Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fist3365 PC Specs
    Fist3365 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX Hero (BIOS 1009)
    ProcessorIntel I7-6700k Ocd 4.6
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 32gb (4x8)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080TI O11G
    MonitorAsus Designo Curve MX34VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD
    CPU CoolerCaptain 240 EX RGB
    CaseCorsair 750D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Red Silent
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset Hyper X Cloud 2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Little Dot MKII Headphone Tube Amp
    Accessory #2 Schiit Audio Magni 2 Uber

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    NOOB Port Forwarding

    Hello to all, I am trying to figure out port forwarding and I just don't understand it all. I would appreciate any help with this.

    I have an asus RT AC68U Wireless router and using an Asus PCIE AC68 Wireless card. The three games I am currently playing the most is Star Wars Battlefront, Battlefield 1, and COD WW2 PC BETA. I found the info on the EA website about which port numbers to use and whether they are a UDP or TCP. Even though I don't know what that means, I can still fill in the blanks on my router. I log into my router, click on WAN, Click the Port Forwarding tab, and then I don't know what to select for those.

    Under the Basic Config section, what is Famous Server list, famous game list and FTP server port? I don't know what to select for these.

    Under the port Forwarding List column:

    Service Name? Do I just open up task manager to see which service runs when I open up the chose game and then put it in the service name space?

    Source target? Is that where I put the port number for those three games?

    Port range? I guess I would only put something in this space if I had multiple port numbers?

    Local IP.... I actually know this one.

    Local Port? How do I find that out?

    Thanks again.
    I7-6700k OC'd 4.6 // Asus ROG Maximus Hero 9 // ROG GTX 1080ti OC //Corsair LPX DDR4 32gb 3ghz // Corsair AX 1500i // 1tb Samsung 850 EVO // 256gb Samsung 850 PRO for OS // Windows 10 Home 64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    https://portforward.com/
    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...ding-necessary
    https://superuser.com/questions/2840...is-it-used-for

    Most users don't need to explicitly configure port forwarding unless the software (game/etc) explicitly requires a particular configuration.

    It's usually all controlled by the software firewall. The router options you're looking through are basically a hardware firewall.

    If your network already works, and (hopefully) your firewall software already works, there's no need to configure these things in hardware. They provide finer control over network traffic/packet management and security, but they also introduce complexity. If you don't really understand what you're changing and what those changes do then you can basically limit or "lock out" normal networking functions, and depending on the specific options in your router hardware it can be fairly involved. Just use the default settings, whatever they are.

    You can configure forwarding (and firewall, etc) directly through your router and, theoretically, remain just as "secure" without running firewall in software - and this would free up resources on the computer itself. But in practice it requires frequent maintenance and reconfiguration, every little update to every little thing can "break" settings which currently work, and it's a bit of an annoyance to go through the router config again and again each time you want to install some other new software (game/etc) or access new network things. I find it it's not worth the effort when decent firewall software (even Windows Firewall, which is surprisingly excellent) just handles everything well enough, quietly and automatically or with a one-time "yes/no" sort of user prompt.

    I've never seen "famous server" and "famous game" before ... they're probably quirky translations of settings which "make server/game visible to the network".
    Last edited by Korth; 09-29-2017 at 04:06 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fist3365 PC Specs
    Fist3365 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX Hero (BIOS 1009)
    ProcessorIntel I7-6700k Ocd 4.6
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 32gb (4x8)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080TI O11G
    MonitorAsus Designo Curve MX34VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD
    CPU CoolerCaptain 240 EX RGB
    CaseCorsair 750D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Red Silent
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset Hyper X Cloud 2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Little Dot MKII Headphone Tube Amp
    Accessory #2 Schiit Audio Magni 2 Uber

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    https://portforward.com/
    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...ding-necessary
    https://superuser.com/questions/2840...is-it-used-for

    Most users don't need to explicitly configure port forwarding unless the software (game/etc) explicitly requires a particular configuration.

    It's usually all controlled by the software firewall. The router options you're looking through are basically a hardware firewall.

    If your network already works, and (hopefully) your firewall software already works, there's no need to configure these things in hardware. They provide finer control over network traffic/packet management and security, but they also introduce complexity. If you don't really understand what you're changing and what those changes do then you can basically limit or "lock out" normal networking functions, and depending on the specific options in your router hardware it can be fairly involved. Just use the default settings, whatever they are.

    You can configure forwarding (and firewall, etc) directly through your router and, theoretically, remain just as "secure" without running firewall in software - and this would free up resources on the computer itself. But in practice it requires frequent maintenance and reconfiguration, every little update to every little thing can "break" settings which currently work, and it's a bit of an annoyance to go through the router config again and again each time you want to install some other new software (game/etc) or access new network things. I find it it's not worth the effort when decent firewall software (even Windows Firewall, which is surprisingly excellent) just handles everything well enough, quietly and automatically or with a one-time "yes/no" sort of user prompt.

    I've never seen "famous server" and "famous game" before ... they're probably quirky translations of settings which "make server/game visible to the network".
    Thanks for the informative response Korth... I'm gonna take your advice and leave things as they are since everything works. Just figured I'd try to squeeze every ounce of performance out of my wireless system, but it doesn't sound worth the trouble.
    I7-6700k OC'd 4.6 // Asus ROG Maximus Hero 9 // ROG GTX 1080ti OC //Corsair LPX DDR4 32gb 3ghz // Corsair AX 1500i // 1tb Samsung 850 EVO // 256gb Samsung 850 PRO for OS // Windows 10 Home 64

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •