Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yes, i am in the processes of sourcing a power brick to test with now. Hopefully that is just the issue, i would hate for it to be an issue with the AC socket on the computer or something similar.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,104

    Sure anyone with a Multi meter can check out your power brick, any computer or electronics shop would check it for free or very little charge. Another thing to check, it the green light on the brick remaining light up when the power fails and your battery takes over?
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Sure anyone with a Multi meter can check out your power brick, any computer or electronics shop would check it for free or very little charge. Another thing to check, it the green light on the brick remaining light up when the power fails and your battery takes over?
    you mean: using the multimeter and stick one into the powerbrick plug, and the other touching the outer metal part to test voltage?
    nice.

    (hadn't thought of that until you mentioned it).

    let's see, my basic electricity lesson. uhhh... (these things output DC power right?)
    i'm taking my own powerbrick as guinea pig
    P = V.I

    if V = 19.5 V
    and I = 7.7 A
    P = 150.15 W (powerbrick says 150 w output. this checks out)

    i don't have my digital multimeter with me (left it at office). if i want to make sure the powerbrick outputs power as it should:
    a. first test Voltage reading, it should be 19.5 V
    b. how do you test out Amperage or Watt?

    P.S.: i don't remember the all knobs on the multimeter. i only remember there's the Voltage testing knob. is there a knob for Amp or watt testing?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    4,104

    I found this
    I would think that if the AC adapter is putting out the correct Voltage and Amp it should be ok, I would also be moving wire around too looking for a short or brake near the connectors trying to duplicate the AC adapter failing.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I am having the same problem. The laptop worked fine for one year, but all of a sudden this started to happen.

    Did you try to play one of those games on the battery alone, and see what happens? If my assumptions are correct, the laptop will turn itself off.

    My whole story: One day i turned on the laptop and the battery was dead, 0% wouldnt charge. Every time i loaded a high demanding game the laptop would shut off. I bought a new battery, so now it normally doesnt shut off, but it does flip between battery and AC when I am playing games. Its very, very annoying and it shouldnt be like that.

    I just opened the laptop today and cleaned the fans again (did it when i replaced the battery). Nothing, still the same problem.

    Hope we can solve this because its more or less a browsing machine now.
    Last edited by ufotheswe; 10-24-2017 at 01:23 AM.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Quote Originally Posted by ufotheswe View Post
    I am having the same problem. The laptop worked fine for one year, but all of a sudden this started to happen.

    Did you try to play one of those games on the battery alone, and see what happens? If my assumptions are correct, the laptop will turn itself off.

    My whole story: One day i turned on the laptop and the battery was dead, 0% wouldnt charge. Every time i loaded a high demanding game the laptop would shut off. I bought a new battery, so now it normally doesnt shut off, but it does flip between battery and AC when I am playing games. Its very, very annoying and it shouldnt be like that.

    I just opened the laptop today and cleaned the fans again (did it when i replaced the battery). Nothing, still the same problem.

    Hope we can solve this because its more or less a browsing machine now.
    I would suggest you to take your product to our local service center for comprehensive inspection and help you to fix the problem. Sorry for the trouble.
    The following is the contact information:
    http://www.asus.com/support/Service-...All-Countries/

    Also you can contact the local service center for help. The following is the contact information:
    http://www.asus.com/support/CallUs#

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by OnePiece@ASUS View Post
    I would suggest you to take your product to our local service center for comprehensive inspection and help you to fix the problem. Sorry for the trouble.
    The following is the contact information:
    http://www.asus.com/support/Service-...All-Countries/

    Also you can contact the local service center for help. The following is the contact information:
    http://www.asus.com/support/CallUs#
    Thank you for your reply but I am living in a country where the "global" warranty doesnt apply (Brazil), so I am stuck to try to fix the problem myself.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •