Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX(R6A) with Noctua NH-D15 PCI-E 3.0 x16 issue

    Noctua NH-D15 block first PCI-E x16 slot, if installation video card on second PCI-E x16 slot still can run at PCI-E 3.0 x16 or need to installation on third PCI-E x16 slot?*Only one Card

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array zoobzone PC Specs
    zoobzone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 15" Touchbar 2017
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7900X
    Memory (part number)GSKILL F4-3200C14-8GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    Graphics Card #2GTX1080
    MonitorAcer Predator X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Western Digital 2TB Green
    CPU CoolerEKWB Customloop with EKWB RVIE Monoblock
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyEVGA P2 1200W
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore RGB Cherry-MX Blue
    Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    zoobzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Ligtstron View Post
    Noctua NH-D15 block first PCI-E x16 slot, if installation video card on second PCI-E x16 slot still can run at PCI-E 3.0 x16 or need to installation on third PCI-E x16 slot?*Only one Card
    It should still run at x16.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array fexnok PC Specs
    fexnok PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage Extreme Vi
    Processori9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)CMK64GX4M8B3400C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 1080Ti Founders
    Sound CardRME Fireface UFX+
    MonitorASUS PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 2TB x 2 + Intel 750 1.2TB
    Storage #2Samsung SM961 Polaris 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCalyos NSG S0 Fanless (soon)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850 Titanium
    Keyboard Code V2B
    Mouse Logitech M330
    Headset Sennheiser HD800
    Mouse Pad Black one
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha MSP7
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterWatchguard T50-W
    Accessory #1 Sennheiser HDVD800
    Accessory #2 QNAP TVS-882ST3
    Accessory #3 ASUS M.2 Hyper X16

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by Ligtstron View Post
    Noctua NH-D15 block first PCI-E x16 slot, if installation video card on second PCI-E x16 slot still can run at PCI-E 3.0 x16 or need to installation on third PCI-E x16 slot?*Only one Card
    Or if you still want to use your graphic card on slot 1 just rotate your noctua so fans blow up, only if you have vents on top. That's my current setup.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by zoobzone View Post
    It should still run at x16.
    Because ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX User's Manual say PCI-E 4 way run at x16 x8 x8 x8, I not sure if only use second PCI-E will still only 3.0 x8.


    Last edited by Ligtstron; 11-01-2017 at 05:47 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by fexnok View Post
    Or if you still want to use your graphic card on slot 1 just rotate your noctua so fans blow up, only if you have vents on top. That's my current setup.
    Can share some pictures R6A & D15 with your setting?Thanks

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    189

    The problem you got on most Asus Mainboards,

    Thats why i choose every time the Noctua NH-D15S with this cooler the first PCI-E Slot isnt blocked by the cpu cooler.
    And you got the same temps and a very high ram compatiblity too.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array fexnok PC Specs
    fexnok PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage Extreme Vi
    Processori9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)CMK64GX4M8B3400C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 1080Ti Founders
    Sound CardRME Fireface UFX+
    MonitorASUS PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 2TB x 2 + Intel 750 1.2TB
    Storage #2Samsung SM961 Polaris 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCalyos NSG S0 Fanless (soon)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850 Titanium
    Keyboard Code V2B
    Mouse Logitech M330
    Headset Sennheiser HD800
    Mouse Pad Black one
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha MSP7
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterWatchguard T50-W
    Accessory #1 Sennheiser HDVD800
    Accessory #2 QNAP TVS-882ST3
    Accessory #3 ASUS M.2 Hyper X16

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by Ligtstron View Post
    Can share some pictures R6A & D15 with your setting?Thanks
    Sorry I missed your question. Just realised you have the APEX version mine is the Extreme VI version. Not sure if layout is too different.

    Here's a picture of my setup with D15 rotated so fans blow up and GPU installed on 1st slot.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20171112_180749.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	455.3 KB 
ID:	68890

    If you have any issues just insert your GPU on slot x16_3. It should work fine as well.
    Last edited by fexnok; 11-12-2017 at 06:36 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by fexnok View Post
    Sorry I missed your question. Just realised you have the APEX version mine is the Extreme VI version. Not sure if layout is too different.

    Here's a picture of my setup with D15 rotated so fans blow up and GPU installed on 1st slot.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20171112_180749.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	455.3 KB 
ID:	68890

    If you have any issues just insert your GPU on slot x16_3. It should work fine as well.
    Hey dude, on the topic of your Rampage VI EXTREME, how is this orientation working for you? I’m looking to use this exact setup as you. Since this fixes the issue of it covering the x16 slot, are there any other issues? Are all RAM slots clear and can they accept G.Skill RGB Ram? On top of this, are there any clearance issues with the top of the case?*

    Thanks in advance my friend.*

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    189

    Thats why i use the Noctua NH-D15S

    The "S" version did not block the first PCIe Slot and has a better memory compatibility.


    The normal Noctua NH-D15 block near on all Asus mainboards the first PCIe Slot.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    Thats why i use the Noctua NH-D15S

    The "S" version did not block the first PCIe Slot and has a better memory compatibility.


    The normal Noctua NH-D15 block near on all Asus mainboards the first PCIe Slot.
    As fine as this solution is, i’d prefer to have the D15 as it has better cooling potential. If I can fit ram in all slots with the orientation upwards, I’d prefer this as I have exhausts on the top as well which will help with overall airflow too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •