Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array tsx028 PC Specs
    tsx028 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Hero
    Processori7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400mhz CMK16GX4M2A2400C16
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    Graphics Card #2GTX1080
    Storage #1256 SSD
    Storage #22TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master v8
    CaseZalman Z9
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Cold Boot Issues

    Hey guys, brand new build here. I have an interesting issue. I can't not get a single cold boot to work... Everytime I start off a cold boot it will get to where it normally starts to load the OS but then it goes black and goes into a windows repair loop.

    Now, if I boot into the bios and let it sit for 3-5 minutes and then just exit without changing a thing it boots perfectly fine and will run perfect for as long as I need (I have left it on for days at a time.)

    All settings are stock speeds and no overclocking.

    i7 7700k
    1080's SLI
    16GB 2400mhz (8x2)
    EVGA 850w PSU bronze 80
    256GB SSD/2TB HDD
    Asus Maximus Hero IV

    Games and everything runs perfect as if there are no problems, its just trying to boot after its been off for a while.
    It restarts fine. Will boot fine after being turned off for a short period of time.

    It sounds like something needs to literally warm up before it can boot all the way...

    I am not EXTREMELY computer savvy, enough to build a PC and do some pretty basic overclocking.

    Thanks in advance for any responses

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array redone13 PC Specs
    redone13 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Apex
    Processor7700k @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)G. Skill Trident Z 16GB @ 4000MHz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970 @ 1531/2000
    Sound CardPrism Orpheus
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samung Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard Ducky DSX
    Mouse Zowie ZA13
    Headset E-MU Teak
    Headset/Speakers Adam A7X + Sub10
    OS Windows 10 x64
    redone13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Perhaps something to do with memory training? Try fiddling with MRC fastboot and MCH fullcheck. Also check what mode Maximus Tweak is on. It's bizarre that it is happening at 2400MHz and stock settings. If all else fails, maybe Memtest the sticks to rule out the RAM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array tsx028 PC Specs
    tsx028 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Hero
    Processori7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400mhz CMK16GX4M2A2400C16
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    Graphics Card #2GTX1080
    Storage #1256 SSD
    Storage #22TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master v8
    CaseZalman Z9
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    What is your memory kit's model?
    CMK16GX4M2A2400C16

    It is Corsair Vengance LPX, I do believe i remember seeing it on the compatibility list for my the Maximus Hero

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array tsx028 PC Specs
    tsx028 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Hero
    Processori7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400mhz CMK16GX4M2A2400C16
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    Graphics Card #2GTX1080
    Storage #1256 SSD
    Storage #22TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master v8
    CaseZalman Z9
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by redone13 View Post
    Perhaps something to do with memory training? Try fiddling with MRC fastboot and MCH fullcheck. Also check what mode Maximus Tweak is on. It's bizarre that it is happening at 2400MHz and stock settings. If all else fails, maybe Memtest the sticks to rule out the RAM.
    Maximus Tweak is set to "Auto".

    Both MRC Fastboot and MCH Fullcheck were set to auto, I have set them to "Enabled" and will see if that changes anything tomorrow morning (a simple reboot or turning off for short time does not recreate the problem.)

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array redone13 PC Specs
    redone13 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Apex
    Processor7700k @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)G. Skill Trident Z 16GB @ 4000MHz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970 @ 1531/2000
    Sound CardPrism Orpheus
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samung Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard Ducky DSX
    Mouse Zowie ZA13
    Headset E-MU Teak
    Headset/Speakers Adam A7X + Sub10
    OS Windows 10 x64
    redone13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by tsx028 View Post
    Maximus Tweak is set to "Auto".

    Both MRC Fastboot and MCH Fullcheck were set to auto, I have set them to "Enabled" and will see if that changes anything tomorrow morning (a simple reboot or turning off for short time does not recreate the problem.)
    My understanding of MRC Fastboot is that you are skipping memory training if you enable it. You only want to do so once you are sure your memory settings and sticks themselves are stable so try disable first. MCH Fullcheck will cause the system to reboot, retraining the memory until it is stable. Disabled will likely result in a failure to post if something is causing instability.
    Last edited by redone13; 10-05-2017 at 02:01 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    double boot fix

    What I had to do to stop the double boot is go into bios and stop the OC settings. Just turned off the memory overclock which by default is set to auto. XMP is another choice there to verify you are in right place. I set mine to manual and now no more double boots. On down side no more overclock of memory either but I don't notice any difference. I am running Samsung nvme, i9 12 core, and 32 G of ram.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Is there any other fix for this? I'm having this problem as well with a Z270 Maximux IX HERO and 32GB gskill F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW.

    I was running low on ram so I changed from G.SKILL TridentZ 2 x 8GB DDR4 3200 (F4-3200C14D-16GTZR) to G.SKILL TridentZ 2 x 16GB DDR4 3200 (F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW) after verifying it was on the QVL list for the Z270 hero.

    It posts fine when BIOS is defautled, but the second you enable XMP or manual overclock to XMP settings then it will not cold boot and you need to unplug the power, drain the capacitors, apply power and then boot.

    Once booted everything is stable.

    I refuse to not overclock (these are overclocking components that you pay a premium for after all) and will do this cold boot dance until I upgrade my system if needed. But it is such a hassle to not be able to walk up and simply power on your computer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •