Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 116
  1. #21
    New ROGer Array GEEKCPA PC Specs
    GEEKCPA PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 64 GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti OC
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti OC
    Storage #1Intel PCIe X4 Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro X2
    CPU CoolerEKWB Mono block
    CaseTT View 71TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300 G2
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    GEEKCPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Not to hijack this thread, but my question is related. Still waiting on the R6E, and a radiator, but I have on the way an Intel Optane SSD 900P x4 card (280 GB) for which I will install Win 10, I will install 2 Samsung 512 GB NVMe in the Dimm.2 card. I will try to Raid 0 them as a data drive--non-bootable.

    Seems I read somewhere you can't run 2 video cards in SLI if you have any disk drive cards in the PCIe slots--at least not in x16 speeds. Is this true? I've been running 2 Strix 1080Ti cards in my olde R5E MB in slots 1 and 3. The x4 slot on both motherboards is just above slot three. Will SLI be a no-go or limited to x8 speeds?
    Last edited by GEEKCPA; 11-06-2017 at 06:07 PM. Reason: Change cards to motherboards

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    248

    Quote Originally Posted by GEEKCPA View Post
    Not to hijack this thread, but my question is related. Still waiting on the R6E, and a radiator, but I have on the way an Intel Optane SSD 900P x4 card (280 GB) for which I will install Win 10, I will install 2 Samsung 512 GB NVMe in the Dimm.2 card. I will try to Raid 0 them as a data drive--non-bootable.

    Seems I read somewhere you can't run 2 video cards in SLI if you have any disk drive cards in the PCIe slots--at least not in x16 speeds. Is this true? I've been running 2 Strix 1080Ti cards in my olde R5E MB in slots 1 and 3. The x4 slot on both cards is just above slot three. Will SLI be a no-go or limited to x8 speeds?
    Depends on your CPU. You get a certain number of PCIe lanes depending on your CPU. If you get 44 lanes, that's the most, then you can do x16/x16/x0/x8 and the DIMM.2 at x4. That's 44 lanes. So you should be ok if your CPU has 44 lanes. I believe what you read was if someone has 2 Hyper M.2 x16 cards you can't have 2x GPUs. Even with 1 Hyper M.2 x16 card your second GPU would run at x8.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array GEEKCPA PC Specs
    GEEKCPA PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 64 GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti OC
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti OC
    Storage #1Intel PCIe X4 Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro X2
    CPU CoolerEKWB Mono block
    CaseTT View 71TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300 G2
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    GEEKCPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    What I wonder is if the Intel Optane 280 GB card in the x4 slot will prevent x16/x16 SLI operation, and whether I can Raid 0 two Samsung 960 Pros in the Dimm.2 card as a data disk as well. Hope to put Win 10 on the Optane card as bootable and use the Samsungs in raid 0 for programs and data.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    248

    Quote Originally Posted by GEEKCPA View Post
    What I wonder is if the Intel Optane 280 GB card in the x4 slot will prevent x16/x16 SLI operation, and whether I can Raid 0 two Samsung 960 Pros in the Dimm.2 card as a data disk as well. Hope to put Win 10 on the Optane card as bootable and use the Samsungs in raid 0 for programs and data.
    All that should work if you have a 44 lane CPU.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    248

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieH View Post
    All that should work if you have a 44 lane CPU.
    One thing to note you will have to use PCH for your RAID 0 if you do not use Intel drives.

  6. #26
    New ROGer Array GEEKCPA PC Specs
    GEEKCPA PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 64 GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti OC
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti OC
    Storage #1Intel PCIe X4 Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro X2
    CPU CoolerEKWB Mono block
    CaseTT View 71TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300 G2
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    GEEKCPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieH View Post
    One thing to note you will have to use PCH for your RAID 0 if you do not use Intel drives.
    I have a 7900X CPU. What is the bandwidth of the PCH channel?

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    248

    Quote Originally Posted by GEEKCPA View Post
    I have a 7900X CPU. What is the bandwidth of the PCH channel?
    "PCH-based RAID arrays are bottlenecked by the 32Gbps limit of the DMI bus", straight from the MB marketing page talking about using VROC with the Hyper M.2 x16 card.

  8. #28
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieH View Post
    One thing to note you will have to use PCH for your RAID 0 if you do not use Intel drives.
    Still yet to be seen. Propaganda is all over the place with this and the fact that I was able to raid two 960 pros but only in trial mode but not bootable make me wonder if the Key ever shows itself it they will at least be enabled for data use. Wont know for sure until the key thing gets sorted.

  9. #29
    New ROGer Array GEEKCPA PC Specs
    GEEKCPA PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 64 GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti OC
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti OC
    Storage #1Intel PCIe X4 Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro X2
    CPU CoolerEKWB Mono block
    CaseTT View 71TG
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300 G2
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    GEEKCPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieH View Post
    "PCH-based RAID arrays are bottlenecked by the 32Gbps limit of the DMI bus", straight from the MB marketing page talking about using VROC with the Hyper M.2 x16 card.
    Even that is 5+ times faster than the sata bus, but if I can get the raid 0 array on the cpu the bandwidth would be 128Gbs? Guess I can at least try. I'd be willing to pay a reasonable fee to get the dongle if I can get 128Gbs.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,331

    I admire your resolution to get this working with those 900p's. A lot of work but it looks like you got it working. Not sure I like the scaling of seq read/writes, you should be over 13K easily. That being said your 4k numbers (those that count in the real world) are pretty damn spiffy.

    I have a question or two for you. Most motherboards have only one U.2 connection, how did you get 4 on your board? Add in card?
    Also you said you are going to have 8 900ps in the end. That is 32 PCI-e lanes (8 drives a x4 each) devoted to them alone. With a x16 GPU that is 48 Lanes, which is more than the 44 allotted. I think you said you are using the PCH lane for your 960 pro, but will your GPU run natively at x8 speed? I'm wondering if you'll be able to do 8 of these drives.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •