Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    difference between the Asus DSL AC88U vs Asus RT AC88U ??

    difference between the Asus DSL AC88U vs Asus RT AC88U ??
    whats the difference?, its got a different price but its still a Asus AC88U router, nothing on the Asus product page,

    Its confusing as they are both Asus AC88U Routers, very popular but the 2 seem different models below, they also have different prices,
    can anyone advise?

    as i dont want to get the wrong one for my fibre internet,

    Im currently using a ASUS PCE - AC68 Wireless PCI-E Network Card with the older Asus RT-AC87U router

    Ive upgraded my internal WIFI adapter card to a ASUS PCE - AC88 Wireless PCI-E Network Card so any info appreciated.


    thanks

    2 different routers same name 2 different prices???:

    ASUS DSL-AC88U AC3100 Wi-Fi Gigabit Modem…£209.99
    ASUS RT-AC88U AC3100 Dual-Band Wi-Fi Gigabit…£268.96
    Last edited by MROOD; 11-10-2017 at 07:14 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Smokin_Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    48

    Post Impasse Hotel

    Quote Originally Posted by MROOD View Post
    difference between the Asus DSL AC88U vs Asus RT AC88U ??
    whats the difference?, its got a different price but its still a Asus AC88U router, nothing on the Asus product page,

    Its confusing as they are both Asus AC88U Routers, very popular but the 2 seem different models below, they also have different prices,
    can anyone advise?

    as i dont want to get the wrong one for my fibre internet,

    Im currently using a ASUS PCE - AC68 Wireless PCI-E Network Card with the older Asus RT-AC87U router

    Ive upgraded my internal WIFI adapter card to a ASUS PCE - AC88 Wireless PCI-E Network Card so any info appreciated.


    thanks

    2 different routers same name 2 different prices???:

    ASUS DSL-AC88U AC3100 Wi-Fi Gigabit Modem…£209.99
    ASUS RT-AC88U AC3100 Dual-Band Wi-Fi Gigabit…£268.96
    Off the top of my head and with a little searching I found this information for you.
    I am not an expert but from the following links I can tell that the cheaper DSL version has a built in MODEM.
    (it has only 4 lan ports)
    The more expensive RT version does not and requires some sort of modem to connect to if you wish to access the internet.
    (it has 8 lan ports)
    Hope this helps you decide.
    You can see the back of the different ones if you scroll down the links provided.
    Joe

    ASUS DSL-AC88U AC3100 Wi-Fi Gigabit Modem…£209.99
    https://www.asus.com/Networking/DSL-AC88U/
    ASUS RT-AC88U AC3100 Dual-Band Wi-Fi Gigabit…£268.96
    https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RT-AC88U/
    Last edited by Smokin_Joe; 11-10-2017 at 08:32 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Smokin_Joe View Post
    Off the top of my head and with a little searching I found this information for you.
    I am not an expert but from the following links I can tell that the cheaper DSL version has a built in MODEM.
    (it has only 4 lan ports)
    The more expensive RT version does not and requires some sort of modem to connect to if you wish to access the internet.
    (it has 8 lan ports)
    Hope this helps you decide.
    You can see the back of the different ones if you scroll down the links provided.
    Joe

    ASUS DSL-AC88U AC3100 Wi-Fi Gigabit Modem…£209.99
    https://www.asus.com/Networking/DSL-AC88U/
    ASUS RT-AC88U AC3100 Dual-Band Wi-Fi Gigabit…£268.96
    https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RT-AC88U/
    thankyou, amazon are doing a deal, i already have a BT open reach modem, which one shall i get meaning which one will be faster? example if i get the cheaper one, ,odem built in ,will this just be connected to my bt cable service? or do i use this with my modem, or shall i get the rt version, without modem, i can use my existing bt openreach modem, i pretty confused as i want to get the fastest one


    I already bought the Asus PCIE AC88 wifi adapter you see....

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Smokin_Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    48

    Lightbulb NitroQAM is on the RT-AC88U and your PCIE AC88 not on the DSL-AC88U

    Quote Originally Posted by MROOD View Post
    thankyou, amazon are doing a deal, i already have a BT open reach modem, which one shall i get meaning which one will be faster? example if i get the cheaper one, ,odem built in ,will this just be connected to my bt cable service? or do i use this with my modem, or shall i get the rt version, without modem, i can use my existing bt openreach modem, i pretty confused as i want to get the fastest one


    I already bought the Asus PCIE AC88 wifi adapter you see....
    I am not an expert but I own a RT AC88U.
    Take a look at the two links I sent you. Scroll way down and you can see the difference of the back of both Routers.
    Now if you buy the DSL AC88U you will have more options concerning wan choices but you will loose lan ports 4 instead of 8.
    Both are dual wan capable.
    If you already have a high speed modem you don't need it in your Router.
    The RT AC88U can be flashed with Asus MerlinWRT and functions great running openvpn.
    I prefer the RT model because it has more of what I need.
    Good luck with your choice.

    As far as I can see there is very little difference in performance..almost none except for the wireless
    The DSL model has something called TurboQam.
    802.11n TurboQAM : up to 800 Mbps
    Which your wireless adapter does not have.
    The RT Model has NitroQAM
    Which your wireless adapter supposedly does have..3167 Mbps
    So according to the fact you already have NitroQAM and the RT model offers it it is supposed to be faster.
    The RT seems to be the best option...IMO

    Good luck in your choice.
    Last edited by Smokin_Joe; 11-21-2017 at 07:24 AM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Here are some links to articles for more info about each:
    DSL-AC88U
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/networ...-wi-fi-router/
    RT-AC88U
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/produc...nces-rt-ac88u/

    The DSL-AC88U is only available in certain regions so it should work with your ISP (check with them just in case). When you have two devices in one, it will be easier to manage/set up and there's less clutter. As for speed, theoretically having two devices means there's more distance between A and B. There's more flexibility with this option, you can choose not to use the internal modem. However you should provide more cooling for this than the RT, definitely avoid putting this in a closed cabinet with no ventilation

    The RT-AC88U does offer more LAN ports, however it is also possible to add a switch to the DSL-AC88U.

    If you want to go crazy and get dual-WAN for up to 2Gbps (aggregated WAN speed), you can consider this:
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/networ...al-wan-router/

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Smokin_Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    48

    Both of the Links are for the DSL model

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Here are some links to articles for more info about each:
    DSL-AC88U
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/networ...-wi-fi-router/
    RT-AC88U
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/networ...-wi-fi-router/
    Both of the links go to the same DSL router.
    Here is an article on the RT-AC88U
    https://rog.asus.com/articles/produc...nces-rt-ac88u/
    Last edited by Smokin_Joe; 11-22-2017 at 02:57 AM. Reason: article on the RT-AC88U

  7. #7
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Link updated, thanks Smokin_Joe

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Smokin_Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Link updated, thanks Smokin_Joe
    My Pleasure

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Isn't one a DSL Gateway (and Router) while the other is only a Router?
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  10. #10
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Isn't one a DSL Gateway (and Router) while the other is only a Router?
    Correct, more conventional ADSL, ADSL2/2+, and VDSL2 standards are also supported on the DSL-AC88U.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •