Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array graddumdum PC Specs
    graddumdum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Pavilion 15-p209tx
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero Vi x370
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C14D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1070 Amp Extreme 8GB
    MonitorLG 27UD68-P - 4K Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250gb x1
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB x1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 860 i
    Keyboard Logitech G413 (Black)
    Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
    Headset Sennheiser pc 8
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S3500
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear AC3200 Nighthawk X6
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 Raspberry Pi 2 x1
    Accessory #3 Raspberry Pi 3 x1

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Why 5.1 not working ?

    Could anyone get 5.1 audio this working ?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array Neoony PC Specs
    Neoony PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS: 3101)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4025MHz (1.44V) (Pstates)
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB F4-3200C14D-16GFX @ 3200MHz (1,35V)
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon HD 7970 3GB Double Dissipation (OC: 1000MHz / 1550MHz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #22x HDD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseCoolerMaster MasterCase h500p
    Power SupplyXFX 550W Pro
    Keyboard Trust GXT 285
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic Pro (True 5.1)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Neoony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by graddumdum View Post
    Could anyone get 5.1 audio this working ?
    Yep I cant get 5.1 or DTS working on a windows level, with any official drivers.
    Meaning that it will switch to 5.1 or DTS, but only if the source material is setting it. (example: 5.1 video/movie in MPC-HC)
    Unable set it in windows sound options, but if I play some 5.1 video it will switch to it.
    But thats really bad for many applications and mainly games, as most of them read settings from windows, if you cant set it manually in the game.

    So I have to use unofficial unlocked driver.
    Exactly this version by Alan Finote:
    Alan Finote said:

    @Blackcules THIS IS THE LINK:
    http://www24.zippyshare.com/v/DK9dQnAc/file.html

    Version: 6.0.1.8158 x64 Edition

    Follow the instructions:

    1º - UNINSTALL YOUR REALTEK DRIVER
    2º - ENABLE TEST MODE (bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON)
    3º - RESTART THE COMPUTER
    4º - INSTALL THE REALTEK MODDED DRIVER (NO RESTART) (DISABLE YOUR ANTIVIRUS BEFORE INSTALLATION)
    5º - INSTALL THE SOUND BLASTER XFI MB5 (ver 1.00.19) (NO RESTART)
    6º - OPEN DIRECTORY "%programdata%\Creative\SoftwareLock" and execute KGAGen.exe (DISABLE YOUR ANTIVIRUS BEFORE EXECUTE THIS FILE)
    7º - RESTART COMPUTER AND ENJOY THE FEATURES OF SOUND BLASTER, DDL and DTS.
    From thread: https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...0#post-3665651

    Be sure to follow the instructions. You gotta disable driver signature enforcing (step 2) for it to work, as it is not officially signed and it is a custom edited version of the driver.
    It will most probably get picked up as a virus (KGAGen.exe), but it should be ok. Used it for quite a few months now.
    Any newer versions from that thread disabled 5.1 or DTS again, so I settled with that version (6.0.1.8158)...but it was some time since I tried.

    After that you can simply set your Surround or DTS in windows.
    Windows update might reinstall it from time to time.



    My sound goes over S/PDIF (optical) and using Windows 10 64bit.

    Good luck!
    Wish it was properly fixed though.
    Last edited by Neoony; 11-16-2017 at 09:25 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    DTS/Dolby are proprietary encoding methods. Companies such as Asus and Creative etc have to pay licensing fees to Dolby to use them. Thats why they are not included as standard on the C6H.

    Really to help you solve your issue we need more info. I have setup 4.0 surround off the onboard very easily, but not 5.1. However I have managed to setup 5.1 surround off an Asus Strix Soar soundcard.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Neoony PC Specs
    Neoony PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS: 3101)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4025MHz (1.44V) (Pstates)
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB F4-3200C14D-16GFX @ 3200MHz (1,35V)
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon HD 7970 3GB Double Dissipation (OC: 1000MHz / 1550MHz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #22x HDD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseCoolerMaster MasterCase h500p
    Power SupplyXFX 550W Pro
    Keyboard Trust GXT 285
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic Pro (True 5.1)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Neoony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Any source on where that one comes from?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by Neoony View Post
    Any source on where that one comes from?
    Dolby/DTS are not natively supported on this MBO by Asus. See earlier post. That driver package has been modified by a 3rd party to enable DTS/Dolby output. Hence why it is unsigned.

    It will the drivers that Asus provides with a few config files or lines of code modified to trick the hardware and software into allowing Dolby/DTS output.

    It is most likely fine to use, however I personally would not take the risk myself and buy a soundcard which natively supports Dolby/DTS as then you are not running modified drivers that have been posted by a new account that have a very real potential of containing malaware.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Neoony PC Specs
    Neoony PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS: 3101)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4025MHz (1.44V) (Pstates)
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB F4-3200C14D-16GFX @ 3200MHz (1,35V)
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon HD 7970 3GB Double Dissipation (OC: 1000MHz / 1550MHz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #22x HDD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseCoolerMaster MasterCase h500p
    Power SupplyXFX 550W Pro
    Keyboard Trust GXT 285
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic Pro (True 5.1)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Neoony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by unknownmiscreant View Post
    Dolby/DTS are not natively supported on this MBO by Asus. See earlier post. That driver package has been modified by a 3rd party to enable DTS/Dolby output. Hence why it is unsigned.

    It will the drivers that Asus provides with a few config files or lines of code modified to trick the hardware and software into allowing Dolby/DTS output.

    It is most likely fine to use, however I personally would not take the risk myself and buy a soundcard which natively supports Dolby/DTS as then you are not running modified drivers that have been posted by a new account that have a very real potential of containing malaware.

    yeah thats the one I posted..along with the source Iam asking about the link Lord Chunks posted xD

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by Neoony View Post
    yeah thats the one I posted..along with the source Iam asking about the link Lord Chunks posted xD
    Likely the same. Maybe modified by someone who can sign drivers or a blend of Asus drivers and driver from a different manufacturer which pays dolby/DTS licensing fees. Either way, what I said earlier still stands.

    drv.ms isn't a site I trust. I only run drivers downloaded from manufacturers websites.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Neoony PC Specs
    Neoony PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS: 3101)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4025MHz (1.44V) (Pstates)
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB F4-3200C14D-16GFX @ 3200MHz (1,35V)
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon HD 7970 3GB Double Dissipation (OC: 1000MHz / 1550MHz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #22x HDD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseCoolerMaster MasterCase h500p
    Power SupplyXFX 550W Pro
    Keyboard Trust GXT 285
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic Pro (True 5.1)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Neoony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by unknownmiscreant View Post
    Likely the same. Maybe modified by someone who can sign drivers or a blend of Asus drivers and driver from a different manufacturer which pays dolby/DTS licensing fees. Either way, what I said earlier still stands.

    drv.ms isn't a site I trust. I only run drivers downloaded from manufacturers websites.

    they are quite different.
    Different version and different patching system.
    Edited but signed is nothing unusual with other similar drivers for this issue.

    But nvm :P
    Last edited by Neoony; 11-21-2017 at 01:58 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Neoony PC Specs
    Neoony PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS: 3101)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4025MHz (1.44V) (Pstates)
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB F4-3200C14D-16GFX @ 3200MHz (1,35V)
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon HD 7970 3GB Double Dissipation (OC: 1000MHz / 1550MHz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB
    Storage #22x HDD
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseCoolerMaster MasterCase h500p
    Power SupplyXFX 550W Pro
    Keyboard Trust GXT 285
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic Pro (True 5.1)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Neoony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Chunks View Post
    drivers are from Microsoft Update Catalog - where using the 64bit version - thye also have 32 bit
    https://www.catalog.update.microsoft...x?q=6.0.1.8302

    link above use edge or ie
    I asked about the one you were distributing before this one from microsoft.
    The one that was edited but signed and was detected as a virus.
    But I see you even edited that post now :P
    So nevermind xD

    EDIT:
    Actually the one you still link in some of your posts (not the one from microsoft)... is the one Iam asking about and thats the edited driver.
    https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ao-k31O1onq_gtFPkh7Nq4cmUVDmxQ

    Where did this patch or the whole driver come from? Is my question xD
    You made it yourself? Found it somewhere? Where?
    Why reupload it yourself and not state sources is where my question comes from. Especially if it contains (probably) false positive.

    (specific patch: realtek high definition audio driver 6.0.1.8295\WIN64\realtek.hd.sound.driver-patch.exe)
    Last edited by Neoony; 11-21-2017 at 05:01 PM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Neoony View Post
    Yep I cant get 5.1 or DTS working on a windows level, with any official drivers.
    Meaning that it will switch to 5.1 or DTS, but only if the source material is setting it. (example: 5.1 video/movie in MPC-HC)
    Unable set it in windows sound options, but if I play some 5.1 video it will switch to it.
    But thats really bad for many applications and mainly games, as most of them read settings from windows, if you cant set it manually in the game.

    So I have to use unofficial unlocked driver.
    Exactly this version by Alan Finote:

    From thread: https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...0#post-3665651

    Be sure to follow the instructions. You gotta disable driver signature enforcing (step 2) for it to work, as it is not officially signed and it is a custom edited version of the driver.
    It will most probably get picked up as a virus (KGAGen.exe), but it should be ok. Used it for quite a few months now.
    Any newer versions from that thread disabled 5.1 or DTS again, so I settled with that version (6.0.1.8158)...but it was some time since I tried.

    After that you can simply set your Surround or DTS in windows.
    Windows update might reinstall it from time to time.



    My sound goes over S/PDIF (optical) and using Windows 10 64bit.

    Good luck!
    Wish it was properly fixed though.
    Hello,

    Do you know if this works on 7.1?

    thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •