Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    ALERT - Asus B250F Has Bad BIOS!

    It has come to my own personal attention, after trying two of these motherboards that Asus has bios issues with the latest version 0810.

    I also found out from the place where I purchased this board, the company I called, the staff member I spoke with to get a replacement for another board, stated to me that he also had this motherboard, and that him and several of his gamer friends that built their own computers, many of them expressed they also knew of bios problems with this motherboard.

    When I heard of this mentioned to me by the staff of this company, it made me finally realize I was not alone in this situation.

    If anyone buys this motherboard, I HIGHLY recommend not updating the bios, hopefully your board did not come with 0810, but if it did maybe you'll be lucky and not encounter the issues I have, which all seem only related to the BIOS UI.

    Here's are the things I have encountered;

    1. Original older bios had the ability to mouse wheel scroll up and down, BIOS 0810, I can only scroll up and down now with the keyboard.

    2. Anything that can be clicked on in the UI lags, many times I have to click several times to get something to respond.

    3. When clicking in the BIOS, at intermittent times the BIOS will freeze.

    4. Tried to check for an online update, after this, when placing in a bootable USB device, the entire device would not appear in the Boot Priority list, meaning, before devices would show as legacy and uefi, 2 parts, I would always see two sections. After trying the online bios update only one section would appear. Next, when I would try to drag the usb device to the top of the Boot Priority list the bios would lock up. Also the network adapters stayed listed in the Boot Priority list after trying the online bios update, but would typically be gone after restarting, but this time would not go away. The only solution, I had to remove the bios battery and the Boot Priority list returned to normal and did lock up again after moving devices around in it, and the network adapter was finally gone too...

    In all seriousness, this post needs to stayed bumped, so it remains at the top of this forum until Asus corrects the BIOS.
    Last edited by SlackROG; 10-26-2017 at 02:00 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    I just started my system today and now I see the BIOS drifted off time, advanced by 2 minutes...

    Maybe it's time I start thinking about another motherboard.

    The MAXIMUS VIII HERO keeps coming up in conversation, maybe I should just buy this instead...

    Hmm

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    MAXIMUS VIII HERO BIOS 2202 I just had it lockup when clicking something...

    I'm starting to get the feeling that the UI in these BIOS is not stable...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    6
    Posts
    96

    I had this happen a bunch of times on my b250f board. updated bios a couple times didn't fix it. But I think clearing the cmos did. I think sometimes when changing many options frequently something must get corrupted. AFter using the screwdriver method on the board I haven't gotten a bios freeze. I'm on the latest 1002 bios.

    I do also have problems using the mouse. Sometimes it will get suck in the menu options and i'm forced to use the keyboard to tab out.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    This was with 2 brand new boards, fresh out the box, not doing anything, excpet a few simple changes, and they would lockup all the time...

    I don't own these anymore I returned both of them, so not sure with newer updates the problems have been solved...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •