Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Strix Z370F - 8700K - Power Limit Exceeded

    I'm testing some (not extreme) configuration for my 8700k from bios, using HWInfo64 and logging data.
    I use Handbrake and x265 encoding to stress the processor and verifing stability.

    I notice that when there is Core Power limit Exceed, the Core Ratio drop down ...
    But HWInfo report that Maximum Core VID is 1.345 (average 1.254) with Core temp Max of 74 (average 52) Water cooling AIO

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2017-11-01 20.43.45.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	93.7 KB 
ID:	68548

    I'm using this configuration ...
    XMP Disable
    MCE Disable
    Sync all cores x47
    CPU Core/Cache voltage: adaptive mode
    Additional Turbo mode CPU core voltage: 1.315
    Offset voltage 0.05
    IA AC & IA DC Load Line 0.01
    SVID behaviour: best-case scenario
    LLC 5

    Can someone help me ... Thx ...

    Also Using Default Settings and MCE Disable ... There are errors ...
    This is the report with x265 encoding ... why the core Ratio drop down to 41X and Power Limit Exceeded with Vcore of 1.232 ???
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2017-11-01 21.56.49.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	90.3 KB 
ID:	68549
    Last edited by flacer; 11-01-2017 at 09:01 PM.

  2. #2
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    Increase the CPU power limit to 140%. The Core VID values shown in HWINFO are irrelevant for voltage monitoring.

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    If you want to raise the TDP power limit, you can either enable MCE (easiest way considering you're running sync all cores), or you can adjust the long and short duration power limits manually.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array AntonioL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    I had the same problem with my Z370-F Strix board, and even raising power limit in BIOS did not totally prevent the CPU from power throttling. In fact, default voltages applied by the board are far too high for stock frequencies, even with MCE.
    You can try manual mode and see what voltage you need. For my 8700K at 4.7 GHz on all cores, I only needed 1.20V, despite using a 3600 MHz RAM kit. Under very high stress, vcore did not exceed 1.23V. There was no throttling any longer, and of course, temperatures were cooler. Even with AVX in linpack, with power limit on 140W (my cooler is a Pure Rock given for 150W TDP), all cores were running at 4.7 GHz and max temp threshold at 85°C was not exceeded.
    Then, you can set offset or adaptive voltage mode according to what manual voltage you needed. For my part, I had to set a negative offset of 0.14V and set LLC on 1.
    As I said above, default voltages are delirious. With everything on default, except SVID behaviour on best scenario, vcore could exceed 1.4V. Also, vssa and vccio are hugely too high with XMP profiles. I don't understand why ASUS engineers have setted so high default values, do they realize that a user without particular knowledge keeping everything on default except XMP will expose his CPU to power/thermal throttling and even accelerated decay ?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    can someone explain long and short duration power limits value (and also give some good value to insert) ? ...

    I found this info ...
    Long Duration Packet Power Limit defines the throttle point of when the CPU should throttle down when the power consumption exceed the defined level. This is also known as the first level of protection to prevent the CPU from been damaged due to overclocking. The unit is watte. The Intel default value of this option is the TDP(Thermal Design Power) of that processor. When left at AUTO, the BIOS will load the Asus recommended value defined by the Asus OC Expert Team for the ease of O.C.
    Package Power Time Window defines the length of time in seconds that is allowed for the CPU to operate at above TDP yet below the Long Duration Package Power Limit. The unit is in seconds, with the maximum length limited at no more than 127.
    Short Duration Package Power Limit defines the absolute highest power consumption that the CPU can sustain for a very short period of time to compensate the possibility of a sudden drain of power when under extreme high load. This is also considered the second layer of protection to prevent the CPU from been damaged due to overclocking. The unit is also in wattle. The Intel default of this value is 1.25 times the product defined TDP (i.e. the Long Duration Package Power Limit). Though Intel spec only requires the power plan to be capable of sustaining no less than 10ms when reaching the configured Short Duration Package Power Limit, the Asus motherboards can sustain much longer than that for the ease of O.C.
    Last edited by flacer; 11-02-2017 at 01:46 PM.

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    You can just enable MCE, or set 4095 to max them out.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Thanx ... I will try this Weekend with new bios 5428 Beta.

    I will use handbrake and 4K x265 encoding to stress cpu for 15m (hwinfo64 monitoring for Power limit Exceed)... starting from [per core] with 6 at x44 ..
    I will proceed step by step.

    Final test wil be 12h.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I have do some test with new bios 0430, the system is more stable ...
    encondig x265 Handbrake 1080P - 6h test ..
    1) Using all default settings with core set as (x50 1 - x49 2 - x48 3&4 - x47 5&6)
    the medium value are
    CPU Temp 75° - Power 127W - Vcore 1,316 - CoreVid 1,353 - Core Clock 4.700

    2) Using all default settings with core set as (x50 1 - x49 2 - x48 3&4&5&6)
    the medium value are
    CPU Temp 78° - Power 134W - Vcore 1,340 - CoreVid 1,379 - Core Clock 4.800

    2) Using personalized settings (see note 1) with core set as (x50 1 - x49 2 - x48 3&4&5&6)
    the medium value are
    CPU Temp 64° - Power 104W - Vcore 1,207 - CoreVid 1,324 - Core Clock 4.800

    Wow ... -14° temp, -30W Power, -0,133 Vcore and CoreVid is more correct !!!!!!!!!!!

    Today I will try to lower Vcore to 1,300 and will give result with another one test of 6h enconding


    [Note 1]
    MCE Enable
    Ai Overclock Tuner: [Manual]
    SVID Behavior: [Best-Case Scenario]
    CPU Core Ratio: [Per Core]
    Ratio: (x50 1 - x49 2 - x48 3&4&5&6)
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage: [Adaptive Mode]
    Additional Turbo mode CPU core voltage: [1.316]
    Offset voltage: [0.004]
    IA AC Load Line: [0.01]
    IA DC Load Line: [0.01]
    Last edited by flacer; 11-07-2017 at 03:01 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Lightbulb

    Following thread!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Do some test x265 encoding ... but the result are not good ...

    Vcore 1.280 and 48x ... handbrake crash after 40m
    Vcore 1.316 and 49x ... handbrake crash after 10m
    Vcore 1.320 and 49x ... handbrake crash after 10m

    So I decide to retest last good configuration at 1.316 and 48x, 5h test and all is fine (same previously results) ...

    I make some consideration about cpu stress and X core factor (by calculator)...
    The same job of 5h encoded at x49 (4.900) is only 6m less than x48 (4.800) just 2% less
    The same job of 5h encoded at x50 (5.000) is only 12m less than x48 (4.800) just 4% less

    In my opinion stressing the cpu over x48 for too much time is not efficent ...
    Now at x48 I have Max CPU Pack Temp @ 63° with CPU/Thread % of 78,9 and Power Pckg 105W Vcore 1,207 CoreVid 1,324 (in bios set Vcore 1,316 offset 0,004)

    For x49 I must raise the Vcore ... but for now my test will be to stay at x48 and lower the vcore and after activate XMP .. I will tell you tomorrow
    Last edited by flacer; 11-08-2017 at 12:35 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •