Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus RealBench Stress Test Mini Screen Freezes i7-8700k, Maximus X Hero

    Specs:
    Motherboard: Asus Maximus X Hero
    CPU: i7-8700k@5.0GHz manual 1.26v (1.296V under stress test). VCCIO manual 1.0V (1.048V under stress test), VCSSA manual 1.1V (1.156V under stress test).
    RAM: Gskill TridentZ 3200 MHz 14cl DRAM Voltage XMP 1.35V (1.36V under stress test).

    I have been recently testing my overclock and under Asus RealBench stress test I have noticed that my screen is freezing every couple of seconds for like 1-2 seconds (log output freezes, mouse and keyboard input too) and then after two seconds it will continue normally and also all of the results will match. Wondering if that is indication of slight instability or is that normal during Asus realbench stress test?

    Also was wondering if I didn't set my VCCIO and VCSSA too low could that be a cause? Or will that be more related to cpu vcore?.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,470

    You should test system on default settings, if everything work normal than you go easy. OC first CPU and than memory.
    I usually leave few days after any change to see how system behave, half hours can't give warranty that system will work normal.
    Memory set at the end. When you reach max stable clock for CPU, or clock you want than you will start to change memory settings.
    Maybe you need 1300V for 5.0GHz.
    First CPU than memory, first manual setting on specification than XMP.

    Now I see that Maximus X Hero is great board, maybe better than Apex.
    ASUS shouldn't forget to install same onboard Audio and PreMounted I/O shield for electrostatic discharge on Apex.
    Because that should be little above Hero.

    New shield for electrostatic protection should have every mid and high class ROG motherboard.
    Hero, Code, Apex, Formula, Extreme, all of them. But looks like they not use for Apex that option.
    That's mistake. For you everything is fine, Hero have both of things.

    My favorite Rampage 6 Apex don't have, but still is my favorite board on market.
    Last edited by Vlada011; 10-22-2017 at 03:08 PM.


  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Whether or not freezing is normal is up to interpretation.
    For a good run, its not normal
    For a bad run to prove you have an issue, it is normal.

    What are all your settings and dram timings?
    What are you using for cooling?
    Do you have HWmonitor running in the background to record max temps?
    Have you delidded your CPU and applied better TIM?

    My initial thoughts with limited information......you are throttling and need to back of your OC and Vcore or Delid and get better cooling.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array marius4313 PC Specs
    marius4313 PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero wifi
    Processori78700k
    Memory (part number)CMR16GX4M2C3600C18W
    Graphics Card #1Strix-gtx980-dc2oc-4gd5
    MonitorLg tv
    Storage #1CORSAIR 120 GB Force MP500 M. 2 2280 PCI Express 3.0 x4
    Storage #22x corsair force gs 128gb
    CPU Coolercorsair h100i
    Casecorsair carbide spec03
    Power Supplycorsair gs 700
    Mouse corsair glaive rgb
    OS Windows 10x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by FatalityZZ View Post
    Specs:
    Motherboard: Asus Maximus X Hero
    CPU: i7-8700k@5.0GHz manual 1.26v (1.296V under stress test). VCCIO manual 1.0V (1.048V under stress test), VCSSA manual 1.1V (1.156V under stress test).
    RAM: Gskill TridentZ 3200 MHz 14cl DRAM Voltage XMP 1.35V (1.36V under stress test).

    I have been recently testing my overclock and under Asus RealBench stress test I have noticed that my screen is freezing every couple of seconds for like 1-2 seconds (log output freezes, mouse and keyboard input too) and then after two seconds it will continue normally and also all of the results will match. Wondering if that is indication of slight instability or is that normal during Asus realbench stress test?

    Also was wondering if I didn't set my VCCIO and VCSSA too low could that be a cause? Or will that be more related to cpu vcore?.

    Thanks
    the same problem asus maximus x hero wifi 8700k, reinstalled win 10 and in stress with aida, cinebench, prime 95, everything ok.Im started to install the programs ,and after each reinstallation, again stress.Problema was from iolo system mechanic that does "optimize" cpu in real time. uninstall and install ccleaner free. Now everything ok, even corsair mp500 120gb pciee is approaching the specified speed (before it was almost half).My bios everything auto.
    I hope that helps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •