Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    Multi-screen display settings, possible?

    I have spent about a week or 2 getting used to my first Multi-display setup. It works wonders for work purposes, so already very pleased with the huge 2 screen real estate.

    What I want to know is:

    1. Is it possible to set 2 desktops, whereby Windows 10 pro identifies from which screen an app is selected and outputs on that display only. I understand Windows is limited to extending displays or duplicating only, but is there a workaround?

    2. For gaming, I only intend to use a single monitor (primary). Is it possible to use the second screen for other basic tasks whilst the game is set on full-screen on the first one. I have tested this: the second screen does display content but when clicking on it or opening apps, it disrupts the game. Workaround?

    I have a feeling the answer is in Windows 10 but I can't make sense of it, I could be wrong. Basically Win 10 has the 'Task View' feature, when selected, it shows all open windows on a single page. At the bottom right there is an option 'Add Desktop'. Tried playing around with this feature but can't make head and tails of it.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos multidisplay new desktop.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Live_Ammo View Post
    I have spent about a week or 2 getting used to my first Multi-display setup. It works wonders for work purposes, so already very pleased with the huge 2 screen real estate.

    What I want to know is:

    1. Is it possible to set 2 desktops, whereby Windows 10 pro identifies from which screen an app is selected and outputs on that display only. I understand Windows is limited to extending displays or duplicating only, but is there a workaround?

    2. For gaming, I only intend to use a single monitor (primary). Is it possible to use the second screen for other basic tasks whilst the game is set on full-screen on the first one. I have tested this: the second screen does display content but when clicking on it or opening apps, it disrupts the game. Workaround?

    I have a feeling the answer is in Windows 10 but I can't make sense of it, I could be wrong. Basically Win 10 has the 'Task View' feature, when selected, it shows all open windows on a single page. At the bottom right there is an option 'Add Desktop'. Tried playing around with this feature but can't make head and tails of it.
    i don't understand question 1.

    2. run all games that you play on Windowed-Fullscreen, and you should be able to alt+tab smoothly into the other screen.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Re: the new desktop picture.

    i'll tell you a little backstory:
    that button was initially first introduced with Compiz Fusion on Ubuntu 8.04. it was also the first ubuntu OS i spent time pulling my hair out, figuring how to make it work.

    what it does ->New Desktop button <-
    think of it as when you press the button, you get a wholly new workspace.

    For example: i'm right now doing my work, with tabs open, projects loaded. then my Sibling wanted to use my computer. assuming i trust him, enough but i don't want him or her messing with my loaded projects, bookmarks, i could very well just open a new desktop (windows button + Tab + hitting that new desktop button), and voila! a new desktop.

    all my clutters are on desktop 1. i can leave desktop 2 to my sibling to do his stuff.


    alternate example:
    i load up all my work projects on Desktop 1 (all mundane and boring stuff). and i have this bad habit, when i game, i don't want to see my unfinished work (because it probably annoys the hell out of me, and a constant reminder that i was slacking). so i have an idea. i separate my work and game on two different desktops.

    Desktop 1, all work.
    Desktop 2, game, goof around, all play.
    Desktop 3, Pron. (lololol. some people do dis. don't judge).

    Boss comes, Lightspeed win tab tab. act innocent.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Guyvergamingtv PC Specs
    Guyvergamingtv PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme Intel X99 (Socket 2011) DDR4 EATX Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X @4.25GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32GB mem
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti OC edition 11GB GDDR5X
    MonitorAsus 24" x3
    CPU CoolerOCUK 360mm AIO
    CaseEnthoo Luxe Full Tower Case
    Power SupplySuperFlower Leadex GOLD 1300W Fully Modular "80 Plus Gold" Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitec G910 Keyboard
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex V2
    Headset ROG Centurion 7.1 sound
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen large
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U Dual Band Wireless AC2400 Gigabit Router 4x4 MU-MIMO Antenna design
    Guyvergamingtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    question 2 is answered above, full screen window mode

    question 1 not 100% sure what you mean. if you mean when you open an app it will display on a certain screen only then not really, most apps will only open on your primary display, then its just a case of moving them.

    if you clarify what you mean i could help more as i have a 4 screen set up one of with is a 40" tv.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    Re: the new desktop picture.

    i'll tell you a little backstory:
    that button was initially first introduced with Compiz Fusion on Ubuntu 8.04. it was also the first ubuntu OS i spent time pulling my hair out, figuring how to make it work.

    what it does ->New Desktop button <-
    think of it as when you press the button, you get a wholly new workspace.

    For example: i'm right now doing my work, with tabs open, projects loaded. then my Sibling wanted to use my computer. assuming i trust him, enough but i don't want him or her messing with my loaded projects, bookmarks, i could very well just open a new desktop (windows button + Tab + hitting that new desktop button), and voila! a new desktop.

    all my clutters are on desktop 1. i can leave desktop 2 to my sibling to do his stuff.


    alternate example:
    i load up all my work projects on Desktop 1 (all mundane and boring stuff). and i have this bad habit, when i game, i don't want to see my unfinished work (because it probably annoys the hell out of me, and a constant reminder that i was slacking). so i have an idea. i separate my work and game on two different desktops.

    Desktop 1, all work.
    Desktop 2, game, goof around, all play.
    Desktop 3, Pron. (lololol. some people do dis. don't judge).

    Boss comes, Lightspeed win tab tab. act innocent.
    So basically its a James Bond special effects feature to hide PRON lol

    Nah, I just got used to it. Great feature - though not sure if I will have any use for it at moment. I guess if I allowed others to touch my machine, it would be very handy.

    Hey bro - honestly that ALT-TAB and WIN-TAB feature is brilliant. Very convenient.
    I want to know all the shortcuts lol whether in-game or for work purposes. Is there a link for some of the most helpful ones like the 2 you mentioned?
    Last edited by Live_Ammo; 11-18-2017 at 07:29 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by Guyvergamingtv View Post
    if you mean when you open an app it will display on a certain screen only then not really, most apps will only open on your primary display, then its just a case of moving them. .
    Yep you got it! Oh well, i guess its not too bad. I am getting used to the dual-monitor set up and it's getting easier to manage both displays as time passes. Much better than my previous single low res small stingy screen.

    You have 4 displays? Mad house multi-tasking work desk or a bad ass gaming setup? i can already see room for one more with my dual setup.

    For the eyes, is it safe to have displays running on different RES? My current setup: primary 27" 1440p and the secondary is 23.5" 1080p. Dual monitors are used only for work and casual purposes, whereas for gaming I only plan on using the 1440p. Both are running on different refresh rates too....im assuming the 1080p is 60hz by default (not sure) and my 1440p is stocked at 144hz.

    I do get a little strain on the eyes every now and then...but I think it's more related to getting used to higher refresh rates and the 1440p res on the primary display as I am moving up from a 17" 1080p laptop screen.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Live_Ammo View Post

    Hey bro - honestly that ALT-TAB and WIN-TAB feature is brilliant. Very convenient.
    I want to know all the shortcuts lol whether in-game or for work purposes. Is there a link for some of the most helpful ones like the 2 you mentioned?
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...oard-shortcuts

    here you go.
    (to be honest, i don't remember all of them. only bothered to remember those i use most)
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...oard-shortcuts

    here you go.
    (to be honest, i don't remember all of them. only bothered to remember those i use most)
    Wow, thats a big tasty sunday roast list. I get what you mean - i'll be going through the list for a select few too. Life is just a long and hard journey and I love shortcuts hehe

  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,353

    Quote Originally Posted by Live_Ammo View Post
    For the eyes, is it safe to have displays running on different RES?
    Yeah, I personally have two mismatched monitors but I made sure they had the same DPI so things are the same size. Just a personal preference thing. As long as you aren't running things at fuzzy non-native resolutions or really tiny resolutions that strain your eyes, you should be fine.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Live_Ammo PC Specs
    Live_Ammo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151
    Processori7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (4x8GB) CL16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti 11GB SC Black Edition
    MonitorAcer XB271HU 27.0" / 2K / IPS / GSYNC / 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SSD (PCIe Mode)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD ----- Storage #3: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD
    CPU CoolerAIO NZXT Kraken X62 Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT S340 Elite (B/W)
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Fully-Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX brown Mech (wired)
    Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy (wired)
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Ch
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 2nd Monitor: Asus VC239H 23.0" 1920x1080 60Hz (Work Purposes)
    Live_Ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    101

    Thanks bud! At first i was experiencing a little strain but I think thats me getting used to my first time new 2K display. A couple of weeks on, no problems whatsoever. Both the 2k and 1080p sitting together are a match made in heaven

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •