Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46
  1. #11
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    You have to be quick. I’ve been complaining about this for awhile now. They pop up different places at different times with a limited quantity of like 10 boards and they go fast. I’ve been searching “ASUS rampage vi extreme” like hourly or close to it for weeks in chrome then hit the shopping tab and view all to see a list. I did it this morning at the crack of dawn and nothing. An hour later Walmart was on the list and I nabbed one for less than anywhere else, tax and free shipping included. Board will be here Monday. Everywhere else is preorder then there is Next Warehoise and Neutron USA that are a bit on the bogus side. One says in stock but when you hit the live inventory update it’s says they are on the way with an ETA that keeps getting pushed out. The other says in stock/MFG direct ship which in other words means we will take your money and it will drop ship in December. I’ve used Next Warehouse before during the Samsung 960 pro debacle where they were way late delivering. The catch? Their standard shipping is free and 3-4 weeks. To get it in a normal fashion like USPS priority your looking at a $60 shipping charge minimum. I’d call them a scam but they do deliver, just gouge on the processing and shipping charges like the 2AM infomercials.*

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    You have to be quick. I’ve been complaining about this for awhile now. They pop up different places at different times with a limited quantity of like 10 boards and they go fast. I’ve been searching “ASUS rampage vi extreme” like hourly or close to it for weeks in chrome then hit the shopping tab and view all to see a list. I did it this morning at the crack of dawn and nothing. An hour later Walmart was on the list and I nabbed one for less than anywhere else, tax and free shipping included. Board will be here Monday. Everywhere else is preorder then there is Next Warehoise and Neutron USA that are a bit on the bogus side. One says in stock but when you hit the live inventory update it’s says they are on the way with an ETA that keeps getting pushed out. The other says in stock/MFG direct ship which in other words means we will take your money and it will drop ship in December. I’ve used Next Warehouse before during the Samsung 960 pro debacle where they were way late delivering. The catch? Their standard shipping is free and 3-4 weeks. To get it in a normal fashion like USPS priority your looking at a $60 shipping charge minimum. I’d call them a scam but they do deliver, just gouge on the processing and shipping charges like the 2AM infomercials.*
    I'm glad you got one!
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Rampage VI Extreme

    I got one on order with Neobits a week ago Thursday. They shipped FedEx Ground out of their CA warehouse. It was set to deliver in OR on Monday. I contacted FedEx and picked it up Saturday at their hub locally. Set it up on Monday, discovered it kept locking up at various times, from bootup to BIOS setup. I had 8 sticks of DDR4 3000 Corsair Dominator memory. Struggled for 7 hours, even being able to install Windows 10, and the system would lockup randomly. Changed different configurations of RAM from 16G to 128G. It would work for a little longer some times and lock up at boot another.

    ASUS tech support didn't have any stock for replacement, and would not do an advance RMA. The availability of this board is ridiculous now, with Newegg claiming they had 60 coming in 2 weeks ago and none did.

    It is extremely disappointing to finally get a board like this and then find it defective with no replacements readily available.

  4. #14
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by eugenelew View Post
    I got one on order with Neobits a week ago Thursday. They shipped FedEx Ground out of their CA warehouse. It was set to deliver in OR on Monday. I contacted FedEx and picked it up Saturday at their hub locally. Set it up on Monday, discovered it kept locking up at various times, from bootup to BIOS setup. I had 8 sticks of DDR4 3000 Corsair Dominator memory. Struggled for 7 hours, even being able to install Windows 10, and the system would lockup randomly. Changed different configurations of RAM from 16G to 128G. It would work for a little longer some times and lock up at boot another.

    ASUS tech support didn't have any stock for replacement, and would not do an advance RMA. The availability of this board is ridiculous now, with Newegg claiming they had 60 coming in 2 weeks ago and none did.

    It is extremely disappointing to finally get a board like this and then find it defective with no replacements readily available.

    Lockups are nearly always RAM
    First question, Is your kit on the QVL list and is it all one kit or combined from multiple kits. This is very important. Kits are binned from the same runs and tested to work well together, anything else is a crap shoot even if its the identical model number. Reading your description I can tell its not on the QVL list as nothing over a 32GB kit is listed for that particular speed.
    Second and even more importantly, did you update the BIOS to 0802? Dram compatibility was one of the key things updated on the BIOS revision, bullet point #4. First thing I do before I even boot a machine for the first time or even put ram or a CPU in is update the BIOS. Just needs the ATX power and a USB drive formatted to fat 32 and the BIOS renamed to R6E.CAP then put it int he BIOS update USB port on the back panel and push and hold the MOBO connected button until it starts flashing, Should see the BIOS LED on the bottom right corner of the board flashing too. Dont need a CPU or RAM installed to update in this fashion.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0802.png 
Views:	60 
Size:	16.4 KB 
ID:	68054


    Here are the QVL Corsair 3000MHz sticks, is yours on it?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair mem.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	108.2 KB 
ID:	68055
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 10-12-2017 at 12:18 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    The most simple thing fix often is go into the DRAM timings and set it from Auto to Mode 1.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  6. #16
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Yep that too.
    I really dont think your MOBO is bad, just need to sort the RAM. If BIOS updates and changing to Mode 1 Dont cut it then start yanking more sticks starting with a single stick then working your way up. Report back and the users here will be happy to help with what they can. There are also several ASUS staff members that check the boards like @Raja.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Motherboard Lockups

    I actually went and swapped the CPU out to eliminate that variable. When I installed the new one, the system was functional with no lockups and stable. It stayed on overnight, and I was able to install Windows 10 and activate it. I'd thought I solved the problem. Then a few days later, the monitor screen would go blank, and would not come back on without a hard reset. The memory I used is not on the QVL list, and this is not the first time I've had a problem with an ASUS board. I had the same memory on a Rampage V Extreme board and when it started to lock up, I RMA'd it with ASUS, and the problem went away. Way too much time wasted troubleshooting this board, and with inconsistent results.

    Yes updated BIOS to latest.

    I have 2 choices now. I have an RMA with Neobits to return the board for a refund, or I can RMA it with ASUS. Afraid to go with ASUS since there is no replacement units available, and they would repair the board. How do you repair a motherboard?

    If I return it to Neobits, I get a refund, but then how long do I have to wait to get another unit?

  8. #18
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by eugenelew View Post
    I actually went and swapped the CPU out to eliminate that variable. When I installed the new one, the system was functional with no lockups and stable. It stayed on overnight, and I was able to install Windows 10 and activate it. I'd thought I solved the problem. Then a few days later, the monitor screen would go blank, and would not come back on without a hard reset. The memory I used is not on the QVL list, and this is not the first time I've had a problem with an ASUS board. I had the same memory on a Rampage V Extreme board and when it started to lock up, I RMA'd it with ASUS, and the problem went away. Way too much time wasted troubleshooting this board, and with inconsistent results.

    Yes updated BIOS to latest.

    I have 2 choices now. I have an RMA with Neobits to return the board for a refund, or I can RMA it with ASUS. Afraid to go with ASUS since there is no replacement units available, and they would repair the board. How do you repair a motherboard?

    If I return it to Neobits, I get a refund, but then how long do I have to wait to get another unit?
    Can you provide a full list of components (include part numbers, please)?

    Also, try the settings in this post: http://www.overclock.net/t/1637027/a...#post_26395928

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Motherboard Lockups

    Rampage VI Extreme (BIOS 0802) - Defaults
    Intel i9 7920X - Defaults
    Corsair Dominator CMD64GX4M4B3000C15, DDR4, 3000MHz, 15-17-17-35, 1.35V Ver4.31 (8 sticks of 16G)
    Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - onboard M.2_1
    (1 Samsung 950 EVO NVMe - DIMM)
    Corsair HX1500i Power supply
    Corsair H115i Water cooler

    System is dismantled now, for return of the motherboard.
    Last edited by eugenelew; 10-18-2017 at 07:07 PM.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Motherboard Lockups 10-18-2017

    Talked to tech support, and they advised me to reinstall the OS. I was about the return the board to the seller, but they threw another condition at me, plus I would not have one if I did. So, I set up the system again, and ran the same OS, and updated Windows 10 to the latest build, 1709. Worked just fine for hours even running ASUS' tuning software and stress tests on the CPU, and it handled it just fine. No issues for awhile, then it hung. Had to push the reset button.

    This system is not stable enough for me to use as my main system, as I do not reboot very often, and leave screens and application up and running all the time. This is getting on my nerves.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •