Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    just based on guessing, set the following

    Attachment 68408

    Attachment 68409

    and set uncore voltage offset to 0.001
    I tried a few more re-boots and everything works fine after making the suggested changes. However, after installing the Sound Card (SoundblasterX AE-5) it hangs during reboot again with the same "Detect Memory" code. I remove the sound card and the board still hangs with the "Detect Memory" code even though the previous recommended settings are still in place.

    I use 'safe boot', I don't change anything and exit the BIOS and it boots fine into windows.

    Could this be a PSEU related issue. I'm using a mew Corsair CX650M just for testing (the rig it's going into has a 1500W PSU). I'm not using the 4 pin EATX12V_2 connector since the PSU does not have a cable for it. I am using the 8 pin EATX12V_1 connector.

    Should I return this board? I shouldn't need to make so many adjustment just to get the thing to boot properly.

  2. #22
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    660

    i agree that you shdnt need to mess around at stock but without trying stuff cant really tell whats at fault. it does seem to behave like some temp sensitive CPUs under LN2 cooling which points toward the cpu.
    the low uncore becos you said it happens at 2133 so i would start testing at 2133
    sounds like this: set ai tuner to manual or xmp but set dram ratio to 2133 and reboot and hang.

    but maybe start from clean scratch
    latest bios = 1002, latest oled f/w from website updated
    remove AC power and let mobo drain completely for like a minute.
    plug in sound card
    connect ac power after plugging in sound card.
    clear cmos and power on.
    set xmp but set dram ratio 2133
    keep resetting and see if hang.
    if yes:
    set aux2/input reset volt/preemphasis/uncore voltage offset as stated
    keep resetting
    if hang still:
    set bclk to 99.5mhz
    keep resetting
    another thought was that plugging in the soundcard with standby power still coming in could have caused it.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Thanks for your reply Shamino. The first time I plugged in the soundcard I made sure the PSU was off and power drained.
    I got everything working again. This time I installed the soundcard with the PSU power still ON (I don't normally do that) after windows shut down. It started up no problem.
    I also added a second GTX 980 in SLI to see if that would trigger another failure. Everything still worked fine.

    I then switched to the second BIOS which only had one change - the uncore voltage set 0.440V. It booted fine as well. I then switched back to the #1 BIOS which had the changes you recommended last; Receiver DQ Pre-emphasis etc. and the uncore voltage set at 0.001V. It booted fine there as well.

    I then removed the second GTX 980 and it booted fine. I then removed the soundcard and booted fine as well. I re-installed the soundcard again and still fine. I have not been able to induce the fault again.

    I've been using the 1002 BIOS for the last few days now. This issue appears to be really random and I can't wrap my head around it.
    Once in Windows I ran Realbench and Cinebench and everything worked fine. I also ran the ASUS stress test for a few minutes with no issues.

    I'll keep testing and see what happens. I'm fairly certain now the CPU and RAM are working properly which was a big concern at the beginning of all of this.
    Last edited by Homewrecker; 10-27-2017 at 03:36 AM.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    i agree that you shdnt need to mess around at stock but without trying stuff cant really tell whats at fault. it does seem to behave like some temp sensitive CPUs under LN2 cooling which points toward the cpu.
    the low uncore becos you said it happens at 2133 so i would start testing at 2133
    sounds like this: set ai tuner to manual or xmp but set dram ratio to 2133 and reboot and hang.

    but maybe start from clean scratch
    latest bios = 1002, latest oled f/w from website updated
    remove AC power and let mobo drain completely for like a minute.
    plug in sound card
    connect ac power after plugging in sound card.
    clear cmos and power on.
    set xmp but set dram ratio 2133
    keep resetting and see if hang.
    if yes:
    set aux2/input reset volt/preemphasis/uncore voltage offset as stated
    keep resetting
    if hang still:
    set bclk to 99.5mhz
    keep resetting
    another thought was that plugging in the soundcard with standby power still coming in could have caused it.
    After a day and a half of working fine the problem is back. It seems like it happena in random cycles. I was in windows, everything was fine. I selected re-start after installation of some software and there is the "Code AF: Detect Memory" again. Then I sometimes get a "check CMOS" message and alsa a "check NVRAM" message. I reset the cmos more times than I can count and still the same damn thing. I set aux2/input reset volt/preemphasis/uncore voltage offset as stated by Shamino with the same results.

    To be honest, this is getting ridiculous. I've never had so many issues with a Rampage series board. Granted, these are 'enthusiast' boards but simply trying to get the board running with the memory at the rated speed after making all sorts of adjustments is just getting out of hand. I haven't even attempted to OC the CPU. Who knows what problems await there.

    I'm taking the board back to the store to get tested. I'm past the 14 day exchange window by 1 day but there is a 30 day period for manufacturer's defects.
    Last edited by Homewrecker; 10-29-2017 at 02:45 AM.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    The build from Hell continues. The store had no i9 79XX cpus in stock to test with. Got a refund on the board and they ordered another one. There's supposed to be 5 coming in from the distributor. In case the issue does end up being CPU related I will exchange it as well.

    I remember when building was fun lol. This isn't fun anymore; especially when the board, CPU and RAM come to almost $4K.

  6. #26
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The toughest thing to tune on a system is memory. If you favor plug and play, stick with a memory kit rated at a lower speed.

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    This is beyond basic tuning IMO. Other people have reported using the same memory kit with no issues. I don't mind playing with BIOS settings and am far from being a 'Plug and Play' person but having to jump through so many hoops just to get the system to boot is a little ridiculous. At times the system wouldn't even boot at the default speed of 2133Mhz. Hopefully the next board will yield better / more stable behavior.

  8. #28
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    660

    wouldnt be surprised if the problem goes away with a change of cpu

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    The CPU is out of stock everywhere as well. Seems to be as rare as the board. So it'll be a while before I can get anything going.

  10. #30
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Homewrecker View Post
    This is beyond basic tuning IMO. Other people have reported using the same memory kit with no issues. I don't mind playing with BIOS settings and am far from being a 'Plug and Play' person but having to jump through so many hoops just to get the system to boot is a little ridiculous. At times the system wouldn't even boot at the default speed of 2133Mhz. Hopefully the next board will yield better / more stable behavior.
    You are corerct that memory tuning is far from basic. The faster the kit, the more complicated it can be.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •