Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    7700k OC mystery

    Hi everyone.

    My 7700k runs at 4.7ghz, 1.26V
    Ram 3600mhz, 1.35V (manualy set)

    Usually I play witcher 3 all the evening no problem.

    Yesterday I have installed HOB. A sega 16-bit game in terms of graphics against the witcher.

    2 strange things are happening:

    1. CPU temp is the same as in witcher. (But after experiencing the "heat-spike issue" I can understand this). 70-73c on Core / 56-65 CPU temp.
    2. After 30-40 minutes of playing the PC freezes dead. This I can not understand. Witcher, doom, play well, but a simple game causes BSODs.

    I have set the XMP profile on (so I can use full speed of RAM) and have set the CPU to 4.6Ghz @ 1.25V adaptive (Or should I set to Auto?).
    No freezes....



    *Back in the days I had a 3770k. That system was freezing too, with XMP turned on. So current freezes are 99% related to OCing.



    Advice plz!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    The OGRE game engine is poorly-optimized for high-end GPU cards with lots of VRAM, lol, I had similar issues with Torchlight 2.

    Try running graphics on iGPU.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Clear your CMOS and run your system at stock. If the BSOD still happens, it's the game. If not, it's your OC.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Clear your CMOS and run your system at stock. If the BSOD still happens, it's the game. If not, it's your OC.
    It's my OC.
    4.6 Ghz @ 1.25v are running normal.

    Korth
    So this problem might only appear in this game? If so, after finishing it I can return to higher OC.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Depends on how stable your overclock is. Remember that part of stability testing involves real-word usage. Take stress tests with a pinch of salt.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    My "daily 4.7ghz" OC was 100% stable before this new game.

    So can I count this case as a badly optimised game?
    Last edited by Links; 10-17-2017 at 03:14 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    For me the problem only occurred in TL2. And in TL and Hob, which I didn't actually play (much) but only downloaded to test and address this performance issue. They all use OGRE engine.

    My workaround was play the game in a KVM instance, a Win7x64/iGPU desktop running in its own window (on another monitor). An overkill technical approach, but it works fine. TL2 worked flawlessly with i7-7700K at 4.8GHz around 65C while running 1080p off Intel HD 630 iGPU. While TL2 sustained 85C temps while running same clock off x8/x8 Titan Xp (which is otherwise capable of running Unigine benchmarks, Rise of Tomb Raider, and Crysis 3 at 1440p around 60C).

    I never use adaptive voltages. I prefer constant predictability and stability over the chance of squeezing out a few extra MHz.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    Thanx for such a detailed answer!

    So I guess we can call it a game issue.
    "Glad" that I'm not the only person with a pretty high CPU temp in a simple game.

    I am adviced to use adaptive not for the extra Mhz, but for less heat.
    Do You advice to use manual voltage?
    My previous 7700k was running 4.8 fine, but the current one doesn't want to , even @ 1.285V.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    Hi Links

    Adaptive mode will save power, you'll have much lower temps at idle and will help your cpu last longer. I delidded my 7700k and run in manual mode.

    I post alot of videos, I don't know if you've seen any but here's one, I'm sure you know what all the numbers mean.


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    It is a strange result. 4C/8T CPU in practice is more like 5C/5T running games. With one thread running linux OS, one running hypervisor/VM, one running Win7 in the WM, plus extra work in the CPU package with iGPU going ... still faster and cooler for me than having full CPU on game with a pair of high-end GPU cards.

    Easy enough to just try it yourself, enable iGPU (and install iGPU drivers, if you haven't), disable PCIe, launch the game. If it doesn't work for you then reverse your changes. It's only a pain if you have to switch your monitor cable each time.

    Adaptive voltage has advantages, uses more power when needed, uses less power overall, with good cooling it consistently sustains higher clocks. I prefer to not use it because I don't trust "smart" automation and I don't like variance. And I'm "softcore" ROG, I don't like pushing parts to their extremes because they tend to just end up requiring more time and attention and burning hotter and brighter and burning out faster. Adaptive voltage is a popular choice for good reason, and a good argument can be made for adaptive voltage actually being gentler on your CPU in the long run, but the tradeoff for a few hundred more MHz I don't really need is not for me.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •