Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Maximus X Hero - Couple of pre-purchase questions

    After days of deciding what board to go for I'm about to order a Maximus X Hero for my 8700K

    I have a couple of questions:

    1. I'm coming from a Hero VII which has 3 display outputs and I have 3 screens, the M10H only has 2 display outputs, is there any way to run 2 displays off the display port like you can on some computers, to get 3 separate individual outputs?

    2. I'm tempted to go for the WiFI version to gain Bluetooth, WiFi isn't really much use but it's handy, however I've studied both manuals and can't get an answer to this, does the WiFI version lose anything at all, such as PCIe lanes etc?

    Thanks and can't wait to get it

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    1. no idea, use a graphics card
    2. I don't think so, if you start using NVME drives you'll loose some sata ports

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    1. no idea, use a graphics card
    2. I don't think so, if you start using NVME drives you'll loose some sata ports
    I don't use graphics card, the onboard one is fine for my uses.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    I don't know about MAXIMUS X HERO, but embedded WiFi controller on the earlier MAXIMUS IX was linked to PCH (the same way as the wired network controllers). It doesn't use any CPU PCIe lanes unless it says so in the manual or specs.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    I don't know about MAXIMUS X HERO, but embedded WiFi controller on the earlier MAXIMUS IX was linked to PCH (the same way as the wired network controllers). It doesn't use any CPU PCIe lanes unless it says so in the manual or specs.
    Thank you, I couldn't see anything in the manual about it, but as the Z270 is very similar I should imagine it would be the same.
    When I bought the HERO VII the Ranger VII had more PCI lanes due to it not having an extra SATA controller IIRC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •