Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Unhappy My zenith can't POST

    Hello, Is there someone who knows what's going on my rig?

    *symptom
    *- the rig retries boot showing "code: C0 detect memory" on OLED panel.
    *- After code:C0 happens, "CPU" is shown *in an instant, rig shuts down and turns on.

    parts what I use
    *- X399 zenith extreme
    *- G skill tridentz 32gb(2*16) 3200Mhz Cl14
    *- threadripper 1950x
    *- Antec HCP-1000
    *- Rog strix 1080ti O11g

    what I did
    *- To check CPU pins and install CPU again.
    *- To insert only one of my DDR4. All of my memory gives no improvement
    *- Bios update and cmos reset have been done.
    *- I got samsung 8gb ram from my friends and it worked...! it made boot processed to next step.

    what's problem on my rig? i think the key is memory contorller on CPU but not certainly.
    Please answer, please. it my first rig on my life.*

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array bstory32 PC Specs
    bstory32 PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 950x
    Graphics Card #11080 ti Poseidon
    bstory32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I've had my share of RAM issues with this thing, many in the forums have as well.

    1) Make sure your using the proper slots for your memory. The second, and forth on the right if your using two sticks. This is inconsistent with the manual.


    2) Try using just one stick, and rotate a new one in every time it fails to see if you just have bad memory. You could also run a memory test but I've found this to be quicker on the fly.

    3) If you cant find a bad memory stick then try picking up different memory. Also try using BIOS 0801 if your not already. I've experienced Not attaching the proper fan connections for the CPU caused this issue on one of the bios updates.

    4) if you can manage to get into the BIOS try adjusting the memory settings. Clear CMOS and try to boot again by pressing the button on the back.

    I hope this helps, I know a lot of people are happy with this motherboard, a few are very frustrated. I'm very optimistic that ASUS will fix most of these issues within a reasonable amount of time.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by bstory32 View Post
    I've had my share of RAM issues with this thing, many in the forums have as well.

    1) Make sure your using the proper slots for your memory. The second, and forth on the right if your using two sticks. This is inconsistent with the manual.


    2) Try using just one stick, and rotate a new one in every time it fails to see if you just have bad memory. You could also run a memory test but I've found this to be quicker on the fly.

    3) If you cant find a bad memory stick then try picking up different memory. Also try using BIOS 0801 if your not already. I've experienced Not attaching the proper fan connections for the CPU caused this issue on one of the bios updates.

    4) if you can manage to get into the BIOS try adjusting the memory settings. Clear CMOS and try to boot again by pressing the button on the back. .
    Thank you for reply *
    1) Yes, I did use 2nd, 4th slot, dark grey things not black. but it didnt work.

    2) I tried to use only one memory stick and rotate them. frankly speaking i have 2 sets of gskill ddr4, so I have 4 sticks. Each of 4 sticks didn't work when I use only one. Am I unlucky if all 4 sticks are bad? And how can I memory test? I dont have another rig cause it's my first rig.

    3) I did update UEFI 0801, and fan connection is ok. like above i wrote, I got a Samsung 8gb memory stick from my friend and it made boot processed next step. But I dont have the memory stick cause he is using it.

    4) My rig can't express bios on monitor because boot fail. how can I modify memory setting through bios?

    maybe I'm one of frustrator. OTL*

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array bstory32 PC Specs
    bstory32 PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 950x
    Graphics Card #11080 ti Poseidon
    bstory32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I wish I could help more, if I was in your position I'd exchange the mobo and try again.

    I think there are issues with all x399 mobo's right now because I originally picked up the MSI one and it was a brick of ****. So I exchanged for the Zenith and while its been challenging to get working, I was able to build my girlfriends and mine.

    Again I think you might have a bad board. I'd personally not waste more time with the current board.

    Three options
    1) Exchange it - Don't forget to pick up some thermal paste for your cpu. I made this mistake and it cost me an extra trip.
    2) Contact Asus and see what they suggest.
    3) Try your luck with another manufacturer, read their community forums before you do though.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    857

    Bellsnow, perhaps reseat power cables?
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R7 2700X - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3533MHz C14 DC - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by bstory32 View Post
    I wish I could help more, if I was in your position I'd exchange the mobo and try again. *

    *Three options
    1) Exchange it - Don't forget to pick up some thermal paste for your cpu. I made this mistake and it cost me an extra trip.
    2) Contact Asus and see what they suggest.
    3) Try your luck with another manufacturer, read their community forums before you do though.
    At first, I requested my cpu to be exchanged. I think maybe memory controller in cpu is malfunction.

    If I get another cpu and it is not work, as you said, I should replace my mobo.
    But It's uneasy for me because zenith hasn't been distributed in my country due to disapproval in law of radio wave,
    so I bought zenith abroad.
    As a result, Mobo RMA makes me dizzy.

    When another cpu comes to me, I will test and report the result.

    Thank you.*

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Bellsnow, perhaps reseat power cables?
    I checked my power connector already.
    They have been in right position.

    Can you tell me the reason why I should reseat power cable?
    What is effect you intend to??

    Thank you for your interest in my issue.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Bellsnow View Post
    I checked my power connector already.
    They have been in right position.

    Can you tell me the reason why I should reseat power cable?
    What is effect you intend to??

    Thank you for your interest in my issue.
    Maybe just to make sure it's connected properly?
    A completely harmless suggestion that may not be towards your liking.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    Maybe just to make sure it's connected properly?
    A completely harmless suggestion that may not be towards your liking.
    Uh oh.. I just understood I should rearrange my wire back of main board.
    I thought he knows some issues about wire arrangement, which I don't know.

    My wiring maybe looks mess by someone, but PWR connection is right.

    By proof, 8gb samsung memory stick was working in boot sequence...*

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    i'd like to think i'm especially sensitive to tones and infer the intent someone has when saying certain things, and i can tell you that i feel no malice in the earlier guy's message to you. (i don't think he is out to be mean to you.)

    would you be willing to attach some pictures of the insides of your pc (motherboard view)? in hopes that we might be able to see something that could lead to the source of the problem.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •