Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Strix H - XMP = VCORE 1.36v

    With XMP on, everything else at default settings, my 8700k's VCORE is 1.36v. Is this normal or is the MB really that bad?

    Would turning off MCE help?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Depends what the default VID for your CPU is. You can disable MCE and you can try a lower LLC value you get the voltage you want. The lowest level should be the Intel spec load line.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Depends what the default VID for your CPU is. You can disable MCE and you can try a lower LLC value you get the voltage you want. The lowest level should be the Intel spec load line.
    VID is ~1.2v according to CPU-Z/1.056 in BIOS.

    I thought LLC didn't work on the Strix-H?

    Will try disabling MCE.

    EDIT: Okay, I turned off MCE and when enabling XMP I said no to all core enhancement (CPU temps are a bit hotter ~5 degrees).
    Last edited by illusiveguy; 10-23-2017 at 09:01 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Does XMP set the Vcore? Thought XMP would only set the RAM voltage? What is MCE?

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Llc works; it's just tuned to something the board can handle. What matters is the load voltage. And also note that vid varies from cpu to cpu.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Llc works; it's just tuned to something the board can handle. What matters is the load voltage. And also note that vid varies from cpu to cpu.
    If that's the case, what exactly did UEFI 0419/0426 fix?

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    I think there were some rule changes for default MCE behaviour and memory.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •