Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    ASUS PG279Q Backlight Fails In All But One Section. Fix Possible, or RMA?

    The issue, as stated in the title, occurs roughly once a day. Sometimes multiple times in succession. The only temporary fix to turn the backlight on across the monitor is to turn off the monitor and back on, or something that refreshes the entire screen (such as updating graphics card). Even turning the monitor off and back on doesn't always work, as the issue would persist, so I'd have to do it multiple times before the backlight comes back on everywhere. Look at the pictures to see precisely what it looks like when the issue comes up.

    Could there be a software bug causing this, or a possible fix, or is this definitely an RMA?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170329_104951.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	140.4 KB 
ID:	67691
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170329_105014.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	99.1 KB 
ID:	67692

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Fix is possible, but probably requires replacement parts specific to this monitor and certainly requires disassembly (which would void warranty).

    It's likely caused by burnt out component(s) on the panel controller logic board, this would require component-level repair although replacing the entire module is usually far cheaper (and more reliable) than paying for the time/labour involved in diagnosing/replacing single parts. It's less likely caused by an internal power/signal ribbon(s) wiggling loose or a bad solder point or whatnot, this would be "quickly" diagnosed and repaired. The latter possibility is more likely if the monitor has been bumped or dropped. It's very, very easy for inexperienced people to inadvertently damage the components (and the delicate electronic linkages between them) during disassembly.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Fix is possible, but probably requires replacement parts specific to this monitor and certainly requires disassembly (which would void warranty).

    It's likely caused by burnt out component(s) on the panel controller logic board, this would require component-level repair although replacing the entire module is usually far cheaper (and more reliable) than paying for the time/labour involved in diagnosing/replacing single parts. It's less likely caused by an internal power/signal ribbon(s) wiggling loose or a bad solder point or whatnot, this would be "quickly" diagnosed and repaired. The latter possibility is more likely if the monitor has been bumped or dropped. It's very, very easy for inexperienced people to inadvertently damage the components (and the delicate electronic linkages between them) during disassembly.
    I've repaired smartphones and other electronic devices before, sometimes involving a solder iron. Should I RMA this or attempt to fix it on my own, with the help of some online resource? Thanks!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    If you don't mind voiding ASUS warranty, once you've broken the seals you're on your own, RMA not an option.

    I would first research online. Check out takeaparts/teardowns to see exactly which parts are used (and how they're put together). Check alibaba and ebay and google to see which (if any) of these are actually available and what they might cost. If you've got to deal with ASUS as the only possible source of parts then you might as well deal with ASUS for RMA. If you think it likely you need replacement part(s) which costs $$$ then you might as well RMA, lol.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Btw, have you tried the monitor on different GPU card or computer? With a different signal cable? It seems to be specific failure of the monitor itself, but always best to rule out common faults before cracking it open or sending it for replacement.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    There are no seals on the monitor. You can pop the panel out of the plastic frame with a pry tool and detach the buttons' ribbon cable. You can access the controller and G-SYNC module at this point. The panel itself is encased in a solid metal frame (the inner black border that you see on the front). It didn't look like it could be opened without breaking it inadvertently.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •