Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array mkanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Stuttering, lower frame rate during Cutscenes & SATA CPU Offloading

    Asus Z97 Deluxe
    Intel Core i7‑4790K @4.40GHz
    EVGA 1080ti sc2
    1929x1980 @60Hz + vsync + triple buffering
    SSHD 4TB Hybrid drive
    32GB RAM

    I noticed that the only time any of my games drop below 60fps or stutter is during Cutscenes. When I first got my PC, I focused on getting the fastest possible throughout on my SSHD drive in Crystal Disk benchmarking tool (without considering CPU Offloading and how it would affect real 3D games WHILE doing heavy HDD loading during Cutscenes).

    I would definitely rather load games a little slower without affecting GPU/CPU sensitive rendering, if I can have that flexibility.

    I am hoping some experienced Asus gamers could recommend BIOS and Windows settings that might help Cutscenes with heavy HDD loading.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi mkanet

    Most of the time that's just how cutscenes are, cutscenes can be stuttery even if it's showing 60 FPS, some games run cutscenes at 30FPS.

    II's nothing to worry about really, I focus mainly on actual gameplay.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    This is another unfortunate example of synthetic benchmarks being not equal to real-world (gaming) performance, lol.

    I can only suggest:
    - replace the SSHD with a decent SSD ... costs money but you only really need it for system/boot/cache (and can keep the SSHD installed for everything else), so even a puny 60GB or 120GB should be plenty.
    - partition some memory (maybe 16GB or so) into a ROG RAMDisk ... and copy/install your game folders onto it ... ROG RAMDisk may or may not work on your older ASUS mobo, but if it doesn't then other RAM disk software is inexpensive ... alternately, you can try ROG RAMCache.
    - install Intel® Optane™ ... I think it's a ripoff, to be honest, because for the same price you can just get a proper SSD, but since you currently lack a proper SSD you could benefit from Optane caching ... and I admit I'm uncertain whether it's compatible with pre-Skylake platforms, sorry.
    Last edited by Korth; 10-07-2017 at 04:46 PM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array mkanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Yes, it seems like most gamers just shrug it off; and leave this issue alone. I doubt that's how these Cutscenes were intended to be displayed by developers.

    I can't help but notice WHEN there's a burst of HDD activity, framerate drops from 60fps to 30fps, at least on my setup. Also stuttering happens exactly the same time there's bursts of HDD activity. I'm almost certain if these Cutscenes were to playback again in RAM, cached, these issues would go away.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    614

    yes, but at the same time, applying devil's advocate logic, won't the devs also say: if everybody put my game on ssd, these problems will go away.

    (interested, and curious about your reasoning)
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array mkanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    PS:. I use a vert fast Samsung 850 Pro SSD for Windows Boot/System/Apps... But it doesn't have enough room to store my games.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •