cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rog g20 cb cpu upgrade

Skoll
Level 7
Hello Asus ROG Community!

Since this is my first post, try to be gentle to me since I'm a noob regarding upgrading PCs.
First of all here are my current specs (prebuilt).

NVIDIA GTX 1080
Intel i7-6700

Other stuff doesn't really matter that much.

My problem here is a game called CS:GO. It's a really CPU heavy game which means my i7-6700 is bottlenecking.
Since I'm playing on a quite high resolution (1920x1440), my game tends to drop from 300+ fps all the way down to 140 or even lower!

This is really bad since you need a stable 200+ fps in CS:GO in order for it to be considered fluid.

Now my wish would be to upgrade my current CPU to something better in order to get a stable 300 FPS.
I have no idea which CPUs I should consider since I'm not sure what exactly my lovely G20 can run without further tweaks.
If someone could tell me what's possible with this PC and if it's even worth it, I would be really thankful.

Thanks in advance
5 REPLIES 5

chilinmichael
Level 10
You bought the wrong PC and I hope you have money to burn on a new one. Don't know why you need 300+fps, I've never heard a single person say that before, but if that's what you need, not happening.
Asus G20CB - Core i7 6700, Nvidia GTX980, 16GB Ram, 256GB SK Hynix SSD, 1TB Samsung SSD.

Firstly: With your configuration, the I7 6700, doesn't bottleneck at all your GTX 1080 wich were launched 3 months before the soonest new reference CPU I7 7700k.

Secondly: All monitors are limited to a maximal refreshing value (144hz for high-end products mostly). If the graphic card doesn't reach this frequency to calculate a frame, the monitor shall simply wait from the GPU to receive the next frame and will stay in stand-by with the same frame. Some frames calculated by the GPU might be lost because arrived too late whereas the new frame arrived before the end of the "sync round". Needed to be said.