Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation No graphics in BIOS after using Windows

    So I recently set up a machine with an i7-8700k an Maximus X Hero (Wifi) motherboard and a ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-11G-GAMING GPU. The machine has both Windows 10 and Ubuntu 17.10 installed as OSes. While it's been mostly working fine, there's this one weird BIOS issue I've been having.

    Basically, when Windows is the last OS to have run (I've yet to see this issue happen after using Ubuntu), there's about a 70-80% chance that I won't get any graphics during the BIOS during the next boot. There's still a video signal, and everything seems to be working properly (I was able to navigate the BIOS menu blind for a little bit), but I get a black screen up until the Windows lock screen shows up.

    Is anyone else seeing this issue? Are there any settings in either Windows or the Asus software that may be causing this?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    What happens when its just windows?
    Never seen this one unless your preferred display is set to a differnet port in the BIOS and guessing you are not using UEFI either and have CSM enabled to get to the Ubuntu boot screen. Have you tried changing display ports while you are supposed to be in the bios screen?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    What happens when its just windows?
    Never seen this one unless your preferred display is set to a differnet port in the BIOS and guessing you are not using UEFI either and have CSM enabled to get to the Ubuntu boot screen. Have you tried changing display ports while you are supposed to be in the bios screen?
    I tried switching HDMI ports while on what should have been the BIOS settings ( don't have any display port cables or screens on hand, but I can pick up adapters if I need to), but I didn't even get a video signal on the other port. It seems to be selecting the port correctly, though if there are settings related to that I could check them.

    I'm pretty sure Ubuntu is set up to use UEFI, but I don't have time to double check that until tomorrow. Currently the only BIOS setting I change for Ubuntu (aside from boot order) is secure boot, though (need it off for Nvidia drivers). Everything else is mostly defaults with a couple customizations for my setup (enabled XMP and Virtualization support). I tried disabling fast boot, because that seemed suspicious, but it didn't make a difference.

    When running Windows, everything is fine after I get to the login screen.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array MangoFargo PC Specs
    MangoFargo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook Pro
    MotherboardASUS RANGER
    ProcessorIntel i7
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1980TI
    MangoFargo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Pokemaniac View Post
    I tried switching HDMI ports while on what should have been the BIOS settings ( don't have any display port cables or screens on hand, but I can pick up adapters if I need to), but I didn't even get a video signal on the other port. It seems to be selecting the port correctly, though if there are settings related to that I could check them.

    I'm pretty sure Ubuntu is set up to use UEFI, but I don't have time to double check that until tomorrow. Currently the only BIOS setting I change for Ubuntu (aside from boot order) is secure boot, though (need it off for Nvidia drivers). Everything else is mostly defaults with a couple customizations for my setup (enabled XMP and Virtualization support). I tried disabling fast boot, because that seemed suspicious, but it didn't make a difference.

    When running Windows, everything is fine after I get to the login screen.
    Might sound quite obvious, but this has helped me in some tricky situations. Have you tried resetting the BIOS?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by MangoFargo View Post
    Might sound quite obvious, but this has helped me in some tricky situations. Have you tried resetting the BIOS?
    I've tried reflashing the BIOS via Ai Suite in Windows a couple times. It doesn't really seem to be helping with the issue. I could try BIOS flashback if you think that'd be more likely to work, though.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    So, to give an update on this situation, from what I can tell, I can fairly consistently get the BIOS to show graphics again if I leave the PC off for a while (a while here meaning some amount of time probably greater than 10-15 minutes). Obviously this is far from an ideal situation. Unless this can be identified as a misconfiguration of BIOS bug, I'm seriously considering sending the motherboard in to Asus for support at this point.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Quote Originally Posted by Pokemaniac View Post
    I've tried reflashing the BIOS via Ai Suite in Windows a couple times. It doesn't really seem to be helping with the issue. I could try BIOS flashback if you think that'd be more likely to work, though.
    This is your problem!!

    Uninstall AI Suite, scrub the registry then flash the BIOS via Flashback or EZ Flash.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    This is your problem!!

    Uninstall AI Suite, scrub the registry then flash the BIOS via Flashback or EZ Flash.
    So this software is known to be problematic, then?

    When you say "scrub the registry", can you be a bit more specific? Would I want to use something like this: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...uite-3-cleaner

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    This is your problem!!

    Uninstall AI Suite, scrub the registry then flash the BIOS via Flashback or EZ Flash.
    So I tried uninstalling Ai Suite and reflashing the BIOS via EZ Flash, but that doesn't seem to have helped at all. The issue still occurs.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •