Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Windows 10 not using full amount of RAM

    I wanting to know why windows is reporting 32GB (31.7GB usable)? since it doesn’t have embedded*
    its reported correct in bios and i ve set the DRAM Frequency and timming manually

    Motherboard:Asus TUF X299 Mark 1

    **Thanks *

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    it happens on my FX processor too. 16 GB (15.9 GB Usable).

    why? i don't know. long ago i used to worry about this and ran memtest like an overzealous freak. all tests passed.

    you'll get over it after some time. (though i guess, thinking back, i'm kinda interested again as of why that happened. hmm )
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    It's collectively called "system reserved" or "system overhead" memory.
    Some occupied by running firmcode, some shadowing ROM (because SDRAM is much faster than NVRAM), some used for I/O buffers and paging, some for DMA hooks and IRQ lookup tables and low-level caching, some addressing shared with GPU(s), some mirrored onto virtual memory (stored on drive), some allocated to PCIe bus, some "slack" lost between protected/virtualized memory partitions, etc.

    It's partly firmware, partly operating system software. The basic idea is that a lot of hardware/firmware/software interfaces through shared memory buffers to maximize performances. You can disable a lot of options in BIOS to "free up" more of this memory but then you diminish some specific performances.

    I've seen old (x86) systems with ridiculously high overheads, only 3GB available of the 4GB installed memory. I've seen other (x64) systems which "lose" only 256MB of 64GB installed memory. WinOS bloat is bothersome but nothing to be done about it if you wanna run Windows. Otherwise, I don't mind letting the system allocate a fraction of a GB towards best possible system performance, lol.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    oooh. nice. TIL.
    thanks Korth.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    There have always been "memory optimizer" types of programs which promise to free up more memory resources and increase software performances.

    The ones which aren't snake oil usually work by running some sort of data compression in memory or some sort of defrag in memory. They actually can be very useful on systems with very little available RAM or systems running buggy memory-leaky programs. They're basically mostly harmless and utterly worthless on any machine which has a healthy amount of installed memory (4GB~8GB or more). They might indeed free up about as much memory as their runcode occupies, lol.

    Tightly packed and encoded (even encrypted) data in memory makes nightmarish forensic data recovery, a bane for data/backup recovery attempts, a boon for tinfoil-hat paranoids.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for the information. I ve come from 4th gen system and was wounderimg whats using it since there no intergated graphics

    I also notice theres no system beeps on this board so only way i know its going to boot is my keyboard and mouse light up *

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    that's probably because you lack this thing plugged into the motherboard
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7158JrlVinL._SL1500_.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	85.4 KB 
ID:	68052
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •