Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Maximus IX Extreme will not power on or post

    Hi Everyone,

    I just finished a new build with the Max IX Extreme and when I hit the power button the lights on the board light up and the fans on the video card jump "but don't stay running" and thats as far as it gets. None of the fans turn on the water pump doesn't run nothing but lights. Just seems like all I get is some lights and thats it. Was hoping someone would have run into this issue before. The psu is good, the water pump is good, vid card is good and the only other thing connected is the Raidar Express PCIe drive.

    Sys specs are:

    Maximus IX Extreme
    i7 7700k
    Gskill TridentZ 4133MHz
    GTX 1080ti 11GB
    Raidar Express PCIe HDD
    1000W Silverstone Stider PSU

    Any ideas or suggestions would be great and thanks much.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    I know you aren’t going to want to hear this but the best thing you can do is pull it all out of the case and set the board on the box it came in and start with thing at a time. What a code are you ending with?*

    You also will not be able to boot from that PCIe Drive. *

  3. #3

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Thanks for the input guy's. Turned out to be a bad PSU cable. Only now everything seems to be getting power, except for the fans aren't spinning up and not getting a vid signal. Im hooked up with the display ports from card to mobo. The keyboard and mouse are not lighting up either. I put that Raidar drive in just to see if it will show in the bios. Im waiting on a M.2 drive to install the os on. For now Im just trying to get into the bios so I can poke around and see whats going on in there. I do know the card works because Ive put it in the rig this one is replacing a few times now. Im getting 00 for codes. Only thing is I don't have a speaker hooked up to the mobo so I don't know if Im getting any beep codes. Need to get one. I thought about updating the bios, but I really don't want to do that until I get a signal to the monitor. Think maybe I should try an HDMI cable instead of the display port? I can also hear the DVD Rom start up. Is there mobo setting I may be missing. I did check the dip switches and one was not in the default off position so I moved to the right spot. Sorry, but I forgot which one it was. I think it was the RSVD switch. I have 1 fan connected to the CHA_FAN1 and one connected to CHA_FAN2 and I have 4 more connected to the RAD2A,B,C and D and they are pwm. Not sure what else I can offer for information. So if you have questions or anything else let me know please. I just know Im missing something because Im pretty sure the hardware checks out, just not positive about that though.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    No Sir no QLED lights. However I did make a bit more progress. I manually cleared the bios by removing the mobo batt and shorting it out. You know old school **** LOL. Anyway, now all the fans are running, but still no video signal and the Logitech mouse/keyboard does not light up. However I have a USB hub connected the keyboard and the light on it is on, which to means to me it is getting power obviously. Right? Do you think maybe I should try using a HDMI cable instead of the Display Port cable? The RAM is on the qualified vendors list so I don't think that would be it. Im a running out of ideas here Chino man.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Hi Graphite

    Try removing the usb hub and try different usb ports with your mouse and keyboard.

    You could try other monitor cables as you suggest and also try with the onboard gpu to see if you get display.

    Try clearing the cmos and let your ram at defaults (2133MHz) for now.

    You could try updating the bios with the bios flashback feature.

    Anymore progress ?

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Graphite

    Try removing the usb hub and try different usb ports with your mouse and keyboard.

    You could try other monitor cables as you suggest and also try with the onboard gpu to see if you get display.

    Try clearing the cmos and let your ram at defaults (2133MHz) for now.

    You could try updating the bios with the bios flashback feature.

    Anymore progress ?
    Hi Nate,

    So in order:
    Tried moving to different usb ports "no go".
    Just tried swapping to a HDMI cable "no go".
    As stated above I cleared the cmos both the old school way and the mobo button "no go" however after clearing cmos the fans did start working.
    The RAM is running at the stock speed of 4133MHz and without getting into the bios I don't know if XMP is enabled or not. Don't know anything really.
    Havent updated the BIOS yet because I would prefer having video display when I do it. Thinking about doing anyway though now.
    Thank you for the suggestions though, do you have any more?...

    Im thinking I may have to take the mobo out, but if I was getting some kind of CPU error or RAM I would think the QLED lights would tell ya that, but then again maybe not. Really need to find a mobo speaker. I could be getting some beep codes and not even know it. Guess Im off to Fry's to see if I can find one. Have you guy's heard of anyone else having this kind of issue before?

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    If you haven't updated the bios, that would be my next suggestion.

    Double check the pcie power cables are connected. If you have the Strix 1080 Ti, when properly connected you should see a white light for each cable just above in the cut out of the back plate.

    Have you tried the onboard gpu with a displayport and HDMI cable ?

    To update the bios:

    1) Format an empty usb flash drive to .FAT32
    2) Download the bios file from the ASUS Suppuer Center.
    3) Extract the bios file to the usb flash drive.
    4) Rename the bios file to M9E.CAP
    5) Insert the usb flash drive into the ROG Connect port.
    6) Press and hold the bios flashback button (Blue) until it starts to flash.
    7) Flashing should get faster as it goes and should take about 90 seconds to complete, once flashing stops, start your pc.

    It will restart 2 or 3 times on the first boot after a bios update.

    ASUS Support Center - Bios version 1009 is the latest.

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...Desk_Download/

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Graph1te View Post
    No Sir no QLED lights. However I did make a bit more progress. I manually cleared the bios by removing the mobo batt and shorting it out. You know old school **** LOL. Anyway, now all the fans are running, but still no video signal and the Logitech mouse/keyboard does not light up. However I have a USB hub connected the keyboard and the light on it is on, which to means to me it is getting power obviously. Right? Do you think maybe I should try using a HDMI cable instead of the Display Port cable? The RAM is on the qualified vendors list so I don't think that would be it. Im a running out of ideas here Chino man.
    Does your system halt at the 00 QCODE still?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •