s run just about the exact same in benchmarks, with the 961 being a little faster.

    I want to test if I can truly get VROC working on the Samsung drives as shown in the articles linked here. https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Storag...s-Quad-960-PRO

    In this article we see that the Hyper x16 not being recognized as a RAID device and a driver needing to be installed. Asus apparently doesn't provide the driver. My point is it looks like VROC will NOT be possible on the DIMM.2 as you can't select that in the BIOS. You can only select VROC to be active on a device in a PCI-e Slot. Furthermore, it seems that in order for VROC to be active, the drives used have to be on ONE card in ONE PCI-e slot. This makes sense on the surface, but I have heard some odd things when it comes to RAID.

    For example, a person had two M.2s on the DIMM.2 drive in RAID 0 and was only getting 3.5Ghz sec read. He then created a RAID 0 array using one drive connected to the CPU lanes and one m.2 from the PCH lanes and suddenly was getting 6.0Ghz. I didn't know that creating a RAID 0 array from different CPU/PCH lanes was possible. So I plan to try the following with 2 and 3 m.2 drives:

    - Attempt to create a RAID 0 array using just 2 drives on the DIMM.2 (CPU) then (PCH) and see difference in benchmarks.
    - Attempt to add a third one using the lower M.2 slot.
    - Attempt to add 2 and 3 drives using only cards in PCI-E slots (thus only using CPU lanes) - installing the RAID driver if necessary (if I can find it )

    I basically want to see what gives the best benchmarks and to see if it is possible to have the Samsung drives be able to take advantage of VROC without needing the Asus hyper x16. As you can see there are three options for the PCI-e slot. A regular card using VROC. The Hyper x16 using VROC and the Hyper x16 not using VROC for (data). So if you can select a single PCI card using VROC with only one drive, then you SHOULD be able to use VROC over two or more single PCI-e cards. Basically I'm trying to determine if the Hyper x16 is a necessity.

    What does seem necessary is the enterprise version of IRST. At least I don't know if he tried the normal version of IRST. So many unknowns and Intel/Asus aren't really being forthcoming about what is/is not possible. There are many conflicting bits of information like whether or not you need a dongle to run RAID 0 in VROC.

    Any thoughts on this?
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •