cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS - where is your WiFi patch for KRACK security vulnerability?

BizzyB
Level 7
I have both an ASUS RT-AC3100 and an ASUS PCE-AC88. Let me preface this by saying I work in the IT Security industry. I understand the risk to my home network is low simply based on opportunity, time, and physical proximity, and that the major risk is public or enterprise networks. However, it's somewhat disconcerting to hear that many manufacturers have already patched, or have patches coming shortly, and not a peep out of ASUS. I love my networking equipment, but I do expect a commitment to security and a timely response to critical vulnerabilities, especially at the price premium paid. I've been unable to find anything anywhere on plans by ASUS to address this, so please point me in the right direction if I've missed it. I don't exactly expect an immediate patch, but I do expect some communication and timeframe for deployment.
10 REPLIES 10

hawki
Level 7
self-deleted by hawki

MasterC
Community Admin
Community Admin
Hi BizzyB,

In case you still haven't come across our statement, this is where we're at:

ASUS is aware of the recent WPA2 vulnerability issue. We take security and your privacy seriously, so we are working towards a solution as quickly as possible. In the meantime, we want to help clarify the severity of the potential threat, and let our valued customers know the appropriate steps to take in order to avoid being compromised.

Your devices are only vulnerable if an attacker is in physical proximity to your wireless network. We are co-working with chipset vendors and will release patched firmware for affected routers soon. Before new firmware is released, here are a few ways to stay safe:
(1) Only visit HTTPS websites.
(2) Keep your operating system and antivirus software up-to-date.
(3) When in doubt, be safe and use your cellular network or a wired connection (Ethernet) to access the internet.