Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX Hero Cold Start

    Hello, new guy and build here. I have a problem with either the motherboard or something else in my computer. When I press the power button usually for the first time of the day:

    The power button lights up
    The motherboard lights turn on
    Sometimes the water pump lights turn on
    Monitor remains black (power is turned on)
    Keyboard and Mouse lights do not light up (unless I hit a button on the keyboard, then the keyboard will either light up or rapidly pulse like its having a heart attack)

    I usually have to cycle power on it once or twice, then the monitor logo will appear on the screen, and I can start the computer normally. I've been Googling around trying to find others with this same problem and how they fixed it, and it seems to not work for me. I have made sure my BIOS is up-to-date, fast boot turned off, correct drive order. I just don't know what else it could be. If anyone could help, that would be awesome. Build below:

    NZXT S340 Elite Case
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX ROG (x270)
    2 x DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws V 8GB (placed in the 1 and 3 slots per documentation)
    Intel Core i7-7700k (no overclocking)
    Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 250GB (operating system is on this device)
    Seagate Barracuda 4TB HDD
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW2 Gaming iCX
    NZXT Kraken x62-02
    Redragon Gaming Mouse
    Logitech G15 Keyboard
    ASUS PCE-AC68 Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900
    ASUS VG248QE Gaming Monitor

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hi Metknott

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    My first thought is...

    If you're killing power to the board, meaning turning the psu switch off or unplugging it from the wall after you shut it down, you'll get a double boot the next time you start it which is normal. If power is kept to the board it should start on the first boot every time.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    The problem is after I shut it down at night, the next morning when I turn it on, I have to cycle the power multiple times for the computer to actually load. Meaning I do not get the option to go to the BIOS at all, nothing on my screen, just blackness. I am currently on the computer as I am typing this reply, but today I had to cycle the power a total of 6 times before I could have the option to go to the BIOS or even sign into Windows. I'm actually thinking about just leaving the computer on from now on without turning it off, but I know that's not that great either.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,787

    What PSU are you running?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Does the system halt with a specific QCODE on the DEBUG LED? If so, what is the code? And do any of the QLEDs remain lit?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I forgot to list my PSU in the specs. It's a EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3 80+ Gold.

    When the computer is off I get a Q-Code of 00, which is normal. When it's on I get either a 40, A0, and sometimes 80.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Code A0 = Windows has loaded and everything is working normal.
    Code 40 = Wake from the S4 sleep state.
    Code 80 - This is not a common code and I'm not sure what it could be pointing to.

    Disconnect all usb devices except your mouse and keyboard, you could try another keyboard if you have one.

    When you have to recycle it, does it ever give you an overclocking failed message ? - Press F1 to enter UEFI bios settings.

    Have you reset the bios to defaults ?

    Would you have another psu to test with ?

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Code A0 = Windows has loaded and everything is working normal.
    Code 40 = Wake from the S4 sleep state.
    Code 80 - This is not a common code and I'm not sure what it could be pointing to.

    Disconnect all usb devices except your mouse and keyboard, you could try another keyboard if you have one.

    When you have to recycle it, does it ever give you an overclocking failed message ? - Press F1 to enter UEFI bios settings.

    Have you reset the bios to defaults ?

    Would you have another psu to test with ?
    Should I be getting a Q-Code of 40? I have sleep turned off for personal preference. Maybe I'm not fully understanding what a S4 sleep state is.

    Only USB device I have/the only devices connected to the computer are my keyboard and mouse.

    I don't have it overclocked, but I do get the ASUS ROG logo at the start with the wording "Press F1 or DEL to enter UEFI BIOS settings"

    The first day I completed this build this problem happened. I reset it then, but it still is happening.

    I do not have another PSU to test with.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Bump

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    The S4 sleep state is hibernation, try disabling that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •