Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Stress Test Application - without AVX

    Edit:

    I'll just try to start from scratch.

    What is a good stress test application without AVX? I'm trying to establish a baseline overclock.
    Last edited by Dtfkev; 10-13-2017 at 10:14 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    I would perhaps have a look at your memory voltages, SA and VCCIO.

    It's can be an absolute pain to get the SA and VCCIO voltages right. Too low or too high voltages on these two things can make things unstable.

    I hope that helps.
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoda View Post
    I would perhaps have a look at your memory voltages, SA and VCCIO.

    It's can be an absolute pain to get the SA and VCCIO voltages right. Too low or too high voltages on these two things can make things unstable.

    I hope that helps.
    Gotcha. I haven't even made it that far into the guide yet. Still trying to find a stable core / voltage OC.

    I'm not sure how I would go about stressing to test SA / VCCIO being how I can't make it 30 seconds into real bench with stock clock & voltages on CPU lol
    Last edited by Dtfkev; 10-13-2017 at 08:24 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    So even resetting it back to stock clocks isn't working, is that with XMP on?

    You might have to go back to BIOS defaults and retest. No point in overclocking if the base settings aren't stable with XMP off.

    If I'm not mistaken Real Benchs first test is based on CPU clocks and memory frequency. Which would explain why its crashing if your memory isn't set correctly.

    I would deffo read the whole guide.

    I would pay close attention to the VCCIO and SA voltages as mentioned earlier but also the LLC settings.

    Did your Gskill memory come in a box? My Gskill box had the memory voltage written on it at least.
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Auto voltages can be set too high. For example my Gskill memory is rated to run on 1.35V but when I turned on XMP the system decided to set it too 1.5v which is bonkers high.

    I set this manually back to 1.35V no problems but I would deffo find out what model of GSkill 3200 DDR4 you have and find the rating for yours (Maybe its on the GSkill website).
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoda View Post
    So even resetting it back to stock clocks isn't working, is that with XMP on?

    You might have to go back to BIOS defaults and retest. No point in overclocking if the base settings aren't stable with XMP off.

    If I'm not mistaken Real Benchs first test is based on CPU clocks and memory frequency. Which would explain why its crashing if your memory isn't set correctly.

    I would deffo read the whole guide.

    I would pay close attention to the VCCIO and SA voltages as mentioned earlier but also the LLC settings.

    Did your Gskill memory come in a box? My Gskill box had the memory voltage written on it at least.
    With all bios settings to default / auto. I can run real bench just fine.

    When I change the following I was able to run real bench for 1 hour without issues.
    AI overlock tuner Manual
    Sync all cores
    50 Core
    LLC @ .01
    Manual voltage at 1.35

    However, if I change manual voltage to adaptive 1.35 I can't get real bench to run longer than 30 seconds with anything higher then a 45 core clock.

    The Gskill memory was brand new when purchased. I have timing and voltages if I needed to input them manually.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Does realbench use AVX? Maybe I need to just apply an offset to start?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Yoda PC Specs
    Yoda PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware A17
    MotherboardAsus ROG Apex IX
    Processor7700k (Overclocked) @ 5.2 GHZ
    Memory (part number)Gkill Trident Z 3200 DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti Hybrid FTW3
    Sound CardAsus Essense STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q (1440p @ 165hz) , Benq (1080p)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 250GB, Samsung 960 EVO M2 250 GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO SSD 500GB, WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair Air 740
    Power SupplyEVGA 850W G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Headset Razor Hammerhead Pro V2
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers AKG K702 and Astro A40
    OS Classified
    Network RouterClassified
    Accessory #1 Second Gaming Rig: Alienware Area51 R2 X99 5820K (Gigabyte Xtreme Rev:2.0. 1080GTX),
    Accessory #2 Eizo FG2421 (240Hz - Turbo)

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    1.35v on the CPU should be more than enough for even 48 core clock I believe on most 7700K samples.

    Have you got any type of monitoring software that shows you what your CPU core volts actually are while under load?

    You might want to have a look into something like HWinfo64 or something that records things like CPU Volts, VCCIO, SA and a mass of other readings with Minimum, Max and current readings. Obviously check their terms and conditions first to ensure you are ok with downloading and installing their software.

    Maybe report back here once you know what those values are showing. I think the labels are "Vcore", " "VCCSA" and "CPU VCCIO/IMC" under the HWInfo.

    On my Apex mobo I have mode 5 set for LLC which minimises the VDroop under CPU load.

    It's getting late here m8, so i will check back tomorrow. Good luck Marine!

    Edit
    Try a negative offset on AVX if you like but at 45 clock that shouldn't be needed. Maybe pop in 3 which will drop your core by 3 example 48 clock will drop to 45 when AVX is being used.
    Last edited by Yoda; 10-13-2017 at 09:37 PM.
    Your ass is grass, smoke it I will!

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    I think I'm just going to start over.

    What's a good stress test application that doesn't use AVX?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •