Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array MixMike PC Specs
    MixMike PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi) Z370
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    CPU CoolerPHANTEKS GLACIER WATER BLOCK
    CaseFractal Design Define S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 650 G2, 80+ GOLD 650W
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Maximus X hero WiFi - G.Skill 3200 2x8GB not clocking to 3200

    I'm new to overclocking & tweaking but I've done a few days worth of reading and trying others' settings and/or trying my own. I'm having no luck or I'm not donig this right.

    Bios 0505
    8700k
    1080 ti
    3200 16gb ram 2x8gb

    I get a "bios has posted in safe mode" every time I try to adjust my overclock settings in BIOS.

    What works:
    Overclock preset 5G which works fine, touching nothing else.

    What doesnt work (only listing things changed):
    Setting dram to 3200 and vram to 1.35.
    XMP (yes) with setting the dram to 3200, auto voltage
    XMP (yes) with setting the dram to 3200, 1.35 vram

    I've seen others say to adjust the 2 cpu voltages but would that affect my ram at all?

    I'm just looking to get my RAM to work at it's intended speed first, then overclock cpu to something stable.

    Have an AIO on the cpu.

    Any tips on what settings I should apply to get my RAM to run at 3200?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    MixMike,
    Welcome to the ROG forums
    Could you please list all your hardware, the specific memory kit you have with a link.
    3200mhz should be a fairly easy speed to reach, along with the 1.35 vdimm try entering 1.2 volts for VCCIO and VCCSA, you may also have to up CPU core voltage a tiny bit
    If I have a memory kit similar to yours I can post some bios screen shots of the settings it takes for me

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carbonicdk PC Specs
    Carbonicdk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX1080TI O11G GAMING
    Sound CardSchiit Modi 2 Uber
    MonitorAsus MG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960Evo
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 - Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Platinum Series AX860
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    As you can see in my thread: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...nd-AURA-issues I too have issues. My 3600mhz memory can currently only work at 3100mhz with fiddling with the most common memory settings. According to the person from ASUS responding in the thread we might need to wait for bios upgrades. Also manually lowering your subtimings manually might also somehow work.

    From what I can read on the forum memory issues is a general issue on Z370 Asus boards for a lot of configs. All in all, Z370 is not a good overclocking platform yet for the overclocking beginner, memory is easily unstable and require you to fiddle with more than XMP and primary timings + BIOS's give the CPU's too much voltage on easy overclock settings.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array MixMike PC Specs
    MixMike PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi) Z370
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    CPU CoolerPHANTEKS GLACIER WATER BLOCK
    CaseFractal Design Define S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 650 G2, 80+ GOLD 650W
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Thanks for the responses. I'll update with more info soon.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array MixMike PC Specs
    MixMike PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi) Z370
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    CPU CoolerPHANTEKS GLACIER WATER BLOCK
    CaseFractal Design Define S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 650 G2, 80+ GOLD 650W
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    MixMike,
    Welcome to the ROG forums
    Could you please list all your hardware, the specific memory kit you have with a link.
    3200mhz should be a fairly easy speed to reach, along with the 1.35 vdimm try entering 1.2 volts for VCCIO and VCCSA, you may also have to up CPU core voltage a tiny bit
    If I have a memory kit similar to yours I can post some bios screen shots of the settings it takes for me
    I've updated my specs and I'll try your suggestions.

    I'm just trying to get my RAM close to the speed I paid for. Thanks.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SherardG PC Specs
    SherardG PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752 & ASUS ROG G55VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)32 GB [G.Skill TZRGB] F4-3200C32Q-8GTZR x 4
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO MZ-V6P512 (512 GB)
    Storage #2WD2003FZEX
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 80+ Ti 750 SSR-750TD
    Keyboard Logitech G413 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro V2 Black
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 10.0.16299
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    SherardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by MixMike View Post
    I've updated my specs and I'll try your suggestions.

    I'm just trying to get my RAM close to the speed I paid for. Thanks.
    Hello there; we have the exact same memory modules installed. XMP was one of the first things I had configured right from the start. With just XMP profile in AI Tweak enabled, default values for VCCIO and VCCSA (Auto) mine worked out of the box.

    Maybe you could try loading the defaults and enabling just XMP for testing purposes.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    If your memory will run at XMP with other clocks at stock you got what you paid for.
    Up the cache voltage a bit.
    There is no rhyme or reason, only trial and error. What others get is a good start but*
    Not your rig. Use the BIOS to make your changes and do it manually. AI suite and BIOS optimization tools seldom yield decent results and often lead to failure. *
    Don’t try to adjust too many things at once. Start at default and find your stable CPU then work on the cache. Sometimes it’s a balancing act and to get the best cache that will affect your ram you may need to back off 1 on your multi for the core. One you have these stable work on ram last. Again, for best results steer clear of *auto and software tuners.****

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array MixMike PC Specs
    MixMike PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi) Z370
    Processori7-8700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    CPU CoolerPHANTEKS GLACIER WATER BLOCK
    CaseFractal Design Define S
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 650 G2, 80+ GOLD 650W
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Sorry I haven't followed up on this. Busy end of the year and start.

    I'll be fiddling with this more this week.

    Thanks for the replies, I will report back soon.

    Also, updated to bios 1003.
    Last edited by MixMike; 01-24-2018 at 03:01 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •