Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    No, XMP is an overclock and will not work plug-and-play for every CPU because some require different voltage levels for stability. Some CPUs need more SA and IO voltages and others need less, there is no way for a UEFI update to have rules for all CPU types.

    so what is the use of compatible 3000 mhz asus memory list ?!

  2. #12
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    It shows that the board is capable if the cpu is.

  3. #13
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by Caenyss View Post
    Some news: It seems my solution didn't work at all and I tried once again doing your suggestion Praz; I loaded defaults, rebooted, turned multicore enhancement off, rebooted and left my system running for 4 hours a video on mpc-hc which would usually crash within 10-25 minutes. It hasn't crashed so far, so I'm guessing XMP is really at fault here?

    What can I try to make XMP work? At least I would like to achieve 3200mhz instead of the default of 2133 currently.
    Hello

    The system being stable with MultiCore Enhancement disabled is a separate issue from instability induced when using XMP. Guessing that XMP is to blame would be wrong. This testing indicates that one or more processor cores have little headroom when overclocking at default VCORE.

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    The system being stable with MultiCore Enhancement disabled is a separate issue from instability induced when using XMP. Guessing that XMP is to blame would be wrong. This testing indicates that one or more processor cores have little headroom when overclocking at default VCORE.
    But we don't know that yet since I haven't tested with it enabled and my current voltage settings, and to be honest I don't want to waste any more time on this.

    It's working fine now and I'm going to leave it at that.

    And doesn't MultiCore Enhancement only enables Asus OC settings? The BIOS states that the setting disabled uses Intel specs, which is what I want, default cpu with turbo.

    Thank you for your help nevertheless! I might've not gotten there if not for you input.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    It shows that the board is capable if the cpu is.
    Sorry but I also don't find that very helpful.. I don't think the mobo should set those voltages, while in Auto, way too high even when setting XMP.

    It seems the equivalent that the mobo assumes my CPU sucks and pushes unnecessary voltage, and actually making it more unstable.

  6. #16
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Caenyss View Post
    Sorry but I also don't find that very helpful.. I don't think the mobo should set those voltages, while in Auto, way too high even when setting XMP.

    It seems the equivalent that the mobo assumes my CPU sucks and pushes unnecessary voltage, and actually making it more unstable.

    It's not meant to be a solution for your situation because it was a reply to someone else. It's a post about how overclocked frequencies are not guaranteed to work plug-and-play. In terms of your situation, there's no way to configure the rules to suit every type of CPU. You just happen to have a CPU that needs lower voltages.


    Thread closed as your system is working fine now.

    -Raja

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •