Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Zenith Extreme not POSTing

    I need some help, I've Built a new system using this board (1950X), plugged in the power, the led's light up and do their thing, press the power button, nothing happens, the board doesn't even attempt to POST.

    So far I've tried, re-seating the cpu, one stick of ram, no pci-e devices, re-seating power cables multiple times, and yeah nothing. None of the Qleds are lighting up, and the cpu ready led is not lighting up.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by timmy112 View Post
    I need some help, I've Built a new system using this board (1950X), plugged in the power, the led's light up and do their thing, press the power button, nothing happens, the board doesn't even attempt to POST.

    So far I've tried, re-seating the cpu, one stick of ram, no pci-e devices, re-seating power cables multiple times, and yeah nothing. None of the Qleds are lighting up, and the cpu ready led is not lighting up.
    Did you try and turn on the PC from the motherboard power button? It could be the connection to the power button of your case.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array vpkb1998 PC Specs
    vpkb1998 PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Nvidia 1080ti FE
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    OS Windows 10 Professional

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by timmy112 View Post
    I need some help, I've Built a new system using this board (1950X), plugged in the power, the led's light up and do their thing, press the power button, nothing happens, the board doesn't even attempt to POST.

    So far I've tried, re-seating the cpu, one stick of ram, no pci-e devices, re-seating power cables multiple times, and yeah nothing. None of the Qleds are lighting up, and the cpu ready led is not lighting up.
    This sounds stupid but make sure the power switch connectors are on properly.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    After it Wouldn't turn on the first time, I've only tried to turn it on with the button on the motherboard.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Well, I've just tried to use the BIOS Flashback feature, and the LED on the switch won't respond at all. I'm wondering if I have a dead CPU or Board?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    are you plugging in both the cpu power or just one - its weird that you don't see any numbers on the oled (im guessing)

    also what type of ram * have you tested the ram in another system

    *I would skim through the first post of this thread it talks about flashback
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1636566/a...ocking-support

    if you get no oled numbers and no cpu led I would try to return both after giving it another go

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    You need to start by eliminating variables from the system. First thing to do is to remove everything from the system except for the CPU. So, no add in cards, no memory, so storage, etc. Just a power supply, motherboard, and a CPU. Try powering on the system in this state. If the motherboard and CPU are good, then you should get some sort of diagnostic on the motherboard. If you have a internal speaker, have that attached and you should get the BIOS beep code for no memory.

    If you do this and you dont get the same response; then you should take out the CPU and look at all the pins on the motherboard. Make sure they are all aligned. When you re-install the CPU, make sure you have it completely in the metal slide guide rails. When you slide the CPU into the motherboard retainer, make sure you get it slid down all the way. There is an initial bump-stop that you need to push PAST before it fully seats. Install the CPU, put the cooler back on the try to power on again. If you still get nothing, you potentially have a bad power supply (or its not hooked up all the way), a bad CPU (or its no installed correctly), or a bad motherboard (ex: a messed up pin on the socket, etc).

    Are you using a power supply that has 2x 8-PIN EATX power connectors? What brand of power supply are you using? The odds of a bad CPU or motherboard (barring damage from installation) is very very slim. Name brand power supplies also are very unlikely bad, but thats usually an area where people cut corners.

    My bet is the CPU is not seated correctly or you have a bent pin on the CPU socket..

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    My power supply is a confirmed working one, it's a Corsair HX1000i, that was used in my X58 System that I'm upgrading from, I am also using both 8-Pin CPU power cables.

    When I press the power button I get no reaction whatsoever, no OLED numbers, no CPU led, it doesn't matter if I have ram installed or not. I've tried re-seating the CPU 3 times, making sure I've put it in the guide rails and fully down in the rails, in between times I couldn't see any out of place pins (mind you with around 4000 of them it's kinda hard to tell).

    The Ram is 2 packets of G.Skill Flare-X F4-3200C14D-16GFX 16GB (2x8GB) Ryzen DDR4, so 4x8GB Total, I can't test the ram in another system, as I have no other systems that can use DDR4.

    This isn't the first rig I've built, and when I do build one I'm really careful with what I do, so I would like to think I didn't do anything to damage the system while it was being built. I am wondering if something got damaged while shipping, Australia Post aren't known for being careful with their packages.

    I will attach a video showing what's happening, I doubt it'll be any help though. BTW the same thing (nothing) happens with and without ram.
    https://youtu.be/uPV0xt1al1Y

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by timmy112 View Post
    My power supply is a confirmed working one, it's a Corsair HX1000i, that was used in my X58 System that I'm upgrading from, I am also using both 8-Pin CPU power cables.

    When I press the power button I get no reaction whatsoever, no OLED numbers, no CPU led, it doesn't matter if I have ram installed or not. I've tried re-seating the CPU 3 times, making sure I've put it in the guide rails and fully down in the rails, in between times I couldn't see any out of place pins (mind you with around 4000 of them it's kinda hard to tell).

    The Ram is 2 packets of G.Skill Flare-X F4-3200C14D-16GFX 16GB (2x8GB) Ryzen DDR4, so 4x8GB Total, I can't test the ram in another system, as I have no other systems that can use DDR4.

    This isn't the first rig I've built, and when I do build one I'm really careful with what I do, so I would like to think I didn't do anything to damage the system while it was being built. I am wondering if something got damaged while shipping, Australia Post aren't known for being careful with their packages.

    I will attach a video showing what's happening, I doubt it'll be any help though. BTW the same thing (nothing) happens with and without ram.
    https://youtu.be/uPV0xt1al1Y
    I looked at the video, it seems your board has power because the lights came on, either your CPU is not seated properly or the board is broken and needs to be RMA'd.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    I watched the video and agree with vsimone67. I would bet your CPU is not seated correctly or you have bent socket pins..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •