Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    Which ASUS router is best for my budget/requirements

    I want to set my Virgin Media HUB 3.0 to modem only and buy an affordable ASUS router which offers better wifi. VM's wifi for me just doesn't cut it, always problems here and there though the modem itself via Ethernet is PHENOMENAL. My PC is next door from the modem hence the wiring has to go.

    I have spent an arm and a leg with my first build so can't be splashing out too much. I was hoping for something under £100, with decent wifi range and app-based user device bandwidth controls (setting limits on other users or restricting them).

    If it helps, we have 2 PC's (1 hardly used), 2 laptops and 5 mobile devices which will connect to wifi. Then there's the powerline adapter which links up to our TV downstairs via ethernet.

    Can you recommend a decent router to fill all the void?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    While ASUS makes nice routers I wouldnt limit my choice to a single brand. There are others that offer a better feature list in the lower tier. We all want the best performance for the lowest price point but at some point you have to make a decision on whcih is more important. Im addicted to speed and the ability to do simultaneous 4K streams over wireless with no degradation. With the router Im using coupled to FIOS GB internet ive not been able to load it down with a house full of people. Its common in my household to have 3-4 4K streams on top of internet traffic. I have teens whose Access gets cut off at 11PM on school nights and their internet activities are logged. I have to use the FIOS gateway for the initial connection to the OND for my set top boxes to work but set up a DMZ on the gateway for my wireless router because the Verizon one stinks. I even have desktops connected to it with wireless AC cards at 1.6Gbps. Im not going with a new router for the wireless AD on my new rig as its line of sight only and would take running cable just to get a wireless router in that kind of proximity to my desktop. Well if I have to run wire only Im going to use the 10GBe connection. My 8 port 10GBe switch came in today, just have to run a cable back to the router downstairs for it. Will that make my internet any faster, nope. What it will do is allow me get the max internet speed while also relocating my NAS to the same switch to get much better file transfers back and forth to the NAS which has 4 lan connecitons that I can run link aggregation on so in theory with 2.5GBps on each link and a 10GB connection to the PC I should get close to the 10 GB/s of bandwidth to and from my NAS. Wont help any other connection on the network but it will help mine immensely.

    The router Im using is the ASUS AC5300 bit it wasnt cheap by any standards. If you want to keep the cost under £100 Im thinking you will have to settle for Wireless N.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    3-4 4k STREAMS - Looks like you're running the works! I take it you are familiar with router specs, terms and functions. I don't know much at all other than my broadband provider granting 150mb download and 10/20mb upload speeds on contract. Some years back I did pick up a replaced nighthawk AC1200 and I was intrigued with the functionality (though, didn't make much use of it) and performance improvements but it failed after a few months.

    I don't know which would be suitable for me, what specs or model types. If I can provide you some details can you shed some light on what would work best for a budget around £100. I don't mind forking out some more if it meets the requirements OR wait a little longer to afford something that really does top the requirements without the overkill. Some details:

    Speedtests on my current setup (VM Superhub 3.0) confirm:
    166mbps D/L and 12mbps U/L via ethernet
    35-130mbps D/L and around 9mbps U/L on wifi

    Though we have several devices in and around the home, there's not much activity on these devices in terms of heavy usage, most of them are mostly Idle.

    2 most active devices:
    Smart TV - netflix, youtube, light browsing, etc. (connected via ethernet on powerline extender)
    My new PC - heavy usage for work and gaming. Regular cloud storage D/Ls and U/Ls.

    On my new PC, the Z270E ASUS mobo comes with an onboard wifi antenna.
    The Manufacturers websites provides the following spec:
    "802.11ac Wi-Fi with 2x2 dual-band 2.4/5GHz antennas offer up to 867 Mbps* transfer speeds — latest Multi-User MIMO (MU-MIMO) technology"

    Current wifi is good enough when it's working as i'm next door to the hub. But for the love of spongebob and the yellow pants I'm sick and tired of occasional weak signals, loss of connection or just those regular slow intervals with the Hub 3.0. The web is full of dissatisfied customers addressing same/similar wifi complaints, hence not an isolated issue.

    In terms of wifi range our current hub seems to stretch it's arms well enough and with our powerline extender, we seem to be doing ok. So not too fussed with super high performance increases when it comes to RANGE but something better will be great.

    You mentioned you capped off access at 11pm (excellent!). I could do with the same solution, preferably PC and mobile app or am I asking for too much for the suggested budget?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •