Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    F8 boot selection = black screen

    Whenever I press F8 to get the Boot Selection menu, I only end up seeing a black screen, is this a known issue and/or can anyone reproduce?

    In the end I can still use the Boot selection menu, because when I press the up/down arrows on my keyboard, the corresponding line of the boot option lights up and gets displayed.

    As an example, if my Boot selection men has the following three options:
    HDD
    USB-HDD
    DVD

    Then pressing F8 leads to a black screen with nothing displayed, but if I press the Down arrow once, I woulld now see
    USB-HDD on my display.

    Then if I press Up arrow once, I now see
    HDD
    USB-HDD
    on my display.

    Only those lines get displayed and nothing else i.e. I assume there is additional info on the screen, but what get's displayed on the monitor is limited to a tight rectangular area around the line of text listing the boot option.

    So, there is a way by arrowing down and up multiple times repeatedly to have all options displayed, but I still think it's a bug.

    Furthermore, if I choose "Enter Setup" (typically this is offered as the last option on the bottom) I can enter BIOS setup but again I'm only getting a black screen, and the black goes away when moving my mouse, to be replaced with whatever I'm normally supposed to see underneath the mouse cursor. Think of it as removing the fog of war my moving the mouse.


    I don't want to go back to verify, but I'm 80% sure that this was not a problem with BIOS version 0503, the version my board came with.
    I'm on 0801 now and have been for a few weeks at least.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Here's a video of my problem here https://youtu.be/xAgCm1qrfjQ
    First part of the problem starts around 0:40, and the mouse issue around 1:00.
    A little blurry but easy to figure out what's happening anyways.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Bumping this one up for getting feedback. I'd like confirmation that this is a known issue or that it affects other people than just me. Can anyone reproduce? Maybe someone with specs similar to mine (see my specs on the left)?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    ASUS, is there any update on this issue? I tried many other BIOS versions, currently on 0902, and this is still happening.

    Are you able to reproduce/acknowledge?
    I made a video in my post above (post #2)

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    995

    I have not experienced this on any past or current UEFI.

    My setup is:-

    TR1950X
    ASUS ZE
    F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
    RX VEGA 64
    2x SATA SSD, 2x SATA HDD, all in AHCI currently. Planning on doing RAID soon with multiOS. I also use F8 boot menu to boot differing USB sticks with Linux. One has Ubuntu and other Mint. I use CSM: Off, Secure Boot: Off, Fast Boot: On.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array leyabe PC Specs
    leyabe PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Team Dark Pro 16GB (4 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64 Liquid-cooled
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorAcer XR341CK
    Storage #1250 GB M.2 Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #21 TB SSD Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech TR4 360 AIO
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard G.Skill 780 MX
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G330
    Mouse Pad Corsair keyboard + mouse mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.0 + Logitech 5.1
    OS Win10 X64
    Network RouterTP Link Archer C2600

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Thanks for confirming, I appreciate.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •