Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: boot problem

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    boot problem

    Hi,
    When I disconnect and reconnect the power, the motherboard retest and power off the system before booting normally. This happens on default bios settings. I also tried to manually set ram timings and voltage. I do not have extra add-in cards. My CPU is a 1950X and my RAM is Hyperx Predator 64GB quad channel bought by checking the motherboard compatibility list.
    I also tried reinstalling the cpu and I tested every ram stick separately.
    I tested multiple BIOS versions, 0211, 0305, 0503, 0603, 0801.
    It happens only at the first boot every single time I connect the power.

    Every PC components has been tested on another motherboard and works perfectly.
    This motherboard has random crashes when in use.

    Here a video I made of the problem.
    Last edited by Max85; 09-30-2017 at 01:40 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array Av8tor2 PC Specs
    Av8tor2 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface 4 and Surface Book
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C 16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 Pro M.2 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Custom Loop (soon)
    CasePhantek
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200P

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    That seems "normal" to me, my system sometimes does the power cycle up to 3 times, then will boot into the OS.

    The power supply I have is the EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2, 80+ PLATINUM, and it has tested good, so I don't think it is the power supply on my system.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Av8tor2 View Post
    That seems "normal" to me, my system sometimes does the power cycle up to 3 times, then will boot into the OS.

    The power supply I have is the EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2, 80+ PLATINUM, and it has tested good, so I don't think it is the power supply on my system.
    My motherboard has random crashes too, default bios settings, zero overclocking. Do you have random crashes too?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Hi,
    I am seeing the exact same thing as in your video, and have tried BIOS versions 0503 (the version by board came with), 0601, 0603 and 0801.
    After power is disconnected then reconnected, the computer resets by itself before powering on again.
    I am also seeing the same thing as in your video with the LEDs.
    My normal sequence is:
    RAM (YELLOW)
    CPU (RED)
    VGA (WHITE)
    BOOT (GREEN)
    but I find that sometimes, similar to what we see in your video, the sequence restarts a few times like " YELLOW, RED --> back to YELLOW, RED, --> back to YELLOW again, RED, WHITE, --> back to YELLOW, RED WHITE, then finally, GREEN.

    I don't think this is normal. Maybe it is, but I've owned many motherboards in my life, including several ASUS boards (last one being an ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0) and it is the first time I come across such behavior, both the fact that the board resets and powers on again after disconnecting power, and the fact that the LEDs boot sequence restarts a couple of times before booting all the way.

    Can anyone advise whether this is an issue with my (and the OP's) boards or are we worrying over nothing?

    EDIT: Just found out that changing the "Next boot after AC power loss" from the default "Normal boot" to Fast boot" has no effect on the first issue (the board resetting then powering again), but seems to fix the issue of the LEDs restarting their sequences multiple times, when Fast booting, they don't restart over.
    Last edited by leyabe; 10-02-2017 at 09:24 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by leyabe View Post
    Hi,

    I don't think this is normal. Maybe it is, but I've owned many motherboards in my life, including several ASUS boards (last one being an ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0) and it is the first time I come across such behavior, both the fact that the board resets and powers on again after disconnecting power, and the fact that the LEDs boot sequence restarts a couple of times before booting all the way.
    Me too, I've had multiple motherboards from Asus and others, this is the first time that I see this behavior.
    I've contacted the Asus support in my country and they told me that It is NOT normal.
    I have other problems too with this motherborad, such as random crashes and the orange audio jack not working properly, so I requested a susbstitution to the Asus Support and they told me to ask to the vendor because Asus offers direct RMA only after 2 years.... but the vendor told me to contact Asus Support directly...
    This never happened to me with other motherboards brands... It's unbelievable...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Have you tried to increase SOC voltage a little?
    Might find a sweet spot that boots anyhow without retest.
    But need to test one small step at a time and might
    take some time to do.
    Start at the voltage that is applied when using Auto
    and try to stay below 1.175 if possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Max85 View Post
    I've contacted the Asus support in my country and they told me that It is NOT normal.
    Thanks for confirming I appreciate. I'll contact support too.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation



    important = 2 single channel ram NOT dual ,,,, 4*dual channel ram NOT quad so you must use real 4 quad channel ram(4 ram in 1 box writen quadchannel on it ) , not 4* dual channell*
    in ryzen you must use only *dual channel , never never use 1*single channel ram , your system cant start , even start will give you tiny freeze

    example true ram for threadripper
    gskill ripjaws4 2800 4*4*

    example true ram for ryzen and all other amd
    geil evo x 3200 2*8
    or
    gskill RGB trident z 3200 2*8

    NOTE=true slot ??? in AMD you must put ram in exact slot , according your motherboard user manual , so before put ram on ramslot see your mobo true ram slot (wrong slot can make system cant start or crash )


    in amd ram is very very very sensetive ,but if you use no1 best ram, you never see even 1 freeze,bluescreen or freeze hang in 1 year !!!
    *
    Last edited by ramin_rostami; 10-05-2017 at 02:11 AM.

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by leyabe View Post
    Thanks for confirming I appreciate. I'll contact support too.
    The system cycling after power on is normal for this platform depending on the settings. As an example, the applied memory ratio and BCLK affects this because DRAM VBOOT needs a cold restart to engage.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by ramin_rostami View Post


    important = 2 single channel ram NOT dual ,,,, 4*dual channel ram NOT quad so you must use real 4 quad channel ram(4 ram in 1 box writen quadchannel on it ) , not 4* dual channell*
    in ryzen you must use only *dual channel , never never use 1*single channel ram , your system cant start , even start will give you tiny freeze

    *
    I'm using a quad channel kit present in the compatibility list of the motherboard.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •