Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    New ASUS Z370-E Build, Won't Post

    Hey guys!

    I know there's probably a bunch of these threads, but any help would be grateful.

    I've got an ASUS Rog Strix Z370-E with an i5-8400, EVGA Supernova G3 650W 80gold and 1 stick of 8gb of DDR4-3000 memory.

    I haven't listed the rest of the components because I've troubleshooted up to the point where I'm breadboxing, and I've been going down this checklist, and this is all I have plugged in at the moment. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/26...video-problems

    The weird thing is usually when I see 'won't post' is that the USB won't work. But I have plugged in a Corsair K95 and all of the lights lit up, so the USBs are getting power somehow.

    Some other things I have tried that come to mind are all 3 of my mobo's output options, DP, DVI & HDMI, and removing a stick of ram to get my mobo to at least beep but no luck.

    My thought has come down to two things, either that somehow, the bios hasn't been updated to support the CPU, or the more likely, my CPU or PSU is DOA.

    Thanks again for your help guys, I appreciate it.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Bump

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I am sure the CPU is compatible, I installed a 8400 in a Hero Wifi yesterday without issue
    what heatsink are you using? I would suspect item 11 of the guide you posted, remove the heatsink and CPU to check socket pins with a magnifying glass, check heatsink mount is straight
    Do you have the memory stick in the socket recommended in the manual?
    clear cmos and use default bios settings?
    Patience as it can take a day or 2 for reply's on the forums

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,718

    Is your memory on the QVL list for that motherboard?
    What is the exact memory brand/part?

    Can you test the PSU in another computer or with a PSU tester?
    Inspect the 24-pin EATX12V and 8-pin EATX12V connectors, motherboard-side pins might be damaged from force, unsoldered PSU-side pins/crimps could be disconnected or "loose" inside their housings (at either end if they're modular cables). You can test cable/pin continuity with a DMM, you can backprobe with a DMM to test if pins are receiving power.

    Onboard speaker/piezo is not included with most motherboards these days, sadly, stupidly, but plug-in parts can be purchased.
    I can't tell if your motherboard comes with a speaker and if there are any beep codes then you can't hear them without a speaker.
    (Unless, of course, you hear a brief beep during startup, in which case you obviously have a speaker, lol.)

    Is the standby PWR_LED (green?) lit when system is plugged in?
    Are any of the Q-LEDs - BOOT (green), VGA (white), DRAM (yellow), CPU (red) - ever lit during POST attempts or POST halts?
    Are the POWER/RESET LEDs (or HDD LEDs) ever lit during boot, when pressed, when held?

    The board will not boot with the CLRTC jumper in the wrong position (bridge pins 1-2 to clear CMOS/RTC RAM, otherwise leave unbridged).

    Best to have the CPU_OV jumper disabled (bridge pins 1-2) when troubleshooting, only enable (bridge pins 2-3) when overclocking.

    Is the motherboard CR2032 battery present, properly connected, and providing ≥3.0V?

    Does the system boot (with errors) when keyboard/mouse are not connected?
    Last edited by Korth; 10-13-2017 at 12:27 PM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    No worries! I appreciate any help at all. I'll answer both of y'alls right here.

    I've tried two heatsinks, first a Hyper 212 EVO then the stock after I checked to make sure the CPU was in right. Also when I inspected the CPU i didn't see any bent pins.

    I have a memory stick in the A2 slot, which is the manual's recommended, *but I've also tried all of the other slots as well with two sticks.
    * I've cleared the cmos by both jumping the two plugs and removing the battery for 10 minutes.

    The exact brand is Corsair Vengence DDR4-3000. CMK16GX4M2B3000C15, which I actually don't see any DDR4-3000 sticks on the QVL. While that is a potential problem, it doesn't even beep without RAM.

    (Side note, the manual lists memory support from DDR4-4000 down to 2133, but the QVL only shows down to DDR4-3200? Why is that?)
    ** I have a PSU Tester coming in the mail in a few hours, so I'll be able to get back to you on that in a bit.

    I bought one of those tiny motherboard speakers at a local store, I didn't get a beep. I figured if I took out all of my RAM the computer would've at least beeped in protest, but no luck.

    The standby PWR_LED is actually orange, not green, maybe thats something? Manual doesn't say what color the light should be.
    *The Q-LED's don't show up at all.
    I'll also double check the CPU_OV jumper where it is in a bit, but I've left it in its default position.**

    Oddly enough the CLRTC jumper area only has two pins instead of the usual 3 with a jumper, so I don't have a jumper on it at the moment.

    CR2032 is the circular battery right? It's in there, and connected, I'm not sure how to check if its providing wattage however.

    The system does not boot when keyboard/mouse are not connected.


    Thanks so much you guys, appreciate the help.*
    Last edited by Vissari; 10-13-2017 at 05:35 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    An update: I tested the PSU with a PSU tester and all of the readings were normal.[ATTACH=CONFIG]68079[/[ATTTACH]
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos IMG_0826.jpg  


  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    do the fans spin when you turn the rig on

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by mandomagic View Post
    do the fans spin when you turn the rig on
    Yes they do.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I just finished a build and accidentally used the pcie cables instead of the 8 pin cpu cable. Lights would go on but no fans. No post.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by mandomagic View Post
    I just finished a build and accidentally used the pcie cables instead of the 8 pin cpu cable. Lights would go on but no fans. No post.
    I thought about that, but the cables on my psu are labled for CPU, gpu etc, so I've only been using the CPU one.

    *

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •