cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New build help- Cold boot.

kwaka
Level 7
Hi all.
Bit of a noob here. Having a problem with a purchased custom pc booting from cold.( Powered off at wall/plug.)
Starts ok if turned off and left in standby with the mains switched on.

First boot after switching on power all I get is a no signal from tv. The only way I seem to be able to rectify this is to force a shut down via holding the start button for 5 seconds. Wont even boot in to bios on cold first start.
It then reboots in safe mode with a message of ....post failed due to hardware OR forces shut down. Then click F1 to Bios enter set up and just hit save and it starts ok.
Future starts are fine unless I switch power off at the plug.
Any help / advice?
Bios problem or ram xmp???

Spec below. Also PC is warrantied but checking in with you guys first for help.

Spec.

i7 7700K
Asus strix Z270F (1009 bios).
16GB G.Skills Trident Z 3000htz. (set to 3000 in xmp by company)
250gb M.2 960 evo
500gb 950 evo
1tb Hdd.
Kraken X52 cooler.
Corsair HX750i
7 REPLIES 7

MacLeod77
Level 7
Have you tried turning off the XMP and seeing if that helps?

If it does that would confirm an XMP issue. It might then be worth looking at DRAM voltage (should be 1.35 i'm guessing).
If not it might be worth tweaking VCCIO and SA voltages by tiny amounts (too much voltage causes instabilty).

My mobo has done similar things, although I have always had the BIOS/POST screen come up. It's as if the monitor fails to autodetect once windows is booting. For the PC to not even POST it sounds to me more like a hardware issue.

You don't say if you have a graphics card? If your PC was prebuilt does it have a "void if broken" seal? If your retailer will allow you to open the PC you could maybe try to reseat components like RAM and Graphics card.

If it's not too much hassle to send it back it might be worth doing.. The PC should have had stress tests and issues like that dealt with.