Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Reported temps are below ambient. With a cooling system that might be able to approach but could never exceed ambient temps.

    Suggests measurement error. The temp reporting itself - in your "ambient" or in your system chassis - must be in error. The numbers are wrong.

    I could understand a liquid cooling system temporarily cooling below ambient, if it had a large thermal mass (lots of liquid inside the rad, loops, and res) which are cooler than ambient when the system first starts up. But not air cooling.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array tr01234 PC Specs
    tr01234 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorAMD 1950X RIPPER

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Reported temps are below ambient. With a cooling system that might be able to approach but could never exceed ambient temps.

    Suggests measurement error. The temp reporting itself - in your "ambient" or in your system chassis - must be in error. The numbers are wrong.

    I could understand a liquid cooling system temporarily cooling below ambient, if it had a large thermal mass (lots of liquid inside the rad, loops, and res) which are cooler than ambient when the system first starts up. But not air cooling.
    I've installed the 0801 bios and updated the OLED FW. The CPU temperature is incorrect. I'm using the 4Ghz profile in the extreme tweaker section.

    I've double checked my external temp sensors, first verifying all report the same temperature and then verifying they are all correct at room temp with a mercury thermometer. The intake air sensor (ambient) reads about 1C high. This is a 17W22 thermistor that came with the MB. The water sensor is dead on balls accurate. This is a Barrow 10K sensor. http://www.barrowint.com/index.php/article/81.html

    Here are my temps at idle running Windows 10 N x64:
    17C - CPU
    23C - INTAKE AIR (Ambient/Room)
    28C - WATER

    The CPU sensor is in error! My guess is it's about 29C. At any-rate, there is NO WAY it can be lower than water temp coming off a cold boot and sitting at idle for 3h.

    17C is lower than the temp has ever been in this house! The thermostat kicks on at 21C.

    Regards,
    Travis

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    You could install a thermal probe on the CPU. Well, on the heatsink or block or backside of the PCB or something, as close as possible to the physical CPU package. Not as accurate, but plus/minus a few degrees is still good enough to let you see if the part is running ~35C or ~55C or ~75C, lol. Not much of an issue when idling Windows but more important when you're running stress tests or other heavy loads.

    I'd prefer the firmware (BIOS) hardware monitor/reporting over software. And I'd prefer things like HWiNFO, CPUID, or GPU-Z over other softwares (including Microbloat Windows itself) for software hardware monitor/reporting.

    I don't run X399/TR4, but my understanding is that AMD volt and temp reporting were all skewed in earliest releases. Not sure how significant this issue was or if it was ever fixed.
    Last edited by Korth; 10-19-2017 at 09:11 PM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    @tr01234

    Extreme Tweaker page > Tweakers Paradise > Sense MI Skew: [Disabled] try that.

    Any chance of HWiNFO screenshot of your system showing:-

    i) tCTL/tDIE
    ii) CPU Sensor
    iii) CPU Socket Sensor
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array caknuckles PC Specs
    caknuckles PC Specs
    MotherboardX399 Asus Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)4x THWD432G3200HC16CDC01 64GB
    Graphics Card #1RX Vega 64 / XFX limited
    Graphics Card #2RX Vega 64 / Sapphire Black
    Graphics Card #3Not yet, but soon as MSRP
    Graphics Card #4Have you seen the Vega power draw?
    Monitor3x Vizio M50-D1
    Storage #12x Samsung 960 Pro 512
    Storage #2Crucial 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerBykski TR4 / OLC
    CaseThermaltake W100 & P100
    Power SupplyEVGA P850 - EVGA P1200
    Keyboard Asus Claymore
    Mouse Asus Spatha
    Headset Sennheiser HD 280 Pro
    Mouse Pad Level 1 Tech
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHitron Technologies

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I would bet that you put 'overclock enhancement' to 'enable'.

    Put it back to 'auto' and your temps will read correct again.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •