Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    DUAL INTELLIGENT PROCESSORS 5 is getting old - Does this work properly on Kaby Lake?

    Any ASUS mobo owners using "Dual Intelligent Processors 5"? to auto-tune your overclock?

    I a finding the latest version is extremely buggy. (It's on the download section for my mobo on ASUS website).

    I watched this video: (but when I've followed the steps they don't work.

    https://youtu.be/x5e68jLErCw


    For example if "CPU tuning" crashes the PC:.
    then re-boots it:
    D O E S - N O T - c o n t i n u e - f r o m - w h e r e - i t - l e f t - o f f:
    (I.E it does NOT resume tuning the by increasing voltage.

    But instead, after crashe & reboot:

    'Dual Int Proc 5' restarts automatically on entering windows but skips onto step two (fan control) -- completely ignoring (and failing to return to Step 1 (CPU Frequency/voltage tuner). Instead skipping straight to part 2 - fan control

    By the end of the auto tuning process; the max CPU turbo frequency remains at the last known good value (before the crash on step 1. (Instead of increasing voltage to stabilise the higher frequency).

    Anyone else had better luck using this on ASUS boards?
    Last edited by Nick Peyton; 10-22-2017 at 02:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Personally I advise against using software to write values to the BIOS. I simply do it the old fashioned way by entering the values in the BIOS myself. I gave this software a go and for the overclock up not by the auto tune as that way overshot the Vcore for minimal returns but instead entered the settings in the UI. After an overclocking session I simply reset to defaults and that was the last time that MOBO worked. Froze up and bricked.**

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I see.

    I also tried creating 2 separate profiles. One for "performance" and one for "silent" which are the defaults.

    But when I changed settings for one. It also saved the settings to the other. Also making the software completely useless for manual overclocking too.

    IF this software actually worked it would be absolutely fantastic. (i'd be able to increase my overclock while stress testing my system incrementally in Windows). Instead of rebooting to BIOS all the time.

    The descriptions of what the Digi+ power options and CPU Internal Power Options are also contradictory. For example it says lower VRM Switching Frequency = more stability and faster VRM switching frequency increases overclock range. <-- I find that statement very contradictory.

    Can someone from ASUS please explain? Thank you.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Dual Intellligent Processors 5 has not been updated properly in years.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    I only run DIP and AI Suite on new parts to see what sort of "baseline" values they'll generate. Then I uninstall them and configure through BIOS.

    Sometimes these softwares select voltage values which look a little worrisome to me, lol.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    DIP5 is not working properly for me.

    I set maximum v.core at on the slider to 1.45v.

    During tuning when system blue screens, after reboot it does NOT begin from "where it left off".

    What SHOULD happen is DIP5 should raise the voltage and try the same frequency again. But it doesn't!

    Instead; it simply moves onto step 2 (fan control) -- leaving my CPU overclock at the frequency achieved 1 step before system crash.



    I have the ROG IX MAXIMUS APEX. When I enter O/C settings into the UEFI manually I can pass Realbench at 5.1Ghz 1.4v.
    With DIP5 it stops at 4.6 Ghz.

    ASUS - why can't we get this working properly?
    So after a crash DIP5 "remembers" the CPU speed before crash. Then tries the same frequency again at a higher voltage (and repeats this until reaching the maximum voltage the user sets)?

    Multiplier should then still continue to be automatically increased until the maximum voltage is reached.
    Last edited by Nick Peyton; 10-22-2017 at 04:59 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Which operating system version?

    If the latest Win10 update then you'll find many proprietary drivers and softwares are broken.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •