cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PUBG pushes my laptop's fan?

Helmet_Unbuckle
Level 7
Good morning everyone,

Owning a G551J laptop that has been with me 2 years, I've had no problems playing a wide variety of games. I've never had a game that I've had a problem with playing in because of jitters or lags or where my laptop gets hot.

Not until I started playing Players Unknown Battleground at least. I don't know why even if I play it on low and I end process the things I don't need, for some reason that game pushes my laptop that the part where the fan releases air gets really really hot.

Is it because for 2 years I have not cleaned my fan? but then again I didn't find it logical as I've played other games that I thought would do the same on my laptop but it never happened. With PUBG it does and sometimes the game starts to slow down a bit.

Any suggestions / help would be kindly appreciated.

Thanks in advance 🙂
3 REPLIES 3

Korth
Level 14
The G551J specs are HM86 chipset, i5-4200H or i7-4720HQ, Intel HD 4600 or 2GB GTX960M or 4GB GTX960M, 8GB DDR3L-1333 to 16GB DDR3L-1600.

A low-end G551J variant meets Unreal Engine 4's marginally demanding minimum system requirements, although cutting it close. A mid-end or high-end G551J variant can run UE4 better, at least on external power, but it would be tasked heavy and it would run hot.

PUBG is a notoriously messy kludge. Still a "work in progress" under dev. It uses a lot of UE4 features and loads a lot of texture data into RAM and VRAM. It also generally makes poor use of multithreading and GPU scaling, it consistently loads almost all the work onto one CPU core and one GPU card, it can run a processor very hot if rendered on iGPU.
Apparently things keep on improving, gradually, as the code gets ongoing refinements and regular patches.