Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 124
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array morph. PC Specs
    morph. PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13" i5, Surface Pro m3-7Y30
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-G
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K @4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL 32GB (16X2) 3466MHZ 16-18-18-38-2N TZ RGB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080oc
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 AIO
    CasePhantek Enthoo Evolv mATX TG Grey
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 860i
    Keyboard Logitech G18
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Centurion 7.1
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro
    Network RouterBillion BiPAC 8800AXL
    morph.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Exclamation LLC (Load Line Calibration) not working... Bios fix required ASAP

    Any eta on when there will be a bios patch/fix for LLC?

    Vdrop is just too high at the moment it seems.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCAQpvFhiUs
    Last edited by morph.; 10-14-2017 at 05:58 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    https://www.io-tech.fi/uutinen/paivi...0-emolevyilla/

    Use google translate. That will give some of the you the answer to this hoo-haa. Unfortunately, they aren't measuring from the right place, either. To get a more accurate reading, you'd use one of the MLCC caps behind the socket. You want to get as close as you can to the socket pins so that you can see how much resistive loss you get through the power plane. Review sites simply aren't equipped to do this stuff properly. The non-technical guys profess to know things they don't understand, and those that try to be technical mess it up, too.

    The requested VID can be affected by the IA/AC and DC load line settings. Has been like that for a while now. I'll see if I can get a board here and check what's going on.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array morph. PC Specs
    morph. PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13" i5, Surface Pro m3-7Y30
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-G
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K @4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL 32GB (16X2) 3466MHZ 16-18-18-38-2N TZ RGB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080oc
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 AIO
    CasePhantek Enthoo Evolv mATX TG Grey
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 860i
    Keyboard Logitech G18
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Centurion 7.1
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro
    Network RouterBillion BiPAC 8800AXL
    morph.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Been reported that some are getting as much as 0.9V vdroop though... is that inaccurate?

    Just from apps such as CPUID / CPU-Z

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by morph. View Post
    Been reported that some are getting as much as 0.9V vdroop though... is that inaccurate?

    Just from apps such as CPUID / CPU-Z
    That's why you should measure properly before coming to a conclusion. Don't rely on software. Plus the IA AC/DC settings are likely involved, so calling this Vdroop may be inaccurate, too.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array morph. PC Specs
    morph. PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13" i5, Surface Pro m3-7Y30
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-G
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K @4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL 32GB (16X2) 3466MHZ 16-18-18-38-2N TZ RGB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080oc
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 AIO
    CasePhantek Enthoo Evolv mATX TG Grey
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 860i
    Keyboard Logitech G18
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Centurion 7.1
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro
    Network RouterBillion BiPAC 8800AXL
    morph.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Sorry i'm not an electrical engineer, but don't these apps pull the data from the BIOS and if so the bios seems to be reporting incorrect power data how can 'enthusiasts' trust the read outs without multi-meters and what not to overclock?
    Last edited by morph.; 10-14-2017 at 11:06 AM.

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    I am an electrical engineer and Im afraid Raja has this right. I have to say Im a bit disappointed in Tom to produce such rubbish with zero supporting documentation.
    Are you personally experiencing measured Vdroop issues? If so the prudent thing to do is contact support and arrange for an RMA of your boards.

    I have 3 software packages that pull whats supposed to be the same data from the smbus and no two read the same. This so called bug could be a result of these vendors not updating their software yet for the Z370 chipset. There's a million things here and nothing worse than troubleshooting conjecture.

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by morph. View Post
    Sorry i'm not an electrical engineer, but don't these apps pull the data from the BIOS and if so the bios seems to be reporting incorrect power data how can 'enthusiasts' trust the read outs without multi-meters and what not to overclock?

    Power and voltage are not the same thing. They are related, but one shouldn't confuse where and when to use these terms. Software doesn't use bios to report voltages. Even if you were unsure of voltage, you can check cpu power consumption in software such as aida64. It's power that ultimately matters. Looking at voltage without checking current doesn't tell you much. P=VA. Remember that and you won't need to rely on reviewers for info.

    As for the rest, like I said, I'll see if I can get a board to check, or ask one of the r&d guys to look into it. Oh, and yes, software often needs an update, too. That part would be up to the software developer to fix.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Oh, and yes, software often needs an update, too. That part would be up to the software developer to fix.
    Slightly off-topic, but I'm curious:

    Benchmarking and hardware monitoring softwares (CPU-Z, HWMONITOR, HWiNFO, etc) need to be calibrated and updated for best accuracy on each new platform. Does ASUS provide sample boards or "confidential" technical data to these software devs before product launch?
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Sometimes we do. However, I'm not at liberty to discuss who we sample boards to and why.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    A fair answer. Thanks
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •