Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 96
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorNvidia Surround (5960 x 1080)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro256 GB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Glaive
    Headset Turtle Beach Surround
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk x10 R9000 w/ Plex
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    254

    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme and Aura software

    Does anyone else have issues with this software working correctly on the Extreme? Half the time it will work, the other half it won't load. I Googled it and see some older posts about unplugging the computer to drain the power from the board but this does not work for me. I have had to uninstall and reinstall it twice now to get it to work.
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | EVGA GTX 1080 in SLI (x2) | Nvidia 2D Surround Set-up
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by mpoffo View Post
    Does anyone else have issues with this software working correctly on the Extreme? Half the time it will work, the other half it won't load. I Googled it and see some older posts about unplugging the computer to drain the power from the board but this does not work for me. I have had to uninstall and reinstall it twice now to get it to work.
    Everyone agrees that the Aura software is VERY buggy. Lets hope they keep working on it and give regular updates but I fear that it is not high on their list.

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Works fine for me If I leave the graphics cards out of the equation. This has always been an issue for me on multiple platforms. Sometimes it loads right, sometimes not at all, sometime a reboot etc etc etc etc etc.............
    I like the default profile on the board and intend on leaving that and hoping my light strips will tie into it with no issue. Im pulling the blocks and backs off the graphics cards as they never work in conjuction correctly and there are already enough zones going on, the two rog logos wont be missed.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorNvidia Surround (5960 x 1080)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro256 GB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Glaive
    Headset Turtle Beach Surround
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk x10 R9000 w/ Plex
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    254

    Quote Originally Posted by smithkid View Post
    Everyone agrees that the Aura software is VERY buggy. Lets hope they keep working on it and give regular updates but I fear that it is not high on their list.
    I hope they work on it sooner rather than later. One of the selling points to this board is the cool lighting built in. It would be a shame not to be able to consistently control it due to software issues.
    Last edited by mpoffo; 10-11-2017 at 03:14 AM.
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | EVGA GTX 1080 in SLI (x2) | Nvidia 2D Surround Set-up
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Skunkfoo PC Specs
    Skunkfoo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9 7940x
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill 3733 RGB
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Monitor3x ASUS PG278QR
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900 Snow
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower iRGB Plus 1250W
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Galdius II
    Headset Apple Airpods
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS ROG

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Buggy for me and my Unicorn Build

    I make use of just about every RGB I can in my build and it is buggy as hell!. Some times it works and some times it doesn't and I'm have yet to confirm this or not but it might even be the cause of my computer crashing constantly. No blue screens but a complete hang, videos still on but frozen and no keyboard or mouse input accepted. Aura Version 1.05.18 seems to make it a bit more stable, however, after upgrading to 1.05.18 coincided with the freezing. It would freeze with barely any load and often during startup of various apps configured to run on startup.

    I must say, when the lights work they look amazing, but whats a good looking $13,000+ PC if you cant use it.

    Aura Sync RGB components in play:
    - Rampage VI Extreme
    - ASUS SLI bridge
    - 8 G.Skill RAM Sticks 64 Gig at 3733 Mhz
    - 2 Phanteks FE 1080 Ti blocks
    - 3 Cable Mode LED Strips totaling 75 addressable LEDs
    - ASUS ROG Claymore Keyboard (with number pad)
    - ASUS ROG Gladius 2 Mouse
    - EK Rampage VI MonoBlock (Not yet installed)

    Non Aura RGB
    - Thermaltake Toughpower DPS RGB 1500 Watt PSU
    - 2x Enermax 400ml RGB pump reservoir combo
    - Thermaltake AIO 360 RGB
    - 3x Thermaltake Riing Premium RGB 140 Fans

    Other components of note:
    - i9 7940x
    - 2x Titan Xp
    - 2x Samsung 960 Pro 1TB Raid 0
    - EK Custom Loop (not yet setup)

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Sadly I feel that this software was never fully fleshed out. When you consider all the various components the software is trying to sync up, many OUTSIDE of Asus' control it is amazing that anything more than 2-3 syncing up happens.

    - Motherboard
    - Asus Keyboard
    - Asus Mouse
    - Asus GPU

    All then has to work with:
    - CPU coolers or monoblocks
    - RGB RAM be it Corsair/G.skill
    - RGB LEDs via headers
    - Fans...

    Add in there that in order to run some of these RGB third party devices like the Fans/Ram all have their own software which may not play nicely with Aura.... Lots of coding and crap. :/
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Skunkfoo View Post
    I make use of just about every RGB I can in my build and it is buggy as hell!. Some times it works and some times it doesn't and I'm have yet to confirm this or not but it might even be the cause of my computer crashing constantly. No blue screens but a complete hang, videos still on but frozen and no keyboard or mouse input accepted. Aura Version 1.05.18 seems to make it a bit more stable, however, after upgrading to 1.05.18 coincided with the freezing. It would freeze with barely any load and often during startup of various apps configured to run on startup.

    I must say, when the lights work they look amazing, but whats a good looking $13,000+ PC if you cant use it.

    Aura Sync RGB components in play:
    - Rampage VI Extreme
    - ASUS SLI bridge
    - 8 G.Skill RAM Sticks 64 Gig at 3733 Mhz
    - 2 Phanteks FE 1080 Ti blocks
    - 3 Cable Mode LED Strips totaling 75 addressable LEDs
    - ASUS ROG Claymore Keyboard (with number pad)
    - ASUS ROG Gladius 2 Mouse
    - EK Rampage VI MonoBlock (Not yet installed)

    Non Aura RGB
    - Thermaltake Toughpower DPS RGB 1500 Watt PSU
    - 2x Enermax 400ml RGB pump reservoir combo
    - Thermaltake AIO 360 RGB
    - 3x Thermaltake Riing Premium RGB 140 Fans

    Other components of note:
    - i9 7940x
    - 2x Titan Xp
    - 2x Samsung 960 Pro 1TB Raid 0
    - EK Custom Loop (not yet setup)

    Trying to get you the latest version of Aura. FWIW, if you're using other vendor RGB control software, it may interfere with Aura. See if you still get freezes if you use Aura on its own. If you do, uninstall all RGB related software, and see if the system still freezes. If it does, then its not related to the software.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array AkaNe0 PC Specs
    AkaNe0 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Formula
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G.skill Trident-Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    CaseOpenBenchtable
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME Platinum 1000W
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse ROG Pugio
    AkaNe0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    566

    Quote Originally Posted by Skunkfoo View Post
    I make use of just about every RGB I can in my build and it is buggy as hell!. Some times it works and some times it doesn't and I'm have yet to confirm this or not but it might even be the cause of my computer crashing constantly. No blue screens but a complete hang, videos still on but frozen and no keyboard or mouse input accepted. Aura Version 1.05.18 seems to make it a bit more stable, however, after upgrading to 1.05.18 coincided with the freezing. It would freeze with barely any load and often during startup of various apps configured to run on startup.

    I must say, when the lights work they look amazing, but whats a good looking $13,000+ PC if you cant use it.

    Aura Sync RGB components in play:
    - Rampage VI Extreme
    - ASUS SLI bridge
    - 8 G.Skill RAM Sticks 64 Gig at 3733 Mhz
    - 2 Phanteks FE 1080 Ti blocks
    - 3 Cable Mode LED Strips totaling 75 addressable LEDs
    - ASUS ROG Claymore Keyboard (with number pad)
    - ASUS ROG Gladius 2 Mouse
    - EK Rampage VI MonoBlock (Not yet installed)

    Non Aura RGB
    - Thermaltake Toughpower DPS RGB 1500 Watt PSU
    - 2x Enermax 400ml RGB pump reservoir combo
    - Thermaltake AIO 360 RGB
    - 3x Thermaltake Riing Premium RGB 140 Fans

    Other components of note:
    - i9 7940x
    - 2x Titan Xp
    - 2x Samsung 960 Pro 1TB Raid 0
    - EK Custom Loop (not yet setup)
    You can download the latest v1.05.25 version of AURA here - the newest version will be updated very soon on the X299 pages, so you can use the link for now.

    This new version solve some of the stability issues that were caused previously.

    Please try it out and let us know how it goes.
    And don't forget, Keep pushing it !

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array smithkid PC Specs
    smithkid PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 3
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG GTX 1080 STRIX O8G
    Monitor7 various
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2WD 1TB Blue M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerAquacomputer NEXT cuplex kryos vision cu/cu
    CaseLianli PC-T70FX includes T70-1
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard FILCO Majestouch Convertible 2 BT/USB 104 Key - Cherry Brown
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset/Speakers Mackie
    OS W10
    Network RouterTP-Link ER-5120
    smithkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by AkaNe@Asus View Post
    You can download the latest v1.05.25 version of AURA here - the newest version will be updated very soon on the X299 pages, so you can use the link for now.

    This new version solve some of the stability issues that were caused previously.

    Please try it out and let us know how it goes.
    Definitely a better GUI and easier to use but still a long way to go. Settings get lost after a few reboots but I am happy if there is a least one or 2 guys at ASUS working on it.

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Still patchy. Have next to nothing on it have issues. I went through the list just to see different effects and most failed. It overrides the armory software for the core keyboard and spatha even though I don't have them linked. Without fail if I make any change I have to go back to armory and put the mouse and keyboard back to where it was. Whats more is that changes it does make to them do not reflect what is going on in the Aura, not even remotely close.

    What I have on it
    RVIE
    ASUS SLI bridge
    EKWB monoblock
    1 60cm bitfenix RGB strip.

    Once I leave the default to get back to it I have to unplug everything leaving only the MOBO, reboot, change it back to default, shut down, reconnect the other devices then boot. Otherwise any change goes to red and stays there.

    Im not understanding how software that has been out for so long can still be in the state of disrepair it is. Whats sad is I can install a NZXT controller and the cam software and it runs everything perfectly except of course the MOBO. Is this a software or hardware problem? Maybe cheat and reverse engineer another controller and incorporate that into the MOBO builds or have a look at their software to see what it is they are doing right. This is not an isolated incident. This is 3 different boards all failing in the RGB dept. Basically Im stuck with messing with it until I find something that is acceptable then remember the sequence it took to get there as often as soon as the machine is restarted Ill have to run the sequence again.

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •