Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Maximus X 5050 BIOS

    Hi, I have a couple of concerns with my motherboard.
    1) With my 8700k at 5.1ghz and an AVX offet to -1 my cpu fluctuates between the 2 frequencies even when not under AVX loads, gaming for example. Yet in cinebench it holds a steady 5.1.

    2) Having just updated the bios to 5050 from 0231, it appears to have broken nvidia audio. Nothing has changed expect the bios, same GPU (1070) same DP cable, same monitor etc. I have uninstalled driver using DDU and reinstalled latest drivers but still no audio. Again, this was working 30 mins ago before the BIOS update.

    The audio devices show up and give me the "green equalizer animation" in windows sound options to indicate its playing but nothing comes from the speakers.

    Suggestions?
    Last edited by gavinh87; 10-18-2017 at 11:31 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Have you gone into windows audio and checked what the default device is?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	70 
Size:	41.2 KB 
ID:	68173

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Have you gone into windows audio and checked what the default device is?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	70 
Size:	41.2 KB 
ID:	68173
    Thanks for the reply, I managed to get it working by installing another card and putting my own card back in.
    No idea what happened there but its OK now.

    Any idea on the non avx loads causing the frequency to drop?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    I can't seem to get this BIOS installed. I have downloaded and renamed to M10H.CAP, placed on a FAT32 Formatted 16GB USB Flash Drive using the USB Port on the back and I keep getting the error "Selected File is not a Proper BIOS" when I use the UEFI utility, and just a solid light when trying to use the BIOS Flashback method.

    Any other troubleshooting steps to try?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Is your board the Wifi model? not sure of bios renaming on Wifi board
    I just updated using EzFlash within the bios without issue

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    My board is the non wifi model.
    Still cannot get to the bottom of this AVX offset discrepancy.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Was finally able to get the BIOS to update. I have the Wifi board, but the name needed to be M10H.CAP even though the name of the BIOS on the support disk had it named differently. All is good now.

    Another issue though, is there an alternative to getting a basic reading of memory timings that are currently set? Mem Tweakit doesn't work at all, even though it is a utility offered on the support disk along with the website.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoandGeo View Post
    Was finally able to get the BIOS to update. I have the Wifi board, but the name needed to be M10H.CAP even though the name of the BIOS on the support disk had it named differently. All is good now.

    Another issue though, is there an alternative to getting a basic reading of memory timings that are currently set? Mem Tweakit doesn't work at all, even though it is a utility offered on the support disk along with the website.

    CPUz can show primary ram timings

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by gavinh87 View Post
    CPUz can show primary ram timings
    Anything able to show secondary timings in Windows?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •